We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Very nice Sushi.”
Review of Funiki Japanese Eatery - CLOSED

Funiki Japanese Eatery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Funiki is Kiyomasu Deon Sensei's premium dining experience. Now you can experience the culinary splendor of Japanese home cook dishes unmistakably interlinked with Samurai traditions of Old in the expression of simplicity, sophistication, spontaneity, originality and ambiance that is Funiki.
Dublin ,Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Very nice Sushi.”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I thought Sams Sushi at Willoughbys in Capetown was good, but this is in a different league. Ok Deon can give the personal touch as the size of his restaurant is very small but it is well worth the experience.
My wife and i had a lovely evening as he is also very entertaining.He tells you things about Japanese customs and if you are lucky enough he might share something with you. You wont be disappointed with the food and a night you will remember.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dublin_IrelandEdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialMediaSA, Public Relations Manager at Funiki Japanese Eatery, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for the kind words and review. We look forward in serving you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    1
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“So much more than just a meal!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

What a fabulous evening we had at Funiki, not only was the food some of the best Japanese delights we've ever had (including eating in Japan), but our hosts, with warmth and delight, gave us a truly memorable evening. Let Sensei Deon and Rayne serve you their 'Sensei surprise' and you will not be disappointed! Every dish is a work of art, a culinary and artistic treat. Thank you so much, Ron and Sandy from Australia.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Apples20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialMediaSA, Public Relations Manager at Funiki Japanese Eatery, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
You are so welcome and we truly hope you had a memorable visit. Hope to see you again soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Extra-Ordinary”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is not an ordinary Japanese Eatery, this is the Eatery of Sensei Deon an extra-ordinary chef and an extraordinary man.
Be prepared for a unique and personal experience with well presented fresh food and if there is some time, and you are that way inclined, you might engage in a meaningful conversation full of wisdom and insight.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annemarie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
“"a quaint Japanese eatery nestled in the Franschoek windlands"”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I was privileged enough to be treated for lunch by the famous Sensei Deon and his lovely wife Ryne at his authentic Japanese restaurant in Franschoek- South Africa. Wow the food was amazing, the best sushi that I have ever had in S.A. It was a true experience of Japanese cuisine and definitely worth a visit while on your travels. Sensei, you are truly inspirational and I can’t wait for my next visit. Thank you Sensei :) .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialMediaSA, Public Relations Manager at Funiki Japanese Eatery, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
You are most welcome and it was fantastic to meet you. We look forward to your next visit. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Funiki, a must for ALL zushi lovers…”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We were treated to a Zushi experience on a mystery weekend in June 2013 if it wasn’t for this we would probably have never found this little gem tucked away in the L'Ermitage Chateau & Villas.
We went back in September 2013 and made a point of going back to this special place. Sensei Deon goes above and beyond to ensure that everyone has a truly enjoyable and palatable meal – tastes differ from person to person.
Sensei Deon’s knowledge, wisdom and experiences make him a remarkable person with lots of stories to share. He takes extra care to explain everything and always answers any questions you may have.
Thank you again Sensei, truly a priceless memory every time we visit. I cannot wait for the next visit!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yolandi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialMediaSA, Public Relations Manager at Funiki Japanese Eatery, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We truly look forward to serving you again. Warm regards, Sensei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Funiki Japanese Eatery also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing