We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat and a jewel”
Review of La Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Residence
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We were lucky enough to stay at this magical hotel and to host our wedding there. The setting is unbeatable, the staff are extra warm and friendly, the rooms are fabulous and the food is exceptional. A rare jewel and a great find. The only place to stay in Franschhoek and beyond that, a special effort should be made to get there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillyMM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

This property is not a hotel, it is just a very special space to be in! The whole experience, from arrival to departure, has an understated luxury that ensure a perfect stay - excellent food, very friendly people, beautiful accommodation, stunning views and client-awareness to perfection!

Room Tip: All excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed at la Residence in Nov13 during our honeymoon. It is one of the best hotels I have ever been to. The hotel and rooms are truly beautiful, the service is outstanding (every member of the staff from housekeeping to manager are extremely friendly and helpful) and the food is amazing! We wanted to try some of the famous restaurants in Franschhoek, but after our first lunch at the hotel we decided to have all our meals here and we didn't regret it! Thank you La Residence for this amazing experience!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxime V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

When we arrived we were greeted by several staff members and given a tour of the hotel by the manager. We felt right at home. There were three couples in our group and we all were very impressed by the service, the food, the luxurious rooms and amenities. Franschhoek is a beautiful town in the South African wine country. Get some tips from the sommellier at La Residence on the wineries to visit. You will thoroughly enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: corner rooms are probably the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jbulfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Oh dear, I am almost embarrassed to not be singing the praises of this hotel, given the other rave reviews, but for good reason. Firstly, great looking and art directed, in terms of opulence and luxury. But not the most practical, in terms of design. Our bed was on a raised platform that had three tiers of tiled steps leading up to it. If you forget where you were during the night, if you had to get up to go to the bathroom, you could go home in a body bag, as a result of tumbling down the very steep and sharp stairs. And massive shutters that had to be closed to shut out the light, which means that in the morning you are woken by the first guests to open their shutters, as they make a hell of a din. The lawn being mowed at 3 in the afternoon outside our room, when we were trying to have a nap, which was slightly inconsiderate, I thought. And the beautiful peacock, that ensures you are woken at the first glimmer of light in the morning, with its incessant shrieks. Also, the wall between the bedroom and bathroom does not extend to the roof, which means that going to the loo is very much a shared experience, in terms of noise. But the staff are great, and try hard. The food is fine. And for a special occasion, they do make an effort. For my wife's birthday we were given a special table in the dining area, a surprise chocolate cake, and a special " honeymoon " turn down service. In summary, great on design, but short on hospitality skills. And a lot of the shortcomings would be hard to fix. The peacock should be an easy one, however. In spite of expressing our disappointment in the guest questionnaire, we have still to be contacted, which I would have thought good management would have done. Won't be back. If you can't be guaranteed of a good night's sleep, not much point is there?

Room Tip: We stayed in the Maharani suite, apparently favored by Elton John. He obviously sleeps with plugs in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Butch R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We loved La Residence. It is a fantastic property. As others have said, the food, staff accommodations were beyond anything in my experience of travel anywhere else in the world. We felt like to had this whole mansion to ourself as our home. Great to meet and sit down with Edward, who Is rightfully proud of this place. The owner's taste in decoration for the rooms was beautifully outrageous. Great attention to detail. The town was New England charming and purchased a beautiful giraffe vase in bronze. MADE IN SOUTH AFRICA....OF COURSE! Thanks for a great stay and you should be very proud of your chefs and service staff. Always a smile.

Room Tip: Villa two was great, but you'd better like red!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schulmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed at La Residence in October 2013 for a few nights at the beginning of our two week honeymoon. I can't find anything negative to say about the property - it's truly our favorite hotel in the entire world! The rooms are absolutely gorgeous, the property is beautiful, the food was incredible. But most of all - the service was outstanding! The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I can't think of another property with this level of customer service. One night we came home to our tub filled with warm water with candles and roses everywhere. Another night - since we didn't have a rental car - they offered to drive us into town to The Tasting Room. The day we left, they packed a take away breakfast for us. Other hotels did things like this for us on our honeymoon, but not like La Residence. It's truly an amazing experience! We also did a couples massage which was fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newyorker10006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
193 reviews
0.9 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
556 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
513 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence

Address: Elandskloof Private Road | Elandskloof Farm, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#3 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: £626 - £1,672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Residence is in a class of its own. Located in the beautiful Franschhoek valley, where the exquisite vineyards and mountains form a picture perfect backdrop, La Residence provides a haven of luxurious accommodation, fine dining and an all-round sensory indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing