We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Living on its Reputation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Quartier Francais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Quartier Francais
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Living on its Reputation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2007

We spent 3 nights here in January. It is a very pretty hotel and the rooms are good but there is an air of slackness about it. We did not knowingly encounter the manager during our stay and the service was not organised - eg three different people in succession regularly coming to take our order. On one occasion, at midday, we and six other guests were asked to leave the pool area so that the grass could be mown!

There is better food to be had in Franschhoek and the surrounding wine estates. We made the mistake of ordering the tasting menu - eight expensive, ridiculous and pretentious courses. It was largely liquid - a spoonful of soup, a spoonful of sorbet, ditto mousse. Even the foie gras had been liquidised! When it was over, we both could have done with a cheese sandwich.

Not the place it was when last I visited 12 years ago.

  • Stayed January 2007
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atticuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    74
    33
    6
    8
See reviews for
80
334
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2006

Sweet little 'houses' arranged around a garden enclosed pool - idyllic setting.
Rooms enormous - but the decor is a wee bit dated - no mini bar and no tea making facilities (sometimes you just dont want to have to call room service)
The main part of the hotel is the restaurant - so there's not much in the way of lounge or lobby for residents.

Breakfast - fab - but there were too many flies for comfort.

The screening room - their own mini-cinema is a treat too - wine and nibbles served at your seat!!

Had a tour of the 4 Quarters - their new super luxe rooms - they are beautiful - decor is gorgeous - but the rooms share a courtyard and pool so you wont have privacy.

The staff were really great - but overall I think a little to much hype and the prices by SA standards are steep

  • Liked — the lush gardens
  • Disliked — hideous floral bedspreads!!!! ( is that just too picky)
  • Tips/Secrets — Upstairs rooms are more private and some have vaulted ceilings - nice!
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Hort_and_Culture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex England
Level Contributor
93 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2006

If you are travelling the winelands this is the place to stay. Seconds away from Franschhoek main streets you will be spoilt for choice with the restaurants, art galleries and curio shops.
This is the place to stay if you want high standards of comfort and service. Wonderful ambience and a high attention to detail.
The tasting menu with wines is not for the faint hearted. Beautifully cooked innovative food using only the freshest ingedients is the order of the day. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Large suite with own enclosed pool and garden, fireplace
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — worth booking a suite here
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian Phillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2006

We arrived in Franschoek in the morning, too early for check in but the staff cheerfully stored our luggage while we set off to explore. When we returned check in was brief and our luggage was already in our rooms. The rooms and bathrooms are good size with an open fireplace, very comfortable beds and lots of storage space. The gardens in which the rooms are set are delightful and the pool area is very nice although it was too cold for us to do more than look. Strolling through the gardens at night to the restaurants is very pleasant and the Tasting Room was a very interesting experience. I thoroughly enjoyed the series of small courses with varying flavors but my husband was less impressed calling it fussy and overworked. We found the staff at the hotel and restaurant to be friendly and efficient.

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trippinbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2006

Excellent service and rooms. Loved the log fire which we used every night - they filled up the rack of logs and fire lighters every day. The bathroom had a rainfall shower and lovely bath goodies including a room spray. The Tasting Room was the best meal we had in Franschhoek and we pretty much ate at all the big name restaurants. If you are going with friends then stay at the Four Quarters where you can have your own breakfast room, drinks by your own private pool etc. Would definately go back here again! Great location on the little village street too.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2006

Stayed here as our last stop and wished we had been here longer. Service very personal andfriendly , rooms couldnt get better. The Tasting Room was outstanding - best meal we have had anywhere in the world. Loved the colours and The Four Quarters is a must. Ideal inthe centre of the village and just cant get better than this, Hot water bottles were the ultimate. Just the right mix of everything -cant wait to return

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2006

We recently spent one night at LQF...the property has a "charming, country inn" feel to it, with the lovely courtyard garden and personal touches like a welcome note from the manager. We almost felt like we were in France rather than South Africa!

Its a great location...right on the main street in Franchoek so you can walk to the little shops and restaurants and hop in your car for nearby wineries.

All in all a great place to stay if you like smaller inns, but if you're looking for a "five star" resort LQF definitely does not have that level of "finesse" in terms of accomodations or service.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scuba-Doob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.2 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Francais

Property: Le Quartier Francais
Address: Cnr Berg & Wilhelmina Streets, Franschhoek 7690, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Quartier Francais 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
83 Km from Cape Town, Le Quartier Francais is in the heart of the vineyards of the famous Franschhoek valley of the French Huguenots. Located in the village centre, this privately owned hotel and restaurant is an exquisite stopping place on the wine trail and the trace of the history of the Huguenot settlers, between Mont Rochelle, Haute Provence, Moreson. Impeccable decoration and service. Eclectic cuisine by Margot Janse and regional wine, of course! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Quartier Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Quartier Francais Franschhoek
Le Quartier Francais Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing