We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine chocolates” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huguenot Fine Chocolates

Huguenot Fine Chocolates
Ranked #2 of 17 Shopping in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fine chocolates”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We liked the taste of the chocolates (did not try any of the other chocolate houses to compare to) and thought the lady serving us could have been a bit more friendly and engaging, rather than just being a server.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AbrieDeV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    9
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
293 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“must stop here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

We stopped here just in time to miss the last chocolate tour! Luckily, the owner was gracious enough to give us our own private tour since we were visiting from the US and very disappointed in our timing. It was so fun to see how the chocolates are made and taste the products!

This is worth the stop if you are in the area. Buy some, if you can pick just a few out of all the lovely options, for pairing with the red wines!

Spoiler alert: you get to leave the tour with a small box of 2 chocolates!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DnllJns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Probably best chocolates ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

We went for the chocolate tour as recommended by our hosts, and we thouroughly enjoyed it. Amazing how the chocolates are made. The chocolates are very tadting, just right, not too sweet. Can recommend the tour to anybody who likes chocolate, 11am and 3 pm but check for the times as I am not sure if it is every day.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SimonTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a sweet treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

Not only do you learn all about the history of chocolate but it is done in such a fun way. We were shown how chocolate is made and we got plenty of samples to taste. I highly recommend a tasting at Huguenot Fine Chocolates.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Huguenot Fine Chocolates also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Huguenot Fine Chocolates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing