We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food in beautiful surroundings”
Review of Country Kitchen

Country Kitchen
Ranked #30 of 76 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$64
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Country Kitchen at Mont Rochelle is located just a short walk or a quick drive from the main hotel building. The style of the restaurant is informal, perfect for a relaxed lunch or dinner if you are staying in Franschhoek.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely food in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Mont Rochelle vineyard is postcard picture pretty. On the night we visited, Mangetout was closed so we ate in Country Kitchen. Not sure what happened to Johan - our experience couldn't be more different. Tasty food which was well presented, washed down by the estate's beautiful wine. Recommend the rooibos smoked quail if it's on. Other half loved his roasted pepper cannelloni. Special thanks to the lovely Peggy - a treasure.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gansyandd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    26
    9
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Langebaan, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Worst ever meal”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We enjoy eating at different places and like variety. Looking for a nice lunch in franshoek we found this place on the GPS and expected a very nice meal hence the name. This is the first time in my life ever that three of the four meals was inedible and had to rush to the supermarket to find a mint to get rid of the taste left behind. The so called pork belly was a piece of pork fat burnt so badly not even steak knife could scratch it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not over awed!”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Not over-awed at all!

We booked a picnic lunch for Saturday. Really thought the venue was a bit more child friendly. Dam deep so had to keep an eye on a 5 year old all the time. Garden and dam area not cut and clean, papers in dam and tables grimy. Small area, so 4 picnic groups of 4 a squeeze.

Food was average and no follow up of dessert or attentiveness to detail. In comparison to other restaurants in the area, really an average experience. Very disappointed as we had a great in-house experience a few years ago, high standards have not been maintained at all. Look and feel of property in general not in line with 5 star hotel, wine farm or restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank To-old-for-average
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“You must bother!”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Not sure what happened on the Grahamee visit - we have returned three times to Country Kitchen, the last time with friends who all agreed absolutely wonderful. I booked the day before and we sat outside in a beautiful setting. The waiter was most attentive and gave us options other than those on the menu board - no trouble having a starter as a main...excellent bottles of wine from the estate at very local prices. This restaurant is the little sister of Mange Tout and very very good value for money - do not be put off from one bad experience. Off the main road and peaceful. Enjoy!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
429 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 495 helpful votes
“Don't bother....”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We arrived, having watched our host at the hotel book our lunch table, to find no reservation. This seemed a matter of indifference to the waiter, but he showed us to a table, in an empty restaurant.

The menu, on 17th Feb still read "valentine's special" - did they buy in too much food, one wonders?

The waitress was badly dressed in a dirty uniform, and seemed to know very little about the food on offer. "Take it or leave it" was the message. There seemed to be no management/supervision about, so we voted with our feet.

This used to be a lovely spot for a little lunch and a glass of wine, looking out over the Franschhoek valley. Not any more! We won't be back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank grahamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Country Kitchen also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Country Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing