We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - classy and understated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Quartier Francais
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed at QF for two nights in January 2014. What we liked about it was
* the welcome and the helpfulness of the staff. We had been booked into the Delicious hotel but it had been flooded so we were pleasantly suprised and then delighted to be upgraded
* the frienliness of the other guests. We spent a lot of time chatting about where to go and what to do in Franschooek
* the amazing breakfasts and breakfast room - like something out of an Art House movie
* the wine tasting and lunch at Moreson's vinyard - lovely setting
* Franschhoek itself - a delightful town

Room Tip: Ours was lovely
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simongeorgep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
There are newer reviews for Le Quartier Francais
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

We had the most wonderful breakfast at Le Quartier Francais in Franschhoek. The food was delicious and fresh, the presentation was perfect and it was actually extremely reasonable. We'll be back very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Our stay in Le Quartier Francais was a treat. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food and wine delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed the tasting menu and appreciated the helpful and good humoured descriptions of the menu. My aunt left her dressing gown behind and it was on its way to England before I'd paid the postage.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cml121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

On my first trip to South Africa I had the pleasure of staying at Le Quartier Francais, and was blown away by the room that we had as well as the hotel itself and all that it has to offer. First of all Franschhoek is a stunning place to visit, and LQF is easy to access on the main street. There are numerous small touches that make it such a wonderful and comfortable place to stay. Our Four Quarters suite was amazing - huge and with a private pool, sun lounging area and lots of refreshments to boot! I have literally never slept so well as in those beds. Breakfast at the hotel is a treat - we became addicted to the delicious pastries, and I could write an entire other review on the food - The Tasting Room is not to be missed! It is a fantastic experience overall - staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and I think it's important to note that they are able help advise on all aspects of visiting this region. I didn't realise how many wine farms are there, and there are only so many lunch/tasting slots you can manage! it's great to have a knowledgeable host to help with bookings and getting around, so highly recommend staying here. You really will get the best experience Franschhoek has to offer, and I cannot wait to get back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eurotrippin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We travel to South Africa and Cape Town every couple years, each time we do a day trip to the Winelands. We love it.
But this time we decided to change things up a bit and actually spend two nights in Franschhoek. And Le Quartier Francais was the perfect decision. The staff are great, very personable and extremely helpful without being intrusive or obnoxious. The rooms were very spacious and tastefully decorated - very French without being flowery! I am not a fan of flowery hotels so this was great!
Wonderful touches like wine and coffee in the room, a variety of waters and sunscreens available at the pool.
We looked and looked and could not find anything to mark this hotel down. Everything said "you are staying in a 5star hotel, but we just aren't going to keep reminding you."
You must also book a night at The Tasting Room. And after this amazing meal, you will be so thankful for the location of Le Quartier Francais - right in the middle of town which makes for a great after dinner walk doing some window shopping. But what I must also recommend another restaurant affiliated with the hotel - Bread and Wine. We did not have a booking here, but you should, and the hotel staff was very helpful in getting us a table for an amazing lunch. We were able to enjoy a last meal in South Africa as we headed out of Franschhoek for the airport and our flight home.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steves_Rickshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed in the Pool Suite which was incredible. Unfortunately for us the weather was bad and it poured rain, so we only got to look at the fantastic private swimming pool. This hotel is very low keyed so staff is not making all over you, but they were courteous and the rooms and location was fantastic. You can walk straight into town and they have one of the best restaurants in town. I loved the feeling of this place, cottage-like with every amenity you can think of. They even provided our children with a special box including snacks and sunglasses. Top notch!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leilani L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at Le Quartier Francais for two nights as part of our 2 week trip to South Africa. What an utterly beautiful hotel. The rooms were amazing, so big and comfortable, with everything you could ever wish for. The bathrooms are also large and modern, with a huge walk in shower. The grounds of the hotel are stunning, and they obviously spend a lot of time and care managing these. The staff were extremely friendly and efficient, we could want for nothing else. The hotel is located just at the end of the main street in Franschhoek, so the perfect place to stay and explore the nearby attractions. We chose to stay here for that reason, as if you are staying at a hotel outside of the centre it would mean you would have to drive, and with all the amazing wine sampling on offer, you do not want to have to drive! The breakfast at LQF was out of this world, every kind of fresh fruit, homemade granola, muffins, croissants, eggs benedict, the list goes on...! We would definitely recommend this hotel to any of our friends and family, and we are really hoping to return next year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.4 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.7 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
667 reviews
1.2 mi away
Leeu Estates
Leeu Estates
#8 of 11 in Franschhoek
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Francais

Address: Cnr Berg & Wilhelmina Streets, Franschhoek 7690, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: £329 - £721 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Quartier Francais 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
83 Km from Cape Town, Le Quartier Francais is in the heart of the vineyards of the famous Franschhoek valley of the French Huguenots. Located in the village centre, this privately owned hotel and restaurant is an exquisite stopping place on the wine trail and the trace of the history of the Huguenot settlers, between Mont Rochelle, Haute Provence, Moreson. Impeccable decoration and service. Eclectic cuisine by Margot Janse and regional wine, of course! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Quartier Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Quartier Francais Franschhoek
Le Quartier Francais Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing