We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cape Winelands Luxury Villas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Cle des Montagnes
Cape Town
Level Contributor
171 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Cape Winelands Luxury Villas”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

The only true villa experience in the Cape Winelands have to be those at La Cles Des Montagne, overlooking vineyards and mountains, yet within walking distance of the restaurants and shops of central Franschhoek. Superb American born GM Peggy Klement with extensive experience in Africa and her charming and genial partner Larry Gould are wonderful hosts with attentive butlers and staff who respect your privacy and exclusivity in the four individually decorated villas. each has comfortable indoor and outdoor areas and their own pools and garens, and every amenity and facility you could wish for is provided. They differ is size and range from the more contemporary to the more traditional but are beautiful. Breakfasts are on offer and along with beverages are included, and you may wish to dine in with a chef provided or do your own thing. Close too are some notable wine farms and restaurants. This is the ultimate in luxurious seclusion yet so convenient to Cape Town.

Room Tip: Le Manoir which accommodates four, has charming French styled character and for those who are disabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LewR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
23
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I returned home to a very wet and chilly Johannnesburg late yesterday, but nothing can dampen the enthusiasm I and I know Kate, felt for the wonderful warm hospitality we received from you and your team at La Cle.

You really do have a little [ well not so small ] piece of heaven at all the villas, and La Grange will always have a special place in our hearts. It really was the highlight of our entire Cape trip and was so utterly relaxing.

Everything, from your selves and staff and the attention to detail and of course the WOW factor contributed to a very special stay.I have always loved Franschoek and this has just confirmed why.

Be well,
Many thanks once more
Coral Reynolds

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Coral R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

First of all you would need to make up your mind of what kind of interior design you prefer in your villa - Or maybe you should just let yourself be surprised by the work done by the international star designer Sarah Ord - All the villas are unique and great and so are the people who take care of the service.
We stayed in the "La Galerie" with 2 bedrooms which was great, especially when it comes to the surroundings. The villas are fantastically situated with a view to the mountains literally in the middle of the vineyards close to the great restaurants of Franschhouk but still quiet and private.
Well in fact you do not necessarily need a restaurant because each villa has it's own chef and butler to help you as much or as little as you want - Anyway they are great.
In our opinions this fantastic South African getaway is worth a visit :o)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jedione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swellendam, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

My husband and I were fortunate enough to stay at La Clé for a special birthday weekend this past weekend. I can't find the words to accurately describe how truly extraordinary our experience was.

Frank & John (our butlers) were friendly, genuine, humble and helpful. Chantel, as well as being kind and smiley, offered excellent advice on where to eat and what to do. Beyond that, we were left to revel in superbly handcrafted furniture, quality fabrics, clever, luscious décor along with all the modern technology you could need and the quiet and beauty of the winelands of Franschhoek. All of this within easy safe walking distance of the buzzing, thriving little village.

Peggy showed us around the rest of the villas on the morning of our departure and although La Grange is still my favourite, the rest offer something for every taste and family/friend size.

I am already planning how to get back.
Thank you, again, to Peggy and her team for making our stay beyond exceptional.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Alison_J_Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We (my husband, sister and brother-in-law) stayed at La Cle ("Key to the Mountains") last month and I cannot remember when I was as blown away with the beauty of a setting and facilities as I was when we stepped into this special place. It is the sense of place that I was not prepared for. It is just 2 blocks off the main street in town, so we walked to dinner and shops. But when we arrived at La Cle, it was as though we stepped into our own private wonderland. The views from all 4 villas (I asked the manager to show me the other units - thank you Peggy) are looking over La Cle's vineyards and plum orchards, onto neighboring vineyards and to the majestic mountains surrounding Franschhoek.
There was beauty everywhere we looked ......gardens by our breakfast table, cobble paths, ripe fruit on the trees, ripe fruit in our kitchen bowl, gorgeous old trees, warm afternoon sunlight making the mountains glow, chilled sparkling for us on arrival. But I think the most beautiful were the warm smiles from Frank and Livy (sp?) who greeted and served us. And from Peggy also. The staff here are as professional, kind, polite and helpful as we have experienced anywhere in the world.
The restoration to the buildings is so well done. I spent a career as a commercial interior designer working for an architectural firm and noticed every detail. The villas are all very different, so there are 4 unique choices of style. We saw 3 and all are fabulous. The rooms are huge, every finish/fitting/fabric/piece of furniture/accessory/amenity/appliance is top quality. When we arrived and Frank greeted us with bubbly, I thought we were in a grand reception for La Cle, but it was our own lovely living room!
To top off a relaxing afternoon around our private pool with G&T, I dove in for a swim and was delighted with the sensation and taste of saline all around! Ahhhh, salt water! An awesome touch!
We LOVED our stay here and, when we go back, will spend more time. It was a perfect place for us traveling with family, and will return with more (family that is). We had our dinners in town, but next time will enjoy the option to "eat in."
We have gathered with travel friends and ask the proverbial question "if you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?". Right now, my answer is La Cle!
Thank you all for making our stay in Franschhoek so special!

Room Tip: We saw 3 out of 4. All are a different styles and fabulous. Choose your own delight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank K J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

My parents and I recently had the privileged of a stay in the absolute lap of luxury at La Cle Des Montanges http://www.lacle.co.za/

We've traveled extensively and have stayed in some amazing 5* places. La Cle, immediately, jumped into my 'Top 5' list.

We were given a warm welcome by Peggy (GM) and Chantel (her assistant), who led us into our 3 bedroom exquisite La Grange villa where our friendly, personal (Malawian) Butlers were waiting with champagne and smiles. http://www.lacle.co.za/la-grange.php

The villa was beyond perfect. Think sparkling (saltwater...bonus!) swimming pool surrounded by lush gardens and views of the magnificent Franschhoek Mountain Range plus an uber spacious interior boasting immaculate decor & detail.

The outdoor patio (with ceiling fans) has 3 seating areas: a dining table (where breakfast got served), couches, and a reading 'nook'. There's a perfect combination of indoor and outdoor living at La Cle.

Inside, a large central fireplace is ideal for a cosy evening ambiance. The kitchen comes fully equipped, including an AWESOME coffee machine!! For your entertainment: A library with large selection of interesting books, surround-sound music system with various CD's plus Ipod stand, large sofas to stretch out on, an upstairs TV room 'loft'...everything, and more, that one would expect from 5* living.

The butler(s) tops off the experience perfectly. They ensure that you don't have a lift a finger during your stay, from arrival to departure. They are seriously the best of the best, trained and qualified. They prepared all our meals (including doing our personal grocery shopping in town) to an absolute 5* T, and were on hand 24/7, always happy to be of assistance.

All the rooms are en-suite (of course) with bath, double sinks and double showers. In addition, each room has a door leading onto the 'other side of the house' garden with hammock and tables. There are also TV's in each room, for private enjoyment.

Location: Perfect...a mere 200 meters walk and you're in the town center. Peruse, at leisure, the wide selection of shops/art stores and enjoy delectable feasts at world-renown restaurants.

We enjoyed an AMAZING, truly unforgettable stay at La Cle ~ and you will too!!! It comes HIGHLY recommended...by someone in the industry (I'm a specialist vacation consultant).

Carene Daniel

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Cardanthenomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

The villas are all different but extra-ordinary in design, furnishings, location, amenities and charm- each has a different feel! Beautiful and perfectly managed and serviced. My two bedroom villa was delightful -- a struggle to choose which room to sleep in! Frank welcomed me and does everything, even before asking. Wonderful! The terrace with the enchanting views over the orchards, vineyards, and mountains are perfection in the beautful Winelands region. Bathrooms are 5star+...loved them. Linens are cool and class...only the finest. Beautiful gardens and the pool is perfect. Bubbly on arrival...Breakfasts on the terrace magnificent--loved the melon juice, croissants are as good as in Paris, and the fruits fabulous. The area is heart of South Africa's culinary scene, lovely boutiques in town, top restaurants and chefs, and fabulous wineries to visit plus golf, hiking, tennis...Peggy manages all perfectly and her staff is friendly, helpful, and welcoming. A not to miss experience. Would love to get my family to South Africa and take the 3 or 4 bdrm villa for a fun family holiday of all generations...worth the trip from California!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank barefootsusyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.3 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
1.1 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cle des Montagnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cle des Montagnes

Property: La Cle des Montagnes
Address: 16B Cabriere Street | 13 Daniel Hugo, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Cle des Montagnes 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four individually designed villas accommodating between two and eight guests per villa at the historic Le Grange homestead, within walking distance from the Franschhoek village centre. Each villa not only provides complete privacy and security, it lends itself to entertaining, with spacious living rooms with fireplaces and a library, indoor and outdoor areas, a private swimming pool and garden, as well as a fully equipped kitchen. Villas come complete with all home comforts to suit extended stays, and are able to accommodate families with children of all ages. Sophisticated style and breathtaking beauty is the essence of La Clé des Montagnes.La Clé des Montagnes offers an idyllic setting a short stroll from the historic village of Franschhoek. A selection of four unique villas await you on a working wine estate, surrounded by picturesque vineyards, plum orchards with a magnificent mountain backdrop. We invite you to enjoy an unparalleled luxurious experience in the heart of the beautiful Franschhoek valley.La Grange – Sleeps 6 GuestsThis sophisticated villa’s ambience was inspired by the elegant textures, solid woods and distinct fabrics of a colonial highlands lodge. The warm palettes that make up the interior have been carefully selected to reflect the seasonal hues of the surrounding orchards and vineyards. In turn La Grange’s interiors are infused with stylistic elements reminiscent of a Victorian farmhouse – while large, plush furnishings such as deep-buttoned, rollback beds will ensure that guests will receive nothing less than a luxurious stay.Le Manoir – Sleeps 4 GuestsInspired by the French heritage of Franschhoek, the reds, blacks, greys and whites of the interior of Le Manoir engender the spirit of French linens, toiles and patterned stripes. Beautiful antiques, unexpected traditional furniture pieces and carefree colours are at the heart of Le Manoir’s charming character. Homely, yet with a modern edge, Le Manoir offers the perfect salutation to French style in a breathtaking African landscape.La Galerie – Sleeps 4 GuestsSaturated blocks of colour juxtaposed with a minimalistic interior create a powerful energy in this expressive and avant-garde villa. The deep, rich grey walls of La Galerie have been selected to make up the canvas of a beautiful contemporary art collection featuring pieces by the acclaimed Swedish artist Bengt Karl Erik Lindström. Gallery lighting highlights expressive abstracts that forge a dramatic and engaging space, while the furnishings of La Galerie comprise a marriage of sought-after antiques, as well as carefully selected, exclusive contemporary pieces. La Galerie is a fitting tribute to the rich artistic heritage of Franschhoek and the country from which its founders originated.Le Colonial – Sleeps 8 GuestsThe rich patterns and fabrics of Le Colonial pay homage to a fusion of east and north African aesthetics. Patterned fabrics, Moroccan tiles and African art lend the space a tasteful vibrancy and dynamism. Le Colonial’s panoramic views of the vineyards and mountains combine with the contemporary African feel to create a truly memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Cle des Montagnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing