We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Living life like its golden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Quartier Francais
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Living life like its golden”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

This is a quaint small establishment that catered to my every need. They even have someone to lit the fire in the fireplace for you. The dinner with the wine pairings was very interesting. This is not a place for the budget traveler.This "French" inspired lodging was very relaxing. The stadf was very responsive and attentive. Wonderful holiday in the winelands.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Alvin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    78
    33
    6
    8
See reviews for
81
341
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this very welcoming hotel. We were in an upstairs room which was very comfortable and spacious. The bathroom had both a shower and bath and was very modern. There were nice little touches like a welcome bottle of wine, fruit cordial and bottled water. The pool area was lovely with good quality loungers and towels. We had breakfast each day which again was very good although I struggled to get my head around all the different fruits being in individual portions in individual glasses - but I guess chefs prerogative and all that!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed three nights at LQF and could not have been more pleased. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was nicely furnished. We really enjoyed the fireplace and heated floor as it was chilly and raining. Dinner at The Tasting Room was an unforgettable experience . Be sure to make a reservation way ahead as it can be difficult to get into.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quartergreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This quaint Relais Chateau rated has the atmosphere of a quaint country inn. each room has a wonderful fireplace. Our room was 2-levels. The staff was incredible. The food was amazing!!! Make sure you dine at least one night in The Tasting Room which is consistently nominated among the world's 50 best restaurants. Located in the quaint little town of Franschoek. A private full day tour of Wine Country had also been arranged.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HBullardW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullins, Barbados
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Near the far end of Franschhoek, with towering mountains in close distance, Le Quartier Francaise is a wine country gem. Casually elegant, unpretentious and run from the heart, LQF offers comfortable luxury.

Having left the Northern hemisphere summer for a business trip to wintery Johannesburg, decided to reward myself with a long weekend in wine country once business was complete. Arrived LQF quite tired and was shown to a wonderful room (the size of a suite) with full on mountain views, fireplace, comfortable living area and luxurious bathroom. Lit a roaring fire as the sun sank, conjured up a strong cocktail and melted into the coach. Perfection!

Later on, joined the quite crowd at the The Tasting Room. A wonderful experience. I was traveling alone but was made to feel most welcome! The dinner that ensued was phenomenal. My only regret was that I was too tired to really pay attention to all that went on the plate. I do, however, remember the creativity of the chef and the wonderful use of flavors and textures. Too tired to go for the wine pairings, I chose a bottle of local wine that was world class. They were kind enough to keep the majority of the bottle for me in the cellar for my next meal.

LQF was my base for the next few days and never once disappointed. Okay - I did have the laundry clean a pair of my pants and they had shrunk about 3 inches when returned. Good for a laugh! Outside of that - perfection.

After a long day of winery hopping was able to enjoy dinner in my room the next night. Prompt and delicious. Perfect ambience with the fire crackling in the background and a substantial bottle of SA syrah to complement.

If you enjoy casual luxury without pretension, LQF should be on your short list. Both the hotel and restaurant are world class. And, with the Rand at 10 to 1 to the USD, it all seemed like quite a deal.

Looking forward to returning, next time with my wife in tow.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buonuvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Surroundings: Located in the centre of Franschoek with secure parking. We had booked a Garden suite but were upgraded to the House Suite with private pool WOW! Large living room with fireplace, large bathroom, two bedrooms, master bedroom opening out to private garden with pool. Great complex, gorgeous gardens.

Home to two restaurants including "The Tasting Room" where we ate Chef Margot's amazing Tasting menu.

Service: As expected personal welcome. Unobtrusive service embellished the sense of privacy. Breakfast served in the beautiful garden restaurant. Breakfast buffet showcased great local produce.

Special Touches: Upgrade! The Colour. Awesome colour scheme.

Sidebar : Nespresso coffee served for breakfast.

Room Tip: House Suite would be ideal for a family. 2 Large rooms and the childrens room had great touches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalkerHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
149 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The room layout was very intuitive with 2 luggage racks (imagine that), bathroom shelves, large walk in shower, a couch and two cozy chairs with comfy throws. From the minute you arrive at check in the staff is concerned about your well-being. Be it planning a wine tour with a private guide, a delicious breakfast, pizza delivery, or how to return to the airport. Clean, light, airy rooms are located facing a courtyard filled with flowers. Just walk out the door of the hotel and you are amongst the shops and restaurants of Franshoek. An additionally highlight is "The Tasting Room" an amazing restaurant located on site. Treat yourself to a multinight stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerEstesPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Francais

Property: Le Quartier Francais
Address: Cnr Berg & Wilhelmina Streets, Franschhoek 7690, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Quartier Francais 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
83 Km from Cape Town, Le Quartier Francais is in the heart of the vineyards of the famous Franschhoek valley of the French Huguenots. Located in the village centre, this privately owned hotel and restaurant is an exquisite stopping place on the wine trail and the trace of the history of the Huguenot settlers, between Mont Rochelle, Haute Provence, Moreson. Impeccable decoration and service. Eclectic cuisine by Margot Janse and regional wine, of course! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Quartier Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Quartier Francais Franschhoek
Le Quartier Francais Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing