We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Quartier Francais
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
85 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We wish we had stayed longer at this beautiful hotel in Franschhoek! Our room was huge and beautiful! It feels like you are at a french square. The restaurant was amazing - no wonder it's one of the top restaurants in South Africa. Service was great too. This place is just to die for! Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poliana23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    78
    33
    6
    8
See reviews for
82
341
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cape town
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

A great place to stay in the heart of Franschhoek just behind Main Street with direct access via the property, the rooms are specious with complimentary water and whine, espresso machine in the room with your own fire place (don't forget to ask for matches).
Great interior decoration and ambiance. Form the one who travel to eat at one of the great restaurant in the area a sleep over is a must, who want to drive after a wine pairing meal at the
Tasting Room ( book way in advance or loose out )

Room Tip: All room are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shimansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at LQF during the annual Franschhoek Literary Festival in May for 4 nights (petit garden suite). Its central location is ideal, being within easy walking distance of all the sights in town. I can highly recommend its restaurant, The Tasting Room (especially the 8 course menu with wine pairing (all local South African wines)). The restaurant lives up to its internationally acclaimed reputation. Just a word of caution: as this is one of the top rated restaurants in South Africa, be sure to book when making your accommodation reservation (waiting list can be up to 2 months). Also, I disagree with another reviewer: the hotel website clearly states that the restaurant is open on Tue - Sat evenings only. I found the staff extremely helpful and considerate. In particular, the hotel went the extra mile to accommodate our 9-month baby. Not only did they provide a cot, but also other complimentary baby essentials (such as a bath mat; hooded towel; and a baby toiletry set). A welcome relief for parents who normally have to travel with all manner of baby paraphernalia. We have stayed at various hotels and guest houses in Franschhoek, but the LQF hotel remains my favourite.

Room Tip: The petit garden rooms have a small garden courtyard, that offers a private and secluded space for r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseFerreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hotel is in a great location, on the main street of Franschhoek but that was its best attribute. Our room was nice, large with a reasonably sized bathroom. The rooms are set around the pool which limits privacy. We thought the choices at breakfast were sparse and the preparation was nothing special. The room where breakfast was served seemed more like a coffee shop than a nice breakfast room. The service at the hotel was efficient but not overly pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retireeWashingtonDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here for three nights in April at the beginning of our trip to the Western Cape.

First impressions were excellent and the staff were always very helpful. Breakfast in the dining room was very tasty but I found some of the predetermined portions in small shot glasses a little parsimonious – even off-putting.

The room was very comfortable and although not very luxurious we wanted for nothing. Not quite the usual Relais & Chateau standard but good nevertheless. The gardens need a lot more attention – they were quite overgrown and scruffy looking in places. My wife enjoyed the spa and rated it very highly.

Franschhoek is a delightful small town and I much preferred the ambience here to Stellenbosch which is a much larger town altogether.

We ate in the Tasting Room on our last night. We were looking forward to this dining experience but unfortunately we were disappointed. I have reviewed this separately.

Overall we really enjoyed our time in LQF but there are a few 'could do betters'.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinEyeforDetail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma CA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This was our first time in the SA Wine Country which is definitly worth a visit. Le Quartier Francais is sweet. Our room was comfortable. The staff was very friendly and efficient but is felt under maintained. I certainly wish it was as good as their web site promised. We were pretty much disappointed. That may have been partly because we had lunch at Delaire Graff Estate which is the place we should really have stayed out.
What was really dispointing is that one of the reasons for booking Le Quartier Francais was so we could eat that their Tasting Room. It is supposed to be fantastic. But we were staying there on a Sunday and Monday. Guess what? The restaurant is closed those nights. There is nothing on the hotel's web site about this. The other restaurant in the hotel is also closed. The can only offer you "Tapas" at the bar but that was more like bar food you would get a some 4 star hotel. They booked us into another restaurant one of the nights and the food was piteful. We had to contrast this with our lunch at Delaire.
Franschhoek itself was pretty disappointing to. There was no reason to stay in town as far as I was concerned.
Le Quartier Francais has a sister restaurant out of town called Bed and Wine. The hotel drove us there and picked us up. It was maybe ten minutes away. It was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank avrammiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maun, Botswana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Our stay here with our family was the highlight of our trip to the Cape. We received a warm welcome and our check in was handled quickly and efficiently. Service was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are stylish, bright and cheery with superb décor offering every amenity and great comfort. The perfect place to relax and unwind. Dinner at the Tasting Room was an absolute highlight and the most exciting dining we have experienced. We had the surprise menu with wine pairing – almost 4 hours of decadent delight! Breakfast was delicious and served in the beautiful and comfortable Garden Room. We cannot fault this and can’t wait to return!

Room Tip: Grand rooms are stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Francais

Property: Le Quartier Francais
Address: Cnr Berg & Wilhelmina Streets, Franschhoek 7690, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Quartier Francais 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
83 Km from Cape Town, Le Quartier Francais is in the heart of the vineyards of the famous Franschhoek valley of the French Huguenots. Located in the village centre, this privately owned hotel and restaurant is an exquisite stopping place on the wine trail and the trace of the history of the Huguenot settlers, between Mont Rochelle, Haute Provence, Moreson. Impeccable decoration and service. Eclectic cuisine by Margot Janse and regional wine, of course! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Le Quartier Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Quartier Francais Franschhoek
Le Quartier Francais Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing