We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mmmm not sure .....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Quartier Francais
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
995 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 484 helpful votes
“mmmm not sure .....”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights on our wine lands tour. Excellent location; perfect for wandering up and down the main road. Petite Garden Room with private garden very nice. Breakfast - very healthy. Beautifully peaceful.

Not quite sure about the service. Asked upon arrival if I'd like slippers provided - yes please - but they never materialised. In general, not what I'd call Relais Chateaux standard - I actually found the majority of staff quite stand off'ish (apart from the lady who welcomed us to breakfast each morning). Now, I know I'm fussy but I don't think Le Quartier Francais is as good as it thinks it is.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jilllian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    78
    33
    6
    8
See reviews for
82
341
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights just before christmas, first time in South Africa but did a lot of investigations on where to stay before booking. This was our first hotel out of five whilst in sa, about 45 mins from Cape Town airport - a very pleasant drive too. The hotel is very small in a good way, the reception is friendly and check in to the rooms was good, a little wait but comfortable. The gardens leading to the room were stunning. We had a loft family suite as we're travelling with our children (girls aged 12 and 10) which overlooked the main pool but also had its own private plunge pool. Downstairs, large sitting room, beautiful main bathroom and adult bedroom leading to private terrace with pool. Upstairs large twin bedroom, which girls loved as decked out as a kids bedroom with en-suite shower room. As we were in a suite the mini bar was free but there was also wine included, brandy, sherry and whiskey. Proper kettle for making tea and coffee maker. Breakfast included on beautiful terrace overlooking gardens, including fruit,cereals, juices etc plus hot breakfast cooked to order. Hotel is situated one end of the main road in Franschhoek, easy just to walk into, lots of restaurants and souvenir shops. Also easy access with driver from hotel to many excellent vineyards (we went to Ernie Ells, Delair, Mont Rochelle and Boschendal). Hotel was excellent, cannot think of anything negative to say, kids loved just being able to walk into town and swimming in main pool as well as private pool. Hotel organised 'babysitter' when we went wine tasting and kids enjoyed that too. We didn't eat in The Tasting Room (hotel's famous restaurant) in the end - not really good for our kids and many other restaurants around that were great for all of us. Loved it so much here, both franschhoek itself and the hotel, didn't really want to leave but going on to safari!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MrsCJC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from a 1-night stay here as part of our honeymoon in Africa. Upon check-in, we were informed that we have been upgraded to a suite, what a wonderful surprise and great start to our stay!

What we loved about LQF:-
(1) Rooms - Very clean and modern feel to it. We are very particular about cleanliness and the room was spotless! The walk to our room was beautiful, just like walking through a little village. Flowers and trees everywhere. Mountain ranges in the background. Very serene and picturesque.

(2) The Tasting Room - Fantastic molecular gastronomy. Very creative chef who's determined to keep you interested and curious enough throughout to attempt at stuffing yourself to the brim for the sake of trying everything they put on your plate. Totally worth it. We did the wine pairing too, which was amazing. We sampled some great wines from South Africa. They give you the list of all the food and wine that you have tasted at the end of your meal. Wine list will definitely come in handy!

(3) Breakfast - Good spread. Location is beautiful, just like sitting in a little garden. Do choose a seat right next to the garden area.

(4) Location - Right in the centre of town, which was good for us especially since we were only there for a night. We busies ourselves with walks up and down the street filled with art galleries, curio shops, watering holes, cafés, etc. some of which are hidden in little lanes leading right up to a square. You won't be bored.

(5) Housekeeping - Meticulous, with a personal touch. We received a handwritten post-it note on our bathroom mirror wishing us Goodnight and Sleep Tight. Awww...

Highly recommended!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SMYong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here towards the beginning of December. We loved it! The hotel is charming and sophisticated with a French flare. Their are only about 14 rooms, so it's very quiet and the premises are very quaint. The gardens surrounding the areas are beautiful and I am not one to notice a hotel garden, but this was really special.The staff are amazing, always smiling, friendly and warm. We really enjoyed coming home to the hotel and lounging at the pool, ordering delicious food and drinks. All the food we had at the hotel was amazing, from breakfast, snacks by the pool and dinner (The Tasting Room). The world renowned Tasting Room is well worth a try, but you need reservations well in advance, though I think the hotel tries to accommodate any of their guests. I would highly recommend the 8 course tasting menu, paired with the wine. This meal was truly special. There is also a bar in the hotel, that makes amazing drinks directly next to the restaurant. The hotel is centrally located on the main road in Franschhoek, so you have all the restaurants and stores right at your doorstep. We felt like we were pampered and really felt like we were on vacation! I would without a doubt recommend LQF and would certainly like to return! Fabulous stay!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samanthaabelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

This is a quaint small establishment that catered to my every need. They even have someone to lit the fire in the fireplace for you. The dinner with the wine pairings was very interesting. This is not a place for the budget traveler.This "French" inspired lodging was very relaxing. The stadf was very responsive and attentive. Wonderful holiday in the winelands.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Alvin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this very welcoming hotel. We were in an upstairs room which was very comfortable and spacious. The bathroom had both a shower and bath and was very modern. There were nice little touches like a welcome bottle of wine, fruit cordial and bottled water. The pool area was lovely with good quality loungers and towels. We had breakfast each day which again was very good although I struggled to get my head around all the different fruits being in individual portions in individual glasses - but I guess chefs prerogative and all that!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed three nights at LQF and could not have been more pleased. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was nicely furnished. We really enjoyed the fireplace and heated floor as it was chilly and raining. Dinner at The Tasting Room was an unforgettable experience . Be sure to make a reservation way ahead as it can be difficult to get into.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quartergreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Francais

Property: Le Quartier Francais
Address: Cnr Berg & Wilhelmina Streets, Franschhoek 7690, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Quartier Francais 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
83 Km from Cape Town, Le Quartier Francais is in the heart of the vineyards of the famous Franschhoek valley of the French Huguenots. Located in the village centre, this privately owned hotel and restaurant is an exquisite stopping place on the wine trail and the trace of the history of the Huguenot settlers, between Mont Rochelle, Haute Provence, Moreson. Impeccable decoration and service. Eclectic cuisine by Margot Janse and regional wine, of course! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Quartier Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Quartier Francais Franschhoek
Le Quartier Francais Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing