We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Cabriere Country House
Ranked #10 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A warm welcome”
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

Even though we arrived a bit later than expected, we where welcomed in a warm and open manner by the owners. We have been looking for a beautiful place to end our trip through southern SA and have found it here. Large rooms, friendly staff, quiet area on the edge of Franschhoek and views from the pool to die for.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    68
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
50
280
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

A beautiful setting and special winter getaway. We had a lovely room overlooking the pool, fireplace in the room and dining area just outside our door. The room's view is not the same as in the brochure but one can easily forgive that once one steps just outside onto the small patio, with 360" views of the Franschhoek mountains!! The House is a stone's throw from the Huguenot monument and the little village. And so central for further exploration of the area.
Breakfast was served in the dining area shared by 3 other rooms, and consisted of the usual South African fare. Could have been a bit more interesting, but the owner Behrnard, who came every morning to greet us and share information about the surrounding areas made up for the shortfall.
The one thing we would have liked was a second armchair by the fireside in our room, perhaps if we had mentioned this it could have been added.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaresSalaamMariuccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I live in Johannesburg and travel to Franschoek often. There are so many wonderful places to stay that I can’t begin to warn you enough – this guest house is a true let down. The couple who manage the property are rude, argumentative and have huge attitudes. The smallest request feels like they are doing you the biggest favor. Upon checking in we were told that they had a party to go to in the afternoon, so would not be preparing tea and we could make it for ourselves in our room. A request for 2 twin beds was met with a challenge of whether we had originally requested this (even though it was clearly easy to take care of and the room was equipped either way) and when it was time to pay I was not allowed to provide an alternate credit card. All in all they are full of sour grapes for not investing in other properties themselves (yes they shared this level of personal financial information!) and are clearly not happy with their role. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else in this otherwise beautiful town!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JulieInJoburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Owner, Manager at La Cabriere Country House, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
I feel that this review is a gross misrepresentation of the facts, as well as a violation of privacy. With regards to the twin bed misunderstanding :She had made an online booking and the ‘paper trail’ showed absolutely no mention of requiring a twin bed (One simply ticks a box if twin beds are required). Although she was incredibly upset with us for not preparing the room as a twin, we were more than happy to change it and did so immediately. We were made to feel negligent even though it was not an oversight on our part, even though we very quickly accommodated their needs and the room was ready 10 minutes later.

With regards to the tea and cake – on this day we had explained to them that we would not be at the guest house at tea time (5pm) due to the birthday party of a special friend. Because this is such a rare occurrence (my wife is almost always available at 5pm to personally serve the tea and cake), we felt the need to explain this, and informed them that we would be leaving them each a piece of the much-loved home-made carrot cake in their room. They would only need to prepare their own tea, and they seemed to be understanding of the situation at the time. The reviewer has subsequently implied that we were not interested in their needs. This is a completely unfair misrepresentation of the facts.

With regards to checkout: We were subjected to the reviewer’s extreme anger and very rude and aggressive manner. Her reaction was completely uncalled for. La Cabriere has a policy of taking 100% deposit for bookings less than 3 months away. There are very clear terms and conditions to protect the client - Full refunds are paid up until two weeks prior to arrival. This was made clear on the booking system they used. We debited the credit card number she provided on the day of the booking as is standard procedure and confirmed that we had done so by email to her. At the time when she and her mother came to check out, she then asked if she could pay with another card. I informed her that the transaction had already been processed and that although we would be happy to reverse the transaction and charge an alternative card, we did not advise it as she would very likely incur currency conversion losses which we wanted to help her avoid (although she lives in Johannesburg, her account is held in the US). Her attitude was incredibly rude and defensive, she got more and more angry and her screaming continued all the way with her mother on their way to the car. We had no further control of the situation and they left the guest house in this state which was very upsetting for us too, as we had made every effort to help them.

Finally: The reviewers comment about us experiencing ‘sour grapes’ is entirely inappropriate and ill mannered, not to mention an assumption she has no right to make or publish. My wife and I previously owned a restaurant in South Africa and found it very fulfilling. We thoroughly enjoy living in Franschhoek. Her assumptions are most likely based on a conversation we had with them about the current worldwide economic climate. We simply expressed relief that we no longer have a great deal of our finances tied up in an illiquid asset, such as property, in South Africa. We have been living in South Africa for over 20 years and have no intention of leaving.
I trust this puts a more accurate and clearer light on events.

Kind regards

Bernd Richert (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We spent six wonderful nights at La Cabriere whilst exploring Franschhoek, Stellenbosch and Cape Town. Bernd, Monika and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. We particularly appreciated their advice and booking of restaurants and wine tours. We stayed in a deluxe room which had a beautiful view of the pool area and mountains beyond. Breakfasts were delicious and all made to order and we really enjoyed the afternoon tea and cake at 5pm each day. La Cabriere is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy all that the area has to offer.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms near the pool are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahS130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
665 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

La Cabriere is located few minutes from the town centre of Franschhoek and is the perfect place to spend a couple of days while wining and dining in the valley. The rooms are luxurious, there's a refreshing pool area and deck chairs enough for everyone, and the german couple in command are very-very friendly. I really miss my 5 o'clock tea with the lovely homemade carrot cake.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mogeltoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

This guest house looks very beautiful in the photographs and despite some great reviews, the reality simply didn't match the expectations. We were so looking forward to it and from the moment we arrived it was disappointment owing to the rude welcome from the manager's wife. Had we not paid up front, we would have left immediately. I do have to say the manager was helpful and did recommend a restaurant for us, but unfortunately his wife was very different - anything we asked for was clearly an interruption to her day - even a simple request to know whether there was wi fi in the rooms and she said she had no idea and clearly couldn't have cared less. Having travelled extensively in South Africa where everyone is so courteous, it really was quite a shock having someone being quite so rude and dismissive. On a positive note, the Breakfasts tasted good. One last point, we were in the outside room and the only way to walk to either the pool or breakfast was over gravel - someone with mobility issues would have found it very difficult and I do think this should be in their details that it is not suitable for the disabled.
All in all, a great disappointment and certainly one I couldn't recommend to anyone - unless you enjoy being snarled at.
Interestingly, when we left my husband was asked to sign a piece of paper stating that we were happy with everything, which he declined to do .. As we have never been asked to sign anything like that anywhere else, I wondered whether that was to head off any trip advisor review?!

Room Tip: do NOT have an outside room ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Camilla005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Owner, Public Relations Manager at La Cabriere Country House, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
In response to the review posted on the 12th December 2012, that went live on Trip Advisor on 24th December 2012:

We were very upset to hear that these guests had such a terrible time at La Cabriere, and feel the need to apologize for the personality clash which may have occurred. There is absolutely no excuse for rude behaviour from management or staff, however after an extensive investigation including interviews with both Monika and Bernd, I am sure that what the guests experienced was purely the result of Monika being caught off guard with a question she was not equipped to handle. It is sometimes difficult when cultural and language differences exist, for a person to express themselves properly without subtle cultural nuances to be misunderstood as rudeness.

Neither Bernd nor Monika are employed for their IT expertise, and any guest utilizing the complimentary WiFi (which is 100% free of charge) should understand how their own devices work. It is not fair for them to expect the staff of La Cabriere Country House to explain how to use their own devices. The password is given to every guest on arrival in the welcome letter, and we assist if there are connectivity problems – If we are unable to resolve the problems ourselves we will then call an IT specialist to the property. Monika is fully aware of the fact we have WiFi – if she was asked about how it works then her frustration at her own inability to answer the question may have come across as abruptness. I am confident that her tone would have had nothing to do with the question being an ‘interruption to her day’.

One can clearly see from over 95% of past reviews, that all the staff members at La Cabriere Country House pride themselves in making all guests feel welcome. As individuals, we all have a slightly different style when welcoming guests, which is to be expected as we all have unique personalities. Most people staying at guest houses as opposed to hotels are looking for these more personal interactions. Monika is both thorough and helpful with her check-ins, and on the day in question both Monika and Bernd welcomed the guests to their room.

Customer expectations also vary from person to person. We do our very best to ensure every guest’s expectations are met.. It is clear from other reviews that we most often succeed, and in many cases even exceed customer expectations.

To add comment to their mention of our lack of facilities for the disabled…. We do not advertise ourselves as a disabled-friendly establishment. In the past, when we have enquiries from people with disabilities, we make it clear that we are not specifically geared up for disabled guests. We explain that the gravel and a couple of steps may be a problem for wheelchair users. We are always more than happy to recommend appropriate alternative accommodation establishments for their stay in Franschhoek.

With regards to the check-out form which the guests had never experienced before ….. This form is in fact a new legal requirement of the Consumer Protection Act, we suspect that many other establishments have not yet implemented it although it is mandatory. We cannot be criticised for abiding by the law. This is also an opportunity for guests to provide constructive criticism or positive commentary, as well as providing us with important marketing information. It is not a long document and requires only two minutes of attention. We have never had complaints about the form before.

We apologize once again for any misunderstandings and hope that this response has shed light on an unpleasant situation.
Kind regards
Katie (Public Relations Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

This is such a gem. A beautiful location, far enough away from town to be quiet but close enough to walk should you want to during the day. Rooms - really good, with a shower to die for. The views from all the rooms are of the local hills and/or vineyards. The poolside rooms looked good whilst ours was at the back that had mountain views and morning sun.

Practicalities - breakfasts were good with excellent omelettes! There was tea and cake in the afternoon and the owners were always on hand if needed. During the day the town is safe and a delight. During the night, you really need to take a taxi due to the local crime, but do t let this out you off. Taxis are sorted by the owners,and are only a fiver or so.

Restaurants are nearly always busy so let the owners book places for you (we had not thought about it so they had already made a number of reservations for us in advance.....). We had a private wine tour around 3 vineyards with a good guide and a very pleasant day. All arranged through the owners so very easy.

In sum.....just great if you want a hassle free stay in a good location with great views. If you want gym, jacuzzi, busy bars and 5* room service, don't come here...if you want basically to relax and unwind close enough to Town to see some sights, then ensure you book here year after year.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nahrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
165 reviews
1.7 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
657 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#5 of 63 in Franschhoek
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cabriere Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cabriere Country House

Property: La Cabriere Country House
Address: Park Lane 2 | Off Middagkrans Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cabriere Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Provencale country house, that is a haven of peace and tranquility nestled amongst farm and vineyards, within close walking distance of the village. Elegant, extremely comfortable rooms with own terrace overlook beautiful gardens, swimming pool and stunning mountain views. Friendly personal service make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your La Cabriere Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cabriere Country House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing