We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Cabriere Country House
Ranked #9 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

It was such an amazingly great adventure and stay! Perfect!! Great service and perfect location. The views of the mountains are awesome! I would really recommend the country house for anyone that wants a place with a perfect view and some peace and quiet. Its also has great food with a coffee and cake at four o clock.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natasha_voges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here after having landed in Cape Town after the 11 hour flight from Heathrow. We had reserved rooms for three nights, to rest after our journey. The house is situated in the Western Cape winelands, surrounded by mountains and within easy reach of Cape Town by car. The rooms are opulent, with top quality linen and very comfy beds. Breakfast was taken on the terrace overlooking the pool. Service is first class, and the manager was most helpful, reserving dinner tables and offering advice on places to visit, and alternative accommodation when our two day safari, booked for later in our holiday, was unexpectedly cancelled. Franschhoek is known as the culinary capital of the Western Cape, and we certainly enjoyed our three days there.

Room Tip: I would recommend the rooms overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We met Marc and Tess, who made us very welcome at Cabriere Manor House. The rooms look amazing and the view is to die for. We feel we have made new fiends in Franschhoek. We know we will come back next year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We spent two wonderful nights during our honeymoon at La Carbiere Country House.
We booked the Africa room wich was facing the pool and overlooking the vineyards of Franschoek.
Beautifully decorated room with a patio with direct access to the pool.
Very well located only 2minutes drive to the Main Street.
Absolutely charming place, calm , serene with a beautiful garden.
The owners and the staff are very friendly and made restaurants reservations and recommended vineyard tours.
We would definitely return...Thank you for the bottle of champagne on arrival....!

Room Tip: Africa room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here in December and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Very good location, walking distance of the town, where there are many excellent restaurants to choose from. Our room was beautifully furnished, tastefully decorated, and very clean. The views from the property are amazing. The gardens and pool area are stunning with plenty of loungers and towels. Breakfast was very good with a nice selection of fruit, cheeses,etc. and the cooked breakfast was cooked to order and very tasty. Afternoon tea is served on the veranda and the cakes made by Tess were delicious.

The new owners, Tess and Marc, are delightful and full of suggestions of where to go and what to see. The property is beautifully maintained and a lot of care and attention is paid to the comfort of the guests. The staff and manageress were very friendly and attentive. We had a marvellous time in Franschoek and especially in La Cabriere. We highly recommend this guesthouse and wish the owners good luck in their new venture. It is one of the best we have ever stayed in and we travel extensively. We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mw_mw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Let me start by saying that Franschoek is one of my favourite places anywhere on the planet - if you are considering a trip there and you enjoy great wine, food and fantastic scenery, at excellent prices, you are in for a treat.

I have stayed at a couple of the establishments in Franschoek, all have been excellent and La Cabriere did not disappoint. I booked our accomodation online through booking.com, and I thought the price we paid offered very good value for money.

La Cabrierre is located just the other side of the Franschoek monument and is within walking distance of town. On arrival at the property, the lady who greeted us offered to make dinner reservations for us, an offer which we accepted.

Arriving at our pool view room, we were greeted with a complimentary small bottle of sparkling wine as well as tea and cake, which was a nice gesture. We were very happy with our room - everything appeared fresh and new, the bathroom was excellent and clean. The uninterrupted views from the balcony were stunning. Although we didn't use the pool much, the pool area is very pleasant with a lovely seating area with fresh towels and pool loungers. The bed was very comfortable with fresh, clean linen. Nothing to complain about here.

We were happy with the breakfast provided in the pleasant dining area, a small selection of fruit, cheese and meats with eggs, bacon etc. expertly made to order.

We encountered some minor irritations which if addressed would enhance the experience of staying at La Cabriere:

We noticed in the morning that there were a lot of flies flying around the breakfast area, probably due to it being the windy season in Cape Town. Although the food was covered, they were an annoyance during breakfast. I am sure this could be easily addressed.

The main entrance door to the accommodation featured a self close mechanism which causes the door to close with a loud bang - a soft close would minimise annoyance to the guests.

We felt that the thick down duvets on the beds were somewhat inappropriate during the middle of summer - this was easily countered by turning down the temperature on the air conditioning at night, although this seemed somewhat wasteful.

We found the complimentary wireless reception in our room very hit and miss, although it was excellent in the dining area just a few steps away. I'm sure a stronger router or relocation of the existing router would solve this issue - the internet worked well when there was a connection.

Overall we enjoyed our 4 night stay at La Cabrierre enough to extend it to 5 nights, and would recommend this guest house as an excellent choice of place to stay in the stunning Franschoek valley.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letswingit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We spent one night here whilst holidaying in cape town but could have stayed forever. The room was beautiful and the view from our patio was breathtaking. The owner walks around making sure everything is OK. We were greeted by Charmaine, the manageress who was extremely friendly and helpful. She booked a table for dinner that night for us and gave us info on the wine tram. breakfast was served the next morning overlooking the mountains, what a way to start the day. The table was laden with all sorts of wonderful food as well as a cooked breakfast. The little touches like silver napkin rings and linen napkins make this a very special place to stay. Although our bedroom was directly opposite the kitchen we never heard any noise at all which is a real bonus after all the ,lovely wine the previous day. All I can say is if you are looking for accommodation in franschoek then this is the place to be. I'm sure there are other places that are excellent but for us this is definitely somewhere to go. It's well worth paying a bit extra. To all the staff and the owners, keep up the good work and we hope all the care and passion you put into this lovely place pays off.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
185 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
696 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#10 of 64 in Franschhoek
536 reviews
6.7 mi away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
382 reviews
1.2 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#12 of 64 in Franschhoek
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cabriere Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cabriere Country House

Address: 2 Park Lane | Off Middagkrans Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £106 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cabriere Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Provencale country house, that is a haven of peace and tranquility nestled amongst farm and vineyards, within close walking distance of the village. Elegant, extremely comfortable rooms with own terrace overlook beautiful gardens, swimming pool and stunning mountain views. Friendly personal service make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Cabriere Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cabriere Country House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing