We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Residence
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

This is one of the best hotels I ever stayed in . Our room was very spacious and comfortable, the location is very peaceful in a vineyard and the service is very friendly and professional. This place is truly deserving of all the great reviews it has received.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fantokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRoyalPortfolio, Director of Sales at La Residence, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Thanks you so much for taking the time to review La Residence. We must admit that we are very blessed with the luxury of space and serenity on our little farm in Franschhoek.
We thoroughly look forward to having the oppourtunity to host you in the future.
Best wishes,
Edward, Nick and the La Residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    8
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
177
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We only stayed one night, wish our whole vacation could have been here. Hotel is on par with the best of the best. Everything about the place is perfect, the setting, public spaces and room were excellent. Service was great and the food was the best we had in South Africa. Hotel is a a gem.

Room Tip: #6 is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freak77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We have just returned from 4 days stay at La Residence and cant rave enough about it! In one sense i want to tell everyone so they can share in the experience, but in another slightly selfish way, I dont want too many people to go so as to ruin it!! The hotel is situated in a fabulous location so that all the bedrooms (11 in main building) get excellent views. Upon arrival we were greeted by the GM with a glass of champagne and a friendly tour of the property. We were then shown to our very beautiful room, The Maharani Suite. It is very lavish with lots of interesting pieces of furniture and art and an amazing bed in the middle with views over the beautiful vineyard and over the lake. The bathroom was huge and beautifully done too. I have to say, all the suites are amazing, but the superior suites are bigger and ours had one of the best views!! There is almost nothing they wont do for you here, they even came to unpack our cases ( i unpacked my own, but when doing my husbands, they ever RE FOLDED my garments which were already in the wardrobe!!) In the room is a decanter of brandy for you to indulge in, and there was champagne on ice for our arrival. On top of this, there was a snack cupboard with all complimentary treats, jelly beans , crisps, chocolate etc and in the mini bar soft drinks and miniature spirits all comp ! We have stayed at other lovely hotels ( mainly The Four Seasons level of hotel) and have never had anything thrown in! Also, by the pool, all soft drinks are free and they will also do your laundry complimentary. All of these little touches are very much appreciated as was the complimentary car service into the village of Franshoek. The food is amazing and if there is something that you fancy other than what is on the lunch menu, they are happy to oblige. And it is served up so prettily with lavender decoration, fresh from the herb garden. The staff are all very friendly and helpful and nothing is too much. The GM , Edward, is a very hands on kind of guy, very friendly and is always around for a little chat. I could go on and on, but you get the drift, Amazing, fantastic, stunning, we will be back!!

Room Tip: The Maharani Suite is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunseekerli123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed for two nights at this fantastic property and everything was perfect! The rooms were the most lavish and creatively decorated that I have ever stayed in. We had the opportunity to tour the new villas and they are as wonderful as the rooms in the main hotel. The staff was excellent as was the food and hospitality of the manager. If you are South Africa don't pass up the opportunity to stay at this unique property.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

We are just about to leave the Residence to continue our trip. From the moment we arrived the experience has been fantastic. I would have liked to put a score of 10 out of 5 for the service. Allen, Xandra, Nick, Evan.... Eduardo, all were amazing. British Airways did all they could to spoil our Xmas, but the team at the Residence did everything they could to get our luggage here safe and sound.

The food is top class too. We will definitely be back!!!

John and Eva McCusker

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jpmccusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

This is not your typical review as it’s difficult to define La Residence in terms of hotel standards by the mere fact that it blows them all away. Therefore, I will spare you all the details regarding room cleanliness, value for money, etc and rather see how many superlatives I can cram into this review. La Residence is positioned in one of the most idyllic places on earth with uninterrupted views of the mountains and winelands. Smells of lavender and flowers surround the premises. The interior decorating is beyond imagination with every detail meticulously crafted to the point that you could spend days just admiring the variety of decor and artwork at this “hotel”. However, the crowning achievement for La Residence is the way you are made to feel during your stay. The personnel were amazing in that they managed to provide the feeling of complete privacy whilst still attending to our every whim before the thought had even occurred. The only way I can describe this is by likening it to a very warm family event. I really could go on about how amazing La Residence and its staff are but I will try sum up my feelings about this place. This was the destination I decided to propose to my fiancé and can say without hesitation or doubt that it was the best experience of my life. The staff of La Residence went above and beyond and made us feel truly special and welcome. Nothing was too big of a request, and everything was handled in the most eloquent of ways. I am truly grateful to La Residence and its staff, and can honestly say that is very difficult to put a value on the experience they are able to create for you. Whether you are deciding to propose or just looking for a break...La Residence is something special that needs to be experienced.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

My husband and I stayed 4 nights here at the beginning of October 2011. Our expectation were very high having read the reviews and on a personal recommendations given by a very well travelled couple that had stayed here before. We have to say our expectations were exceeded in every aspect, this place just doesn't miss a beat, the service is intuitive, non-obstrusive and caring. By the end our 4 nights here we felt like we were leaving long lost friends when we departed, we really did not want to leave.

We stayed in the Maharani Suite and it was over the top blow your mind glamour. The room was huge, the decor was over the top and very unique and just so lovely! You may not decorate your home this way but what and exciting fun treat to live like this for a few days. We had a look in most of the rooms during our stay (they leave them open when no occupied and encourage you to snoop around, fun!) and they are all gorgeous and I would not be disappointed with any of them.

I am very fussy about housekeeping and hate nothing more than venturing out from your room to come back and find it not made up to perfection. Housekeeping here was impeccable. Every morning we would have breakfast on the terrace and come back to our room looking as if we had just arrived on our first day. After dinner every night on our return the room was stunning, often embelished with special treats and surprises.

The hotel arranged our two days of winelands tours and chose the best tour guide one could imagine and we had the best time.

My partner and I were also married here. We decided to kind of elope and get married, just the two of us. La Residence arranged the most amazing special day, everything was perfection. Chantell the events manager made sure everything was perfect before our arrival. Evan, front of the house, arranged a perfect setting for our ceremony and dinner. Edward (GM) and Nick (deputy GM) stood up for us at our ceremony and we felt like they were our best of friends by the end of our stay.

I must admit that while in the planning stages our our South Africa trip I had sticker shock at the room rates here but after our experience and coming home and reflecting I have so say it was absolutely worth every cent and the absolute highlight of our trip to South Africa (even if we were not married there) and the place we most yearn to return to.

Franschhoek and the surrounding area are absolutely stunning and photo do not do it justice. The hotel website in no way prepares you for the stunning beauty of the area and how gorgeous this property is.

My husband and I have travelled all over the world and tend to stay in Four Seasons level accommodations and this place blew them away.

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong with any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ryzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.0 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.6 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence

Property: La Residence
Address: Elandskloof Private Road | Elandskloof Farm, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#2 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#3 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Residence is in a class of its own. Located in the beautiful Franschhoek valley, where the exquisite vineyards and mountains form a picture perfect backdrop, La Residence provides a haven of luxurious accommodation, fine dining and an all-round sensory indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, South African Hotels, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing