We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Cabriere Country House
Ranked #9 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed here for two nights at the end of a wonderful holiday, all accommodation prior to this had been self catering so was very welcome. Before we had arrived I was already impressed by the service provided by Bernard and Monica. Restaurants and wine tours were booked on our behalf and the recommendations were fantastic. We stayed in The Africa room and it had a fantastic view onto the pool area and it's own private terrace. The room was well appointed, not huge but perfect for our needs. Full marks for the excellent value mini bar as well with a great choice of local wines. Breakfast was good, varied choice although one of the ladies serving was unfortunately not the friendliest. I think all guests had arrived at the same time but still no excuses for rolling of eyes when asked for more orange juice. The view is slightly different to what is shown in the website as a new building is next door however there is no disputing that the view is stunning. What really impressed us though was the passion and enthusiasm Monica and Bernd demonstrated, they truly are wonderful hosts and are what makes this a unique stay. They are 100% dedicated to the customer experience.Nothing was too much trouble and they made us feel incredibly welcome whilst never compromising our privacy. We will return without a doubt. The wine tour was also great, many thanks to Jackie!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzyp273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    68
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
50
280
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Great hosts,place and location. Stunning mountain views. Afternoon tea was a great touch. Would definitely recommend staying.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I had the benefit of staying at La Cabriere for two nights earlier this month with friends. I had a poolside room which had wonderful views that was well appointed. We were treated very well by good staff and the cooked breakfast is well recommended.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My husband and I had a lovely stay at La Cabriere Country House in Franschoek during our holiday to South Africa in February 2012. We were greeted by our lovely host who showed us to our room and informed us, to our delight, that we have been upgraded and we received an even nicer room than we hoped for. The room has fantastic views of the surrounding mountains and looks out onto the pool. We loved our four poster bed and fireplace. Late afternoon we were treated to delicious fresh carrot cake and Rooibos tea on the porch. Thank you to the staff for cooking us a delicious breakfast in the morning. Wish we could have stayed longer! Till next time!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Our family has visited Franschhoek many times now, when going to Southern Africa, but we never grow tired of its charm and great attractions. Having stayed in many accommodations in the region over the past 10 years or so, I must admit that none can match the beautiful setting, great service and comfort of La Cabriere Country house. Bernard and Monica looked after our every need and were so helpful with info about the town and the Winelands attarctions. The breakfast was absolutely amazing and it is clear that Monica and her staff put their heart and soul into the catering. If there would be just one reason to return to Franschhoek, it would most certainly be La Cabriere Country house. Thank you Bernd and Monica - we will return ...

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the Poolside rooms with their great location and views of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

No turn-down service. Rooms too small and tiny tv. Nice pool.
Franschoek filled with many hidden gems, this is not one of them.
Service needs to impeccable to compete but clearly inexperienced and lack finer touches.
Pity.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The property itself is lovely but there were a few things in the room that obviously needed some maintenance, e.g loose taps, loose toilet holder, kettle with a broken lid. Although it may seem unimportant these small details all add up. We were woken in the morning by extremely loud knocking on our door by Monica informing us that breakfast was being served. We stay at many bed and breakfast establishments and seldom have breakfast as we like to lie in, and never once has this been a problem. When my husband mentioned that we didn't really appreciate the loud wake up call Monica became very aggressive saying that we hadn't said anything about not wanting breakfast and that she had only "taped lightly on the door". My husband said that although we had been told the time of breakfast not once had we been told to let the establishment know that we wouldn't be having any. Monica's attitude became more and more aggressive making out that we were the rude party for not letting her know that we wouldn't have breakfast. We will not return to this establishment. There are better places to stay, where your privacy is respected and you aren't made to feel you are staying in a boarding house.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caroline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Owner, Guest Relations Manager at La Cabriere Country House, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Caroline,

We are very disappointed that your visit to our establishment did not live up to your expectations - we would like to provide clarity on certain of the points that were raised.

Since reading your review, Bernd has personally inspected the room to check the issues. He has reported the following:

a) The handles of the taps were not loose or rattling, but half a turn of the spanner was achieved with great pressure - we appreciate it when guests advise us of any small maintenance issues in the rooms, which we have always dealt with promptly.

b) With regards to the toilet holder, we are not sure what this refers to, so we have investigated all possibilities: If it was the toilet brush holder: We found nothing out of place - if it was the toilet seat lid: This is a brand new wooden seat mounted with a hinge with a play of 2mm to each side (the factory setting) - if it was the toilet paper holder: This is supposed to be able to turn loosely through 360 degrees.

c) The lid of the kettle is not broken, it has a built in sliding groove which is a standard kettle mechanism feature.

When commenting on the aggressive nature of the staff – we would like to explain the situation from out point of view.

We very rarely have guests who do not want to eat breakfast, we are after all a bed & breakfast and it is to be expected that guests staying with us would be expecting breakfast. In the past, on the rare occasion when guests do not want breakfast, they have always notified us of this. We understand that different establishments may handle situations differently, but I am sure you appreciate we can’t please everybody all of the time. Depending on your perception of service, some guests may have found us rude if we hadn’t knocked at 10am as a gesture of courtesy – others would have taken the same stance as you and felt their privacy has been violated. This is the first time we have had negative feedback with regards to this issue – we take the criticism on board and will ask guests to notify us in future if they don’t want breakfast. We would however like to add that it was not Monika, but Rachel (one of the housekeepers) who knocked on the door. Rachel would never knock loudly or persistently. It would have been a gentle tap. The guest’s interpretation of the event is a vast exaggeration, as is most of his commentary with regards to his stay at La Cabriere Country House. When checking out, the guest also suggested that we are remiss in not asking our guests if they would like breakfast in their bedroom. I would like to comment by emphasizing that we are a 4-star establishment – while we pride ourselves in our flexibility when such special requests are made, such a service should not be an expectation of any guest staying with us.

The validity of any comments attacking Monika’s character or handling of the situation can easily be discredited when one reads previous guest reviews about the service provided by the hosts (Bernd and his wife, Monika). A one-sided account of this situation should not be used as a yardstick by which to measure the service or attitude of the staff at La Cabriere Country House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.7 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
476 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#6 of 63 in Franschhoek
521 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#8 of 63 in Franschhoek
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cabriere Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cabriere Country House

Property: La Cabriere Country House
Address: Park Lane 2 | Off Middagkrans Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cabriere Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Provencale country house, that is a haven of peace and tranquility nestled amongst farm and vineyards, within close walking distance of the village. Elegant, extremely comfortable rooms with own terrace overlook beautiful gardens, swimming pool and stunning mountain views. Friendly personal service make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your La Cabriere Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cabriere Country House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing