We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Quartier Francais
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Terrific hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Sadly only here for one night back in February, everything was perfect, charming staff, spacious comfortable room overlooking the pretty gardens and pool, fabulous breakfast and lunch, couldn't,t wish for more except to stay longer next time.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are like mini cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    77
    33
    6
    8
See reviews for
81
339
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had three very enjoyable nights here in early June. The rooms were very spacious, well-furnished and extremely comfortable. A particular delight was the heated flooring ... not only in the bathroom but also adjacent to the bed and in the lounge area. And the hotel staff were happy to light the fire while we were out having dinner either in The Tasting Room or at one of the restaurants in the main street. It was lovely to return to a warm dry room on a cold wet early winter evening.
During our stay, my partner needed an emergency dental appointment on a Saturday morning. The staff at reception were able to make enquiries (and a booking) on our behalf. When no available dentist could be found in Franschhoek, they were able to secure the services of a practitioner in Paarl ... and were able to provide us with detailed directions to get there. We were extremely grateful for this level of service and the care and concern that was shown to us.
Our experience of the accomodation and staff was excellent. We would happily stay here again on any future return visit to the Western Cape.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Our stay was not long enough! After a long day in the wine country it was wonderful to relax by our blazing fire in our beautiful room. We had plenty of room to pack for our long trip home. It is centrally located so we spent the late afternoon walking up and down the street in the beautiful shops. The staff was very friendly and the service was excellent! Loved it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kred317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We wish we had stayed longer at this beautiful hotel in Franschhoek! Our room was huge and beautiful! It feels like you are at a french square. The restaurant was amazing - no wonder it's one of the top restaurants in South Africa. Service was great too. This place is just to die for! Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poliana23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

A great place to stay in the heart of Franschhoek just behind Main Street with direct access via the property, the rooms are specious with complimentary water and whine, espresso machine in the room with your own fire place (don't forget to ask for matches).
Great interior decoration and ambiance. Form the one who travel to eat at one of the great restaurant in the area a sleep over is a must, who want to drive after a wine pairing meal at the
Tasting Room ( book way in advance or loose out )

Room Tip: All room are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shimansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at LQF during the annual Franschhoek Literary Festival in May for 4 nights (petit garden suite). Its central location is ideal, being within easy walking distance of all the sights in town. I can highly recommend its restaurant, The Tasting Room (especially the 8 course menu with wine pairing (all local South African wines)). The restaurant lives up to its internationally acclaimed reputation. Just a word of caution: as this is one of the top rated restaurants in South Africa, be sure to book when making your accommodation reservation (waiting list can be up to 2 months). Also, I disagree with another reviewer: the hotel website clearly states that the restaurant is open on Tue - Sat evenings only. I found the staff extremely helpful and considerate. In particular, the hotel went the extra mile to accommodate our 9-month baby. Not only did they provide a cot, but also other complimentary baby essentials (such as a bath mat; hooded towel; and a baby toiletry set). A welcome relief for parents who normally have to travel with all manner of baby paraphernalia. We have stayed at various hotels and guest houses in Franschhoek, but the LQF hotel remains my favourite.

Room Tip: The petit garden rooms have a small garden courtyard, that offers a private and secluded space for r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseFerreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hotel is in a great location, on the main street of Franschhoek but that was its best attribute. Our room was nice, large with a reasonably sized bathroom. The rooms are set around the pool which limits privacy. We thought the choices at breakfast were sparse and the preparation was nothing special. The room where breakfast was served seemed more like a coffee shop than a nice breakfast room. The service at the hotel was efficient but not overly pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retireeWashingtonDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Francais

Property: Le Quartier Francais
Address: Cnr Berg & Wilhelmina Streets, Franschhoek 7690, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Quartier Francais 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
83 Km from Cape Town, Le Quartier Francais is in the heart of the vineyards of the famous Franschhoek valley of the French Huguenots. Located in the village centre, this privately owned hotel and restaurant is an exquisite stopping place on the wine trail and the trace of the history of the Huguenot settlers, between Mont Rochelle, Haute Provence, Moreson. Impeccable decoration and service. Eclectic cuisine by Margot Janse and regional wine, of course! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Quartier Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Quartier Francais Franschhoek
Le Quartier Francais Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing