We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Cabriere Country House
Ranked #9 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here in December and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Very good location, walking distance of the town, where there are many excellent restaurants to choose from. Our room was beautifully furnished, tastefully decorated, and very clean. The views from the property are amazing. The gardens and pool area are stunning with plenty of loungers and towels. Breakfast was very good with a nice selection of fruit, cheeses,etc. and the cooked breakfast was cooked to order and very tasty. Afternoon tea is served on the veranda and the cakes made by Tess were delicious.

The new owners, Tess and Marc, are delightful and full of suggestions of where to go and what to see. The property is beautifully maintained and a lot of care and attention is paid to the comfort of the guests. The staff and manageress were very friendly and attentive. We had a marvellous time in Franschoek and especially in La Cabriere. We highly recommend this guesthouse and wish the owners good luck in their new venture. It is one of the best we have ever stayed in and we travel extensively. We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mw_mw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

Let me start by saying that Franschoek is one of my favourite places anywhere on the planet - if you are considering a trip there and you enjoy great wine, food and fantastic scenery, at excellent prices, you are in for a treat.

I have stayed at a couple of the establishments in Franschoek, all have been excellent and La Cabriere did not disappoint. I booked our accomodation online through booking.com, and I thought the price we paid offered very good value for money.

La Cabrierre is located just the other side of the Franschoek monument and is within walking distance of town. On arrival at the property, the lady who greeted us offered to make dinner reservations for us, an offer which we accepted.

Arriving at our pool view room, we were greeted with a complimentary small bottle of sparkling wine as well as tea and cake, which was a nice gesture. We were very happy with our room - everything appeared fresh and new, the bathroom was excellent and clean. The uninterrupted views from the balcony were stunning. Although we didn't use the pool much, the pool area is very pleasant with a lovely seating area with fresh towels and pool loungers. The bed was very comfortable with fresh, clean linen. Nothing to complain about here.

We were happy with the breakfast provided in the pleasant dining area, a small selection of fruit, cheese and meats with eggs, bacon etc. expertly made to order.

We encountered some minor irritations which if addressed would enhance the experience of staying at La Cabriere:

We noticed in the morning that there were a lot of flies flying around the breakfast area, probably due to it being the windy season in Cape Town. Although the food was covered, they were an annoyance during breakfast. I am sure this could be easily addressed.

The main entrance door to the accommodation featured a self close mechanism which causes the door to close with a loud bang - a soft close would minimise annoyance to the guests.

We felt that the thick down duvets on the beds were somewhat inappropriate during the middle of summer - this was easily countered by turning down the temperature on the air conditioning at night, although this seemed somewhat wasteful.

We found the complimentary wireless reception in our room very hit and miss, although it was excellent in the dining area just a few steps away. I'm sure a stronger router or relocation of the existing router would solve this issue - the internet worked well when there was a connection.

Overall we enjoyed our 4 night stay at La Cabrierre enough to extend it to 5 nights, and would recommend this guest house as an excellent choice of place to stay in the stunning Franschoek valley.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letswingit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We spent one night here whilst holidaying in cape town but could have stayed forever. The room was beautiful and the view from our patio was breathtaking. The owner walks around making sure everything is OK. We were greeted by Charmaine, the manageress who was extremely friendly and helpful. She booked a table for dinner that night for us and gave us info on the wine tram. breakfast was served the next morning overlooking the mountains, what a way to start the day. The table was laden with all sorts of wonderful food as well as a cooked breakfast. The little touches like silver napkin rings and linen napkins make this a very special place to stay. Although our bedroom was directly opposite the kitchen we never heard any noise at all which is a real bonus after all the ,lovely wine the previous day. All I can say is if you are looking for accommodation in franschoek then this is the place to be. I'm sure there are other places that are excellent but for us this is definitely somewhere to go. It's well worth paying a bit extra. To all the staff and the owners, keep up the good work and we hope all the care and passion you put into this lovely place pays off.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Best place to stay in franschoek, location, clean, very friendly, completely renovated, good comfortable beds, decent patio furniture loungers & swimming pool.

and.... Good value for money. We can really recommend this place,
Very quit and peacefull, We will return as much as possible!

Room Tip: try the afternoon thee & cake, offered by Tess the lady of the house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxibelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I stayed for 3 nights in this beautiful B&B and had an amazing stay! The current owners are fairly new and refurbished and renewed the entire place! They are friendly and very helpful. The rooms are well decorated and quite large. The views from the pool are as mentioned in the other reviews to die for!! Just unbelievable and breathtaking. The breakfast is great and the service of the owners is perfect. They will help you with all your questions! In general a place I can recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ponzie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Sad to say we were really disappointed by the less than warm welcome from the owners. The place was fine, well located, well attended and the breakfast was great. But the owners were less than welcoming. We had read some of the earlier reviews and simply put it down to personality clashes. But we can say from first hand experience that from the start we were not made to feel welcome at all. This view was shared by other guests staying there at the time as we all joked about it over breakfast. On our last morning we were all reminded at breakfast that we had to leave before 11am. I judge a place by whether I would stay there again - the answer is sadly a no. There are no doubt many better places to stay in Franschheok where the welcome will be genuinely warm and you will be keen to return. I recommend you look elsewhere and choose only if all other places are full.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This is a great place to tour the Cape winelands from. Just outside Franschoek, behind the monument for the Huguenots, this small boutique place is run by a couple of very German managers. Everything works, is tidy, and clean. We stayed in the bungalow outside the main house. Great views from the small terrace. Small remark : the garden boy comes early in the morning outside the cottage to start working, destroying a bit of the privacy. The place is not cheap, yet even drinking water of 0,5 euro is invoiced separately.
The managers are happy to recommend restaurants to eat at ( close by ) and make reservation for you. A very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andresonville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
1.7 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.6 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.6 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#10 of 64 in Franschhoek
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cabriere Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cabriere Country House

Address: 2 Park Lane | Off Middagkrans Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £126 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cabriere Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Provencale country house, that is a haven of peace and tranquility nestled amongst farm and vineyards, within close walking distance of the village. Elegant, extremely comfortable rooms with own terrace overlook beautiful gardens, swimming pool and stunning mountain views. Friendly personal service make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your La Cabriere Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cabriere Country House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing