We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning hotel”
Review of La Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Residence
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2012

la residence is one of the most exceptional hotels we have had the pleasure of staying in. The accommodation is enchanting the staff are attentive, the breakfasts are delicious and we also had a dinner next to the fire place which was exceptional. we have travelled all over the world and stayed at many hotels and i can honestly say la residence is one of the finest hotels that we have had the pleasure of staying at. Thank you to all the staff and we would love to visit again

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taube and steve k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2012

When you enter the Lounge you have the feeling that one of the famous master painters took all he could to create a very special piece of art. A Bohemian Rhapsody full of creative patterns and mixes. The Suites are all different and my favorite is the Elton John Suite with a stunning view over the valley. We had a perfect cocktail and the dessert in front of the fireplace.
The manager was very helpful while the staff we saw, was not really performing well. Maybe we were there at a quiet time as we could not see other people but they told us the next day would be fully booked. Hopefully, because this hotel is too pretty to be empty. The prices are high but worth it. Brilliant ambiance over all!

Room Tip: We found the suites on the left wing with the Elton John Suite nicer than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bushara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

It's almost impossible to describe in words how unbelievably magnificent this place is. Personal service abounds and anything you want is delivered with a smile and "pleasure."

Room Tip: All suites are beautiful. We loved #11, the Maharani Suite. It doesn't get any better than this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brudoburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

From the time you drive up until you leave you are treated as if you are the only guest on the property. The staff is attentive but not overbearing. Your requests are handled expeditiously. The room we had (room 6) overlooked the vineyards on two sides. It was breathtaking. This is one of the best properties we have stayed at. All of the rooms are unique in style. The owner/decorator has excellent taste and you can not go wrong in any of the rooms. The rooms which were not occupied have the doors open and you are invited to step in and look at each room on your own without the staff. We were there during the shoulder season and in the middle of the week so some of the rooms were unoccupied and we had the opportunity to see 6 of them each decorated in a different style. There are no two rooms the same.

Room Tip: The end rooms are larger and have views from two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SierraBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My wife and I went for 2 nights. What an absolute privilege. The staff are fantastic, the hotel is out of this world. Food is wonderful. There is nothing we could fault.

What a great time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

“I love South Africa, and I have stayed in many magical properties there — however, La Residence is the most special. Set in a 30-acre estate in charming Franschhoek, tucked into its own vineyard, this contemporary chateau will make you feel like you’re visiting royalty. Spend the late afternoon relaxing by the infinity pool, mornings & afternoons wandering the rose garden, bike rides, horseback rides, wine tasting, cheese tasting — anything and everything can be organized by the hands-on staff. A real recharge and relax kind of place that always feels supremely private.”

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Consigliera-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Like a previous reviewer I had difficulty with the title as well. This place is beautiful and is in a grand location. The food is excellent both at breakfast and at dinner. The lovely wait and room staff are great people doing a great job.

Maybe I'm just a bit picky but I thought the atmosphere was a bit stiff and actually tries a bit too hard. The other guests that we observed were also kind of standing to attention. Not really relaxing at all. Its very quiet. Certainly couldn't relax in the pool, even though the days were warm and great for swimming - the pool was freezing! Some solar heating might be a good idea.

I also thought our room was a bit of health hazard at night getting up and trying to negotiate around all the bits and pieces of furniture/object. The light switches aren't handily placed.

I think the finish for me was the fake waving goodbye as we drove down the driveway. It was a bit creepy, like out of Stepford Wives. I know it was meant to look friendly - it just looks creepy.

I know I'm out of step in not being over the moon about this place - it must just be me.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Punkyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 12 in Franschhoek
201 reviews
1 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.9 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 12 in Franschhoek
526 reviews
1.3 mi away
Leeu Estates
Leeu Estates
#8 of 12 in Franschhoek
108 reviews
1 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 12 in Franschhoek
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence

Address: Elandskloof Private Road | Elandskloof Farm, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#3 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: £635 - £1,923 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Residence is in a class of its own. Located in the beautiful Franschhoek valley, where the exquisite vineyards and mountains form a picture perfect backdrop, La Residence provides a haven of luxurious accommodation, fine dining and an all-round sensory indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing