We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid”
Review of La Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Residence
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Splendid”
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

I have had the great pleasure of staying at many high-end chateaux in France over the years and nothing I have experienced (not even Chateaux Le Crayers in Reims) comes close. This is spectacular, splendiferous spoiling on a grand scale providing a sophistication and jaw-dropping beauty unmatched anywhere in the area. Be certain to stay "in" for dinner which will enchant and any romantic will be in heaven! Congratulations to Edward and his team for a flawless experience. I cannot wait to return.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    8
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
181
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

The only place to stay when in franchhoek.when We come with the children we stay in the magnificent villas, there are 5 villas ask for villa 4 or 5 down by the pool ,in fact tjey all great. Most importantly the staff are incredible and look after the children, the chef even bakes with them.if you are traveling without children you then stay in the 7 star hotel .....beautiful. you can also go to their sister hotel called the birkenhead right on the beach or try theit bushlodge...

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

My boyfriend and I had the privilege of staying at La Residence for a night in October 2012. I was awed by the beauty of the hotel and the surrounding landscape, and will always remember the experience. We were greeting by hotel management with glasses of champagne, and given a brief tour of the place. Our room was giant, with exceptionally pretty décor and views. The hotel has amazing in-room amenities - local treats and champagne are included in the fully stocked bar - along with the largest and most magnificent bathroom I've ever seen. The hotel staff was exceedingly professional and helpful, and I had the best manicure I've ever experienced, which included lying on a massage bed and having my feet massaged for at least 20 minutes. Our dinner was fantastic, next to a roaring fire. It felt like we were royalty in some romantic medieval castle. It's hard to imagine any superior experience, and given the opportunity, I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OS_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2013

My husband and I stayed there for 2 days after our wedding. By far the BEST hotel we have ever stayed at! The service was perfect and everyone was so friendly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely be returning.I am generally a complainer at hotels and I honestly had nothing to complain about - perfection! Unbelievable, magical and fantastic!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caseykovarsky85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

My husband booked a holiday to celebrate my birthday. We were traveling with our good friends who have two children. There were in total 3 kids and 5 adults in our party and we stayed in a villa at La Residence for 4 days 3 nights.

We would never imagine there is such beautiful place in South Africa. The villa was amazingly beautiful. The decorations are very tasteful. The best is their service. All the staffs were so friendly and helpful to us. Their attention for detail is something you don't see very often in any other places. One night we were watching rugby game at the big lounge. The staffs were so kind to lit the fireplace for us, prepared all the drinks and snacks for us even when it was past 11pm already.

The kids had a GREAT time staying and the grown ups got to relax and enjoy our holiday. The food at the hotel was good too and the atmosphere was lovely. La Residence really knows how to pamper the guests and to show their hospitality.

It has been a wonderful stay and we would highly recommend this place to everyone who are going to visit Frankschhoek.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angieyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

stayed her in November for a portion of our honeymoon. The reviews are right - this place is simply amazing. The scenary is spectaculor, the rooms are lovely, the food, wine, atmosphere are great, and last but not least, the staff and service are superb. Simply top notch compared to anywhere we've been, anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: each one we saw looked great - we stayed in the Huguenot suite, which was incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brucejohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2012

One the best experiences ever. The villa are beautifully designed. Each artefact and artwork are tastefully selected. Design , hospitality, service and food- all made us feel like royalty.
Especially The staff at the villas , they were exceptionally attentive to our needs and took very good care of us.
The wines from the vineyards are also special.
One best stays ever :)))

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P-klove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.9 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.7 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.0 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.5 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence

Property: La Residence
Address: Elandskloof Private Road | Elandskloof Farm, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#2 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#3 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Residence is in a class of its own. Located in the beautiful Franschhoek valley, where the exquisite vineyards and mountains form a picture perfect backdrop, La Residence provides a haven of luxurious accommodation, fine dining and an all-round sensory indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing