We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing place!”
Review of La Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Residence
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The most amazing place!”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

It was a fabulous experience. An extraordinary place.. truely special.
Amazing service, nothing was too much trouble. The food & wine was A1.
I would recommend The Residence to anyone who wishes to be spoilt.

Room Tip: They are all unique & pure luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jac c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    8
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
189
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

What a wonderfully relaxing experience! The views from the rooms and from the grounds are spectacular. The food and wines were fantastic. The server who helped us at our dinners had a great knowledge of South African wines and paired everything we ordered with ease. Every pairing was better than the last. Everyone on the staff was so considerate and helpful. Everything was handled with grace and helped make our trip to Franschhoek an unforgettable event.

Room Tip: Small hotel and think all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChloecatIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Love the magnificent rooms and views! The Elton room was beyond all others. The service is fantastic! We enjoyed the food, the wine, the pool, getting laundry done, fruit, mini bar etc... All the little things that make a big difference when traveling.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodnwinesnobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The service was immaculate, even though they actually did mess some things up with our reservations and our itinerary, they actually managed to save the various situations in such ways that I don’t even want to mention the details of the slip ups at all. Instead I want to take the time in this review to honor the way we were treated as guests. The service as far as making us feel welcomed, to feel special, to feel individually noticed (yet not ridiculously over treated), to feel in lack of absolutely nothing, to feel pampered, I gladly give the highest ratings. Imagine that they also served the Graham Beck bubbly as their house wine, what could make me any happier than all of that? And the courtesy car is a huge plus in my book.

The way the staff goes the extra mile for their guests is astounding compared to a lot of other 5 star residents I've stayed at and the professionalism of all staff at La Residence is really impressive. They greet you with your room key upon return from wherever you’ve been, which I enjoyed as a personal touch.

The views are breath taking. The room we stayed in was huge. The interior is slightly worn down, as far as toilet seat and shower head, as well as drain goes and unfortunately there were some stains on the bed sheets and towels, yet again this is nothing compared to the luxury environment overall and what I believe it once was just surpasses the complete experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sokriw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We have been fortunate enough to stay at some of the top hotels in the US, but not one of them measures up to this gem! Big thanks to our travel agent for booking us at this amazing place - we checked in and felt like we were royalty. The chef prepared an amazing lunch - with fresh fish and vegetables and we ate in front of a roaring fire in the most luxurious dining room we have ever seen. We knew right then we didn't want to leave and could not wait to come back. The staff is meticulous, incredibly friendly and makes you feel like you are the most important person in the entire hotel. The views were amazing. I enjoyed a spa appointment which was also wonderful. Let Evan Sampson choose the wine for you for lunch and dinner - he is incredibly talented and we loved every bottle he brought us (and we sampled quite a few). We toured some great places in South Africa - but this one we will never forget! Thank you all for the visit of a lifetime!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PbarryVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I recommend a week’s personal retreat at La Residence Villas in Franschhoek. A row of stylish garden suites, the magical healing formula of these villas is a holistic combination of dramatic views, glamorous décor, clever design and impeccable service. Create your own unique package, choosing from a lengthy menu of treatments, including idle flotation in blue-grey swimming pools, massages and various spa options, fabulous food and wine to lift any spirits, and a kind ear of hospitable staff.

Of course my treatment of choice is simply to gaze upon the rich and creative décor of each suite at La Residence. Sumptuous and daring combinations of purple, cerise and gold hues do their work on my psyche. I marvel at the artistic combinations of colours created by our very own South African version of Trisha Guild, Liz Biden. Marbled floors, gilded mirrors, floating chandelier, and upholstered headboards come together in a fusion of antique meets modern.

Renowned for over-the-top luxurious bathrooms, each bathroom at La Residence is a veritable suite unto itself. Here many restorative hydrotherapy hours may be spent, accompanied by sensual Charlotte Rhys products, a personal selection of favourite music and mountain or botanical views.

Each of the five villas has a different compilation of rooms but looks outwards onto the Franschhoek mountains and La Residence vineyards and plum orchards. Designed with families in mind, the spacious villas of La Residence are a place of freedom to relax and be oneself.

Accommodation experience:
I have come back to Franschhoek for the many inspiring activities in the area – touring wine farms, eating at some of the world’s best restaurants, shopping, walking and cycling. Yet in this sumptuous haven of La residence, I find myself unwilling to leave the beauty of my suite. I struggle with this urge to sink mindfully into the simple experience of staying in, with a sense of guilt at letting go of my inconsequential plans. But sometimes the mind and body simply know what they want, and it is necessary to forgo one’s enthusiastic predetermined ideas to follow the deeper rhythms of grace. I gratefully succumb to this invitation to do exactly as I please, to restore my energy and sense of balance.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berenice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Above the Franchhoek village is the most marvelous secluded hotel, Visitors to the western Cape must believe that it is truly heavenly to stay in such a secluded location, As you drive up to the hotel you will see baby springbok, and Shetland ponies. The hotel looks like a grand hacienda, inside it is opulent with open beams creating an enormous feeling of space and it is furnished in an eclectic European baroque style,
We had lunch on the outside Persian terrace in the lovely comfortable shade, Every table of four is placed on a Persian carpet - a fabulous feeling of luxury on a grand scale, While lunching you look down an avenue of enormousness palm trees with two chaise lounges placed beneath the shade of the trees. This leads your eye down to tithe crystal clear swimming pool which overlooks the mountains, What tranquility ! At tthe side of the terrace at the lend is an entrance which leads down to a spectacular lake with an open tea house where you may entertain guests,
The bedrooms are all unique we saw one with a marble four poster bed which they heat up in winter, The bathroom looks like the hall of mirrors at Versailles huge with beautiful lighting -breathtaking.
Wow ! please take the time to visit ,have a meal or stay and enjoy a beautiful experience, For overseas visitors this is a must!





Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.0 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
165 reviews
1.0 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.9 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
491 reviews
2.6 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
657 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence

Property: La Residence
Address: Elandskloof Private Road | Elandskloof Farm, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#2 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#3 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Residence is in a class of its own. Located in the beautiful Franschhoek valley, where the exquisite vineyards and mountains form a picture perfect backdrop, La Residence provides a haven of luxurious accommodation, fine dining and an all-round sensory indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing