We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Removed from the hustle & bustle of the main street yet so close.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Cle des Montagnes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed at La Clé des Montagnes after attending the opening, the hotel consist of four villas located in the town of Franschhoek, gastronomical capital of South Africa. La Clé des Montagnes is nestled into the valley carpeted by vines and backed by breathtaking mountain views, yet we could stroll to the town square that took us 5 minutes. Our villa Le Manoir used to be the original manor house built in 1820 – lit fireplaces and an enormous private pool, a kitchen fitted for the best chef that we did not use as our villa is serviced by an incredible Malawian man named Frank who used to be the butler at Ellerman Villa. The villa we had was beyond extravagant for one couple, but perfect for a family or friends travelling together—with so many wonderful spaces to use while on holiday. A very special hotel and a magical retreat in the heart of the Franschhoek wine lands but removed from the hustle and bustle of the main street.

Room Tip: Peggy the GM showed us the 4 bed villa they have this will be fantastic for a family of 8 or 4 coupl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank CapeTownTravelafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 67 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank amoebe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank caro_et_jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank caro_et_jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy K, General Manager at La Cle des Montagnes, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sirre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
193 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.3 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
514 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fransvliet Guest House
Fransvliet Guest House
#1 of 43 in Franschhoek
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cle des Montagnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cle des Montagnes

Address: 16b Cabriere Street | 13 Daniel Hugo, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range: £186 - £2,019 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Cle des Montagnes 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquillity, space and sophisticated style is the essence of La Clé des Montagnes where four distinctive villas can be found. Nestled in picturesque vineyards and plum orchards, each of the villas feature a spacious private garden, swimming pool and sweeping views of the Franschhoek mountains. The villas have been given unique personalities by esteemed interior designer, Sarah Ord. Discover a villa to suit, not only your needs, but your personal style where every wish is made manifest by our treasured butlers. Only a short 4-minute stroll is the center of the historic Franschhoek village bursting with top restaurants, galleries, local wines and unforgettable experiences. We invite you to enjoy a truly memorable stay in the heart of the Franschhoek valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Cle des Montagnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing