We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Quartier Francais
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2006

If you are travelling the winelands this is the place to stay. Seconds away from Franschhoek main streets you will be spoilt for choice with the restaurants, art galleries and curio shops.
This is the place to stay if you want high standards of comfort and service. Wonderful ambience and a high attention to detail.
The tasting menu with wines is not for the faint hearted. Beautifully cooked innovative food using only the freshest ingedients is the order of the day. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian Phillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

472 - 478 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2006

We arrived in Franschoek in the morning, too early for check in but the staff cheerfully stored our luggage while we set off to explore. When we returned check in was brief and our luggage was already in our rooms. The rooms and bathrooms are good size with an open fireplace, very comfortable beds and lots of storage space. The gardens in which the rooms are set are delightful and the pool area is very nice although it was too cold for us to do more than look. Strolling through the gardens at night to the restaurants is very pleasant and the Tasting Room was a very interesting experience. I thoroughly enjoyed the series of small courses with varying flavors but my husband was less impressed calling it fussy and overworked. We found the staff at the hotel and restaurant to be friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trippinbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2006

Excellent service and rooms. Loved the log fire which we used every night - they filled up the rack of logs and fire lighters every day. The bathroom had a rainfall shower and lovely bath goodies including a room spray. The Tasting Room was the best meal we had in Franschhoek and we pretty much ate at all the big name restaurants. If you are going with friends then stay at the Four Quarters where you can have your own breakfast room, drinks by your own private pool etc. Would definately go back here again! Great location on the little village street too.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
london
1
Reviewed 18 June 2006

Stayed here as our last stop and wished we had been here longer. Service very personal andfriendly , rooms couldnt get better. The Tasting Room was outstanding - best meal we have had anywhere in the world. Loved the colours and The Four Quarters is a must. Ideal inthe centre of the village and just cant get better than this, Hot water bottles were the ultimate. Just the right mix of everything -cant wait to return

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2006

We recently spent one night at LQF...the property has a "charming, country inn" feel to it, with the lovely courtyard garden and personal touches like a welcome note from the manager. We almost felt like we were in France rather than South Africa!

Its a great location...right on the main street in Franchoek so you can walk to the little shops and restaurants and hop in your car for nearby wineries.

All in all a great place to stay if you like smaller inns, but if you're looking for a "five star" resort LQF definitely does not have that level of "finesse" in terms of accomodations or service.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scuba-Doob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2006

We stayed in this hotel last September for two nights on our honeymoon. We selected it because of the excellent received on this web-site and others, and while it was well decorated, with a spacious room and superb restaurant, I'm afraid that it doesn't quite compare with some other accommodation we stayed in in South Africa.

Some pros:

The rooms all open out onto a lovely garden, and I am sure this would be a beautiful setting in the summer, although it was the height of winter when we were there.

Each room has a log fire which can be lit for you by the staff if you so desire - also the turn-down service at night includes hot water bottles!!

The restaurant is excellent, although that's not saying much in Franschoek which is quite rightly rated as the culinary capital of SA. (Reuben's is better, and The Cellars Hohenhort in Cape Town better again, in my opinion).

It's location is perfect for staying in Franschoek, as it is in the centre of town.

The Cons:

When we arrived there we were told that our booking for the restaurant (which had been requested 1 month earlier) could not be granted. That is fair enough, but the booking reply should have told us that so that we could make alternative arrangements. (Interestingly, when we went to Reuben's across the street, they too were fully booked (it was saturday), but when we explained the situation LQF had left us in, they managed to get us a table, albeit quite late in the evening, but the point is that we did get something from them).

The receptionist who checked us in, and was present for all of our stay had absolutely no concept of service whatsoever. Within 10 minutes of checking us in, I called down to ask for something, and she had to ask my room number (this despite there only being 14 rooms in the hotel). She also failed to get us a booking in a restaurant to make up for the lack on one in LQF, and so we had to made the call ourselves to Reuben's.

Even though we were on honeymoon we got absolutely no special treatment. I know this sounds like a gripe, but it is more to point out the fact that this was the ONLY place in our three weeks in South Africa where there was no recognition of our honeymoon. Again it emphasises the lack of personal attention and service in LQF.

In summary:

All in all LQF on first appearance looks fantastic, but it lets itself down on the "little things", which are what separate the great hotels from the simply good. With better staff and management it could reclaim itself as one of the premier hotels in SA, but as one reviewer already mentioned the decor in the room perhaps needs a little retouching, but one could ignore that if the service was improved.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DaithiMac01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2005

We loved staying here. We had the House Suite for 3 nights and it was wonderful. Great food, gorgeous setting and wonderfully attentive service. Staff were helpful and friendly and had lots of suggestions for activities. Breakfast was superbe and dinner in the tasting room is a must. Very stylish and comfortable. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank evnycgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
504 reviews
1.2 mi away
Leeu Estates
Leeu Estates
#8 of 11 in Franschhoek
92 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Francais

Address: Cnr Berg & Wilhelmina Streets, Franschhoek 7690, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: £346 - £730 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Quartier Francais 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
83 Km from Cape Town, Le Quartier Francais is in the heart of the vineyards of the famous Franschhoek valley of the French Huguenots. Located in the village centre, this privately owned hotel and restaurant is an exquisite stopping place on the wine trail and the trace of the history of the Huguenot settlers, between Mont Rochelle, Haute Provence, Moreson. Impeccable decoration and service. Eclectic cuisine by Margot Janse and regional wine, of course! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Quartier Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Quartier Francais Franschhoek
Le Quartier Francais Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing