We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chocolate Heaven”

Huguenot Fine Chocolates
Ranked #2 of 17 Shopping in Franschhoek
Attraction details
Cape Town
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Chocolate Heaven”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Don't let the little shop deceive you. There is more than meets the eye. Take a Chocolate tour, it will blow your mind. Our tour guide was friendly, load and funny. The making of chocolates was very interesting. After that, buy time. Your get more than you pay for!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank NellaN27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    10
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent Chocolates in Franschhoek”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I visited the chocolate with a group of 16 tourists. We attended a one hour chocolate making and tasting tour. It was very informative and presented very well. Not all chocolates are bad or fattening according to the chocolatier. The higher the coco content the healthier. When visiting Franschhoek this is a must visit destination. During the presentation visitors are allowed to taste the various types of chocolate and witness how chocolates are made.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AladdinCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A MUST FOR CHOCOHOLICS!”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

On a sunny day (as we had recently) there is nothing better than to drive to Franschhoek, treat yourself to a leisurely lunch and then indulge in some yummy chocolates at the Huguenot Fine Chocolates.

Their handmade treats never fail to tantalise one's taste buds! Run by two young lads, both named Denver, this is the oldest chocolate shop around. And, judging from the buzz whenever I pop in, they are going to be around for a long time!

On a previous occasion, my wife and I attended the 30 minute chocolate demonstration. It was both interesting and slick! And, to crown it all, you are rewarded with a couple of chocolates at the end of the demo.

All in all, this place is a must for anyone visiting this lovely part of our world.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank vickyed888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fine chocolates”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We liked the taste of the chocolates (did not try any of the other chocolate houses to compare to) and thought the lady serving us could have been a bit more friendly and engaging, rather than just being a server.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AbrieDeV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
294 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“must stop here!”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We stopped here just in time to miss the last chocolate tour! Luckily, the owner was gracious enough to give us our own private tour since we were visiting from the US and very disappointed in our timing. It was so fun to see how the chocolates are made and taste the products!

This is worth the stop if you are in the area. Buy some, if you can pick just a few out of all the lovely options, for pairing with the red wines!

Spoiler alert: you get to leave the tour with a small box of 2 chocolates!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DnllJns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Huguenot Fine Chocolates also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Huguenot Fine Chocolates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing