We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing!!!”

Rickety Bridge Winery
Ranked #11 of 60 things to do in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This historic estate was originally part of the great La Provence farm given to French Huguenot farmers in 1694. Over the years the property was divided and the portion which is now Rickety Bridge was granted to Paulina De Villiers, one of the first female land owners in South Africa, in 1797. In the late 1980's the estate became known as Rickety Bridge due to the old railway sleeper bridge which crossed the Franschhoek River and provided the entry point to the estate. The rickety bridge was replaced in 1996 and the new bridge provides a safe crossing over the river. Today, Rickety Bridge is a stately Franschhoek winery which has gone from strength to strength in recent years and the memory and pioneering spirit of Paulina De Villiers is celebrated by the flagship range of wines, Paulina's Reserve. These distinctive wines, as well as the renowned Rickety Bridge classic range and the Foundation Stone Range, have received many accolades and high praise in recent years.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!!!”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Driving to the Manor house with a magnificent view of the mountains in front of you!!!!!!happiness!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kubesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    77
    25
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing wine experience”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This was our second from last stop on the wonderful Wine Tram tour. It was a Thursday afternoon, out of peak season, so there were only 6 of us and two other couples. The staff were not too busy so were able to look after us incredibly well, abandoning the standard 4-wine tasting so that we could choose direct from the wine list! It turned out that nothing was 'off limits' so we went to the top of the list and were completely stunned by the wines we tried. The Paulina's Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon 2010 and The Bridge 2009 were both sensational and well worth the bumpy (but actually quite fun!) ride on the farm tractor from the tram. I don't expect that this sort of quality service would be available on every visit, but we were lucky and had a truly amazing wine experience in a beautiful setting.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank GaryD14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food was beautiful”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We went specifically for lunch. The seafood risotto was sensational!!! We also had the curry and pork belly which were delicious.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank salz_forrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nena B, General Manager at Rickety Bridge Winery, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed the food, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Well looked after.”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We were not on the 'Wine Tram' or on a tour. We were well looked after on our wine tasting by a charming French lady. Nothing was too much trouble. I get the impression that wineries on the tram route get them in and out as quickly as possible, and as wine tasters they are not taken seriously as many are 'back - packers' on a days jolly!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brewersfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicketyB, Manager at Rickety Bridge Winery, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Many thanks for the taking the time to post your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your visit to Rickety Bridge and hope that you will visit us again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maun, Botswana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrendous”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Well, what a disappointment. Having been recommended it we got there and were ignored by the ladies behind the desk, when we finally were attended to they told us that they couldn't do a wine tasting with us because they had a group coming in half an hour. There was no attempt at an apology or trying to make us feel welcome. Bad service.

The place itself was scruffy and loud, there were a lot of builders around drilling and fixing things which didn't bode well. We're very glad we didn't give them our custom in the end and it was a relief we had decided not to stay there.

Distinctly unimpressed, especially as its supposed to be a "must" for the area.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank GinnyL90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicketyB, Manager at Rickety Bridge Winery, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
We are very sorry to hear that you were not well received at the Rickety Bridge wine tasting centre. This is completely unacceptable and we normally pride ourselves on our high standards of attentive service. We certainly do not turn guests away if there are group bookings and I am truly sorry that you were told this on your visit. I would greatly appreciate it if you could contact me at info@ricketybridge.com and advise which date you visited so that these issues can be addressed with the staff on duty that day.

I apologise for the inconvenience of the building that was taking place during your visit, we are in the process of upgrading and expanding the tasting centre deck area and are trying to complete the work as quickly as possible to avoid further inconvenience.

I hope that you would be willing on your next visit to Franschhoek to give the Rickety Bridge tasting centre another chance.

Kind regards
Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rickety Bridge Winery also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Rickety Bridge Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing