We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful room and terrific restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Quartier Francais
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We were upgraded to a quarters room, which had separate living room and bedroom areas along with a stocked bar. We had windows on four sides and a nice terrace outside our room. What really puts this place over the top is the Tasting Room, where we had one of the most creative, beautiful, and delicious dinners ever.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

The other reviews say it all, but I specially enjoyed the cocktails and tapas at the bar. The bar manager is a very efficient and friendly lady - we enjoyed going there for a drink almost every night.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Vikram S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

For the price, m expectations was not met. Overall it was a good experience and breakfast was great, but in comparison to other accommodation available in Franschoek, it does not offer the extra you would expect at the price.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JohnL7878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I recently stayed at Le Quartier Français and WOW! I love that the rooms are so luxurious and comfortable, yet unpretentious. It was cold and rainy during our stay, but with a fire going and sipping on wine in the room we didn't feel like we were missing out on anything. The fruit syrup in the mini bar is delicious!!! We had dinner at The Tasting Room and I can confidently say that I'll never be the same. The team really challenged my perception of food and wine. It isn't just dinner in a tranquil setting, it's an absolute culinary experience. Christine and Jenny at the front desk are so warm and friendly. Well done LQF, you've got a winning recipe.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Le_Sud_Af21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Although not cheap, this is a top quality, classy hotel and they didn't put a foot wrong in our view. We had an Auberge room (no 8) which had an outstanding view of the mountains and was large and charming. Had a ski lodge feel to it with an open fire which was lit for us on the cool winter's evening. Heated bathroom floors are a nice touch too.

The breakfast in the Garden Room was included and outstanding, maintaining the standards of the Tasting Room restaurant next door. The view from our table was beautiful although we were very lucky with the weather.

No gym facilities but this is a retreat all about relaxation and exploring the charms of Franschhoek. Staff were excellent. Five stars rating without any question.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Pichon96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My husband and I were lucky enough to enjoy three fabulous nights at LQF. From the moment we arrived, we received impeccable service from the charming and friendly staff. Our room was gorgeous with a large seating area, a very comfy bed and a well appointed bathroom. There were lots of little touches that made LQF something special such as a hot water bottle placed in our bed at turndown service, a fridge containing complimentary soft drinks and wine, a coffee machine, a welcome note in our room and a good night note on the mirror in the bathroom. Breakfast was a real treat with a selection of buffet items followed by a hot breakfast cooked to order.
The bar served some of the best cocktails that I have ever tasted and was warm, trendy and friendly. The location of LQF is also great, right on the main road in the centre of town, but there was absolutely no road noise in our room which overlooked the pool. LQF epitomises the best of the Relais and Chateaux brand, great food, service and accommodation in a beautiful setting.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor overlooking the pool and there were absolutely no negatives about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikkifEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My fiancée booked us in for a night at LQF for my birthday last week. It was truly an amazing experience. When I arrived the entire staff knew we were there to celebrate my birthday and I had birthday wishes from nearly every staff member I ran across. They even left a had written note saying happy birthday in our room.

The room was very luxurious with a large sitting area and a huge bathtub. Under floor heating everywhere and a cosy fireplace. The bar (and the rest of the common areas) has recently been remodelled and looks very clean and modern yet warm. Great cocktails and bar snacks. Also great service in the bar.

Breakfast the next day was also great with a nice mix of quick items laid out on a table for those in a hurry and a large section of hot breakfast items to order.

Overall a great experience. Thinking back on it a few days later I can not think of anything negative about our night there.

Also there was free WIFI everywhere with great coverage.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickGazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
504 reviews
1.2 mi away
Leeu Estates
Leeu Estates
#8 of 11 in Franschhoek
91 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Francais

Address: Cnr Berg & Wilhelmina Streets, Franschhoek 7690, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: £344 - £729 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Quartier Francais 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
83 Km from Cape Town, Le Quartier Francais is in the heart of the vineyards of the famous Franschhoek valley of the French Huguenots. Located in the village centre, this privately owned hotel and restaurant is an exquisite stopping place on the wine trail and the trace of the history of the Huguenot settlers, between Mont Rochelle, Haute Provence, Moreson. Impeccable decoration and service. Eclectic cuisine by Margot Janse and regional wine, of course! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Quartier Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Quartier Francais Franschhoek
Le Quartier Francais Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing