We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An exceptional affair” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Quartier Francais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Quartier Francais
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
1 review
“An exceptional affair”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

My wife and I spent one night at Le Quartier Francais and loved every minute of it. Our petit garden suite was an absolute haven of luxury, the room was spacious with private patio to our own "oasis" of tranquillity in the garden. Our room came standard with fireplace, under floor heating and spacious en-suite bathroom with beautiful finishes. The extensive DVD library at the hotel provided a wide choice for the afternoon movie that we watched in the room on the in-room DVD player with the fireplace lit as we snuggled in bed.

Dinner that night in the Tasting Room was far beyond my expectations. After having read and heard of all the wonderful reviews, I had to see what all the fuss was about and all I can say is the "Surprise Menu" is an absolute must. Each dish in the 9 course menu was beautifully prepared and crafted by Margot Janse and her exceptional team in the kitchen. The African inspired menu "with story" to go showed me why Margot and her team have won so many awards and why this restaurant has the reputation it carries. Our waiters were incredibly knowledgeable clearly explaining every ingredient in every dish whilst the wine pairing was superbly matched and complimented each dish to perfection.

To end off the perfect night of relaxation and decadence what more could you ask for than a lit fire in your room and a hot water bottle in your bed.

Breakfast the next day was no half hearted affair either. The delectable spread of breakfast pastries, fruit and cereals together with hot breakfast and ample fresh coffee was enought o keep us going for the rest of the day.

The perfect end to a wonderful stay.

Thanks to Susan and the exceptional team at LQF for a night never to forget.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ActiveIce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanhux, Owner at Le Quartier Francais, responded to this review, 5 August 2010
Thank you for this review and we are delighted that your stay was an exceptional affair and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    74
    33
    6
    8
See reviews for
80
334
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

My boyfriend treated me to an evening in The Tasting Room and a night at Le Quartier.

The dinner was incredible! The service was unbelievable! The food was an amazing experience. Every course was delicious and I tried things I never thought I'd ever eat. It forever changed my view of food.

After the meal we got led down to our room which was breathtaking. They'd thought of all the smallest details including toothbrushes for us (because we hadn't booked but had enquired about availability following dinner). They did all this without us ever having to ask.

The rooms are just beautiful and very romantic. I will definitely be back and I recommend that anyone looking for an authentic and utterly captivating experience book themselves in Le Quartier.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Queenofthecupcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanhux, Owner at Le Quartier Francais, responded to this review, 14 June 2010
We were so happy to hear that your Tasting Room dinner and unexpected night at Le Quartier Français was so fantastic!

We hope to see you for our new 9 course Surprise Menu dinner in the Tasting Room soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
138 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

My husband and I visited Le Quartier Francais for three nights in May.
Anyone seeking world class accomodations, gourmet meals, service that sets a high standard in South Africa; and a quiet getaway for couples; This is it! The Tasting Room was a real treat, and Ici also had great food. The morning breakfast was a great start to the day(and the cinamon rolls were addictive). This is the spot to relax, and enjoy a super location.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spaqueen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanhux, Owner at Le Quartier Francais, responded to this review, 27 May 2010
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us and we are delighted that you enjoyed it so much and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2010

Over the last 10 years myself, family and friends, local and from aboard have often experienced a complete taste bud treat at all the restuarants linked to Le Quartier Francais! the food makes your taste buds scream for more, the service excellent and the ambiance inviting and alway friendly! The ideal place if you want to enjoy a great meal, excellent wine and lot of the open friendly South African culture a must visit for all locals and visitors from aboard! Thank you Le Quartier Francais for always delivering a superd dining experience!!
Eddy

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petrastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albufeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2010

It was an absolute pleasure staying here! The guest room was elegantly decorated, tranquil, comfortable and intimate... with a stunning view of the garden and pool. The restaurant was fantastic, the staff was friendly and professional and excellent location. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AKDC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanhux, Owner at Le Quartier Francais, responded to this review, 24 May 2010
Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you'd definitely stay with us again. That's the best compliment any hotel could receive!

We look forward to seeing you in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

The beautiful boutique hotel left nothing to be desired. The rooms were tastefully decorated and furnished and the roaring open fireplace add an element of homeliness. The wonderful 2 restaurants tantalise the tastebuds with every offering and the set menu which incorporates the wine tasting, creates a journey of flavour.
I would most difnately recommend staying at this hotel, but make sure you stay at least 3 days so that you can experience all that it has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuyJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanhux, Owner at Le Quartier Francais, responded to this review, 24 May 2010
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at Le Quartier Français. We also agree that to fully experience everything on offer a stay should be at least three days. Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us, we appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

The hotel was absolutelty fantastic, the staff are very friendly and professional. The rooms are luxurious and help you forget the world out there. We ate at the Tasting Room and it is a truly wonderful experience, unlike any other restaurant I have eaten in South Africa, very much competing on the world stage.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maximus02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanhux, Owner at Le Quartier Francais, responded to this review, 24 May 2010
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We work incredibly hard to create the type of experience you experienced at Le Quartier Français.

It is really wonderful for us to hear that we do get it right! Thank you again and we hope to see you, back in Franschhoek, and at Le Quartier Français soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.2 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Francais

Property: Le Quartier Francais
Address: Cnr Berg & Wilhelmina Streets, Franschhoek 7690, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Quartier Francais 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
83 Km from Cape Town, Le Quartier Francais is in the heart of the vineyards of the famous Franschhoek valley of the French Huguenots. Located in the village centre, this privately owned hotel and restaurant is an exquisite stopping place on the wine trail and the trace of the history of the Huguenot settlers, between Mont Rochelle, Haute Provence, Moreson. Impeccable decoration and service. Eclectic cuisine by Margot Janse and regional wine, of course! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Quartier Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Quartier Francais Franschhoek
Le Quartier Francais Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing