We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“thank you” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Quartier Francais

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Le Quartier Francais
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“thank you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Our stay in Le Quartier Francais was a treat. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food and wine delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed the tasting menu and appreciated the helpful and good humoured descriptions of the menu. My aunt left her dressing gown behind and it was on its way to England before I'd paid the postage.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cml121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    74
    33
    6
    8
See reviews for
80
334
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

On my first trip to South Africa I had the pleasure of staying at Le Quartier Francais, and was blown away by the room that we had as well as the hotel itself and all that it has to offer. First of all Franschhoek is a stunning place to visit, and LQF is easy to access on the main street. There are numerous small touches that make it such a wonderful and comfortable place to stay. Our Four Quarters suite was amazing - huge and with a private pool, sun lounging area and lots of refreshments to boot! I have literally never slept so well as in those beds. Breakfast at the hotel is a treat - we became addicted to the delicious pastries, and I could write an entire other review on the food - The Tasting Room is not to be missed! It is a fantastic experience overall - staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and I think it's important to note that they are able help advise on all aspects of visiting this region. I didn't realise how many wine farms are there, and there are only so many lunch/tasting slots you can manage! it's great to have a knowledgeable host to help with bookings and getting around, so highly recommend staying here. You really will get the best experience Franschhoek has to offer, and I cannot wait to get back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eurotrippin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We travel to South Africa and Cape Town every couple years, each time we do a day trip to the Winelands. We love it.
But this time we decided to change things up a bit and actually spend two nights in Franschhoek. And Le Quartier Francais was the perfect decision. The staff are great, very personable and extremely helpful without being intrusive or obnoxious. The rooms were very spacious and tastefully decorated - very French without being flowery! I am not a fan of flowery hotels so this was great!
Wonderful touches like wine and coffee in the room, a variety of waters and sunscreens available at the pool.
We looked and looked and could not find anything to mark this hotel down. Everything said "you are staying in a 5star hotel, but we just aren't going to keep reminding you."
You must also book a night at The Tasting Room. And after this amazing meal, you will be so thankful for the location of Le Quartier Francais - right in the middle of town which makes for a great after dinner walk doing some window shopping. But what I must also recommend another restaurant affiliated with the hotel - Bread and Wine. We did not have a booking here, but you should, and the hotel staff was very helpful in getting us a table for an amazing lunch. We were able to enjoy a last meal in South Africa as we headed out of Franschhoek for the airport and our flight home.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steves_Rickshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed in the Pool Suite which was incredible. Unfortunately for us the weather was bad and it poured rain, so we only got to look at the fantastic private swimming pool. This hotel is very low keyed so staff is not making all over you, but they were courteous and the rooms and location was fantastic. You can walk straight into town and they have one of the best restaurants in town. I loved the feeling of this place, cottage-like with every amenity you can think of. They even provided our children with a special box including snacks and sunglasses. Top notch!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leilani L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at Le Quartier Francais for two nights as part of our 2 week trip to South Africa. What an utterly beautiful hotel. The rooms were amazing, so big and comfortable, with everything you could ever wish for. The bathrooms are also large and modern, with a huge walk in shower. The grounds of the hotel are stunning, and they obviously spend a lot of time and care managing these. The staff were extremely friendly and efficient, we could want for nothing else. The hotel is located just at the end of the main street in Franschhoek, so the perfect place to stay and explore the nearby attractions. We chose to stay here for that reason, as if you are staying at a hotel outside of the centre it would mean you would have to drive, and with all the amazing wine sampling on offer, you do not want to have to drive! The breakfast at LQF was out of this world, every kind of fresh fruit, homemade granola, muffins, croissants, eggs benedict, the list goes on...! We would definitely recommend this hotel to any of our friends and family, and we are really hoping to return next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
930 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 474 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights on our wine lands tour. Excellent location; perfect for wandering up and down the main road. Petite Garden Room with private garden very nice. Breakfast - very healthy. Beautifully peaceful.

Not quite sure about the service. Asked upon arrival if I'd like slippers provided - yes please - but they never materialised. In general, not what I'd call Relais Chateaux standard - I actually found the majority of staff quite stand off'ish (apart from the lady who welcomed us to breakfast each morning). Now, I know I'm fussy but I don't think Le Quartier Francais is as good as it thinks it is.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jilllian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights just before christmas, first time in South Africa but did a lot of investigations on where to stay before booking. This was our first hotel out of five whilst in sa, about 45 mins from Cape Town airport - a very pleasant drive too. The hotel is very small in a good way, the reception is friendly and check in to the rooms was good, a little wait but comfortable. The gardens leading to the room were stunning. We had a loft family suite as we're travelling with our children (girls aged 12 and 10) which overlooked the main pool but also had its own private plunge pool. Downstairs, large sitting room, beautiful main bathroom and adult bedroom leading to private terrace with pool. Upstairs large twin bedroom, which girls loved as decked out as a kids bedroom with en-suite shower room. As we were in a suite the mini bar was free but there was also wine included, brandy, sherry and whiskey. Proper kettle for making tea and coffee maker. Breakfast included on beautiful terrace overlooking gardens, including fruit,cereals, juices etc plus hot breakfast cooked to order. Hotel is situated one end of the main road in Franschhoek, easy just to walk into, lots of restaurants and souvenir shops. Also easy access with driver from hotel to many excellent vineyards (we went to Ernie Ells, Delair, Mont Rochelle and Boschendal). Hotel was excellent, cannot think of anything negative to say, kids loved just being able to walk into town and swimming in main pool as well as private pool. Hotel organised 'babysitter' when we went wine tasting and kids enjoyed that too. We didn't eat in The Tasting Room (hotel's famous restaurant) in the end - not really good for our kids and many other restaurants around that were great for all of us. Loved it so much here, both franschhoek itself and the hotel, didn't really want to leave but going on to safari!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MrsCJC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.2 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Francais

Property: Le Quartier Francais
Address: Cnr Berg & Wilhelmina Streets, Franschhoek 7690, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Quartier Francais 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
83 Km from Cape Town, Le Quartier Francais is in the heart of the vineyards of the famous Franschhoek valley of the French Huguenots. Located in the village centre, this privately owned hotel and restaurant is an exquisite stopping place on the wine trail and the trace of the history of the Huguenot settlers, between Mont Rochelle, Haute Provence, Moreson. Impeccable decoration and service. Eclectic cuisine by Margot Janse and regional wine, of course! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Quartier Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Quartier Francais Franschhoek
Le Quartier Francais Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing