We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sublime” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Residence
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sublime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2009

Having spent my last two days at La Residence at the end of my trip to the Cape, I can't overstate how wonderful this place is. Unusually for me I did not feel like visiting the surrounding area, and wine farms as it was heaven just to relax there. Nonetheless this is one of the most scenic wine areas in the Cape.
Beautifully appointed, in a superb location, with stunning views, I thought it redefines the concept of luxury hotels. And simply because it feels like staying in a wonderful private house. The attention to detail is superb. The staff are really wonderful, very professional and a happy crew.
And dining is heaven, more akin to dining in a private house run by a hostess who has thought of every comfort, than a hotel. Therein lies the magic. Simply choices, but everything was delicious and extremely well made, the most delicious and interesting wine chosen to compliment the menu matched as you might expect by a clever sommelier. They must have some of the best chefs in South Africa. Or chef, not sure how many there are.
There are only 11 rooms. I was in the Armani Suite. My goodness, what a huge bathroom with amazing views across the lake with the mountains in the distance. And what a lovely bedroom.
I've never written a review on here before, but the whole experience was simply charming, and I highly recommend a visit. Its also terrible discreet, only guests can dine here for example.
Hope this review is helpful to you, fellow travelers.
James

  • Liked — Luxurious, eclectic, clean and very spacious
  • Disliked — No criticisms at all
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank James_Pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    8
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
177
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2008

It is difficult to put into words how completely sublime La Residence really is. We stayed for 3 nights following 4 great days on safari (see separate review of Ulusaba). Our room, No 3, was without doubt the most sumptious we have experienced anywhere, but that doesn't do it justice. We arrived late and it was already dark so it wasn't until the next morning that I opened the 2 huge double doors (one from bedroom and one from bathroom) onto our terrace. The view is simply breathtaking - mountains, vineyards, crisp air and fantastic smells of flowers. There are no set times for breakfast, or lunch, or dinner at La Residence - food (of the absolute highest quality) is prepared on demand at any time of day. The staff are all utterly delightful and quickly became friends. The service, needless to say, is spot on. In a few words I have tried here to describe the joy of staying at La Residence but really it isn't possible. I can only suggest you go and see for yourself but, if it's at the same time we are there (we will return as soon as possible) then please leave Room No 3 for us.

  • Liked — Everything perfect
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank New2Jersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2008

We had really high hopes for this hotel and we where not disappointed. Beautiful location overlooking the valley and mountains. We had a superior room (room 8) that was absolutely amazing. A huge bathroom where we could take a bath with our terrace doors open watching the sun go down, huge bed with Ralph Lauren linens, big flat screen with dvd and a lovely terrace with a sofa that was perfect for afternoon reading. The hotel operates as an alternative all inclusive resort. Local drinks are free and local drinks here means excellent wine from the Franschhoek area. You get a three course lunch and a four course dinner. The food was almost too good to be true. I normally hate set menus but after six nights in this hotel I didn’t have one single course that I didn’t love. We had plans of visiting many of the good restaurants in the town but since the food at the hotel was so good we mostly ate there. Having dinner in the lavish dining hall was a treat every night.

The service was impeccable. The staff will attend to your every need. If you need sun lotion they will drive down to the town and by it for you! Every time you leave your room a team of cleaners move in and make it perfect again for your return.

We can’t really praise this hotel enough, it is by far the best hotel we have ever stayed at. Yes it is pricy but if you appreciate a nice hotel and you are looking for a place to relax there is no better hotel than this one. One tiny,tiny minus though, the pool was a bit cold.

  • Liked — the service, the dining hall and our über cool bathroom
  • Disliked — the cold pool
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank eveneng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2008

The design is stunning. fab rooms. Lovely pool. They can arrange gym membership for you....Expensive but GREAT value !!!

  • Liked — Venue
  • Disliked — No gym on site
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BentleyGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2008

You felt as if the mansion in the vineyard covered hills was all you own at this amazing hotel. With only 12 rooms I think, I saw way more staff than I did other guests. The rooms were huge and had a balcony overlooking the hills. Anything you wanted was included, if you wanted champagne or a smoothie by the pool, it was no problem - "pink or white champagne?". The meal with wine pairing was excellent, some of the best on our entire trip.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — Cold swimming pool
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SEG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2008

My husband and I spent one night here on our honeymoon in October 2007.

Wow! It's a georgous house that had recently been build and part of the hotel is still under construction. However, the main house was finished and half of the rooms (I think 6) were finished.

This is a small, initimate setting on the beautiful countryside. The decor is nothing short of fabulous. You feel like you are in a royal castle in Europe. The bathroom in our room was almost as large as our room. It is all marble with the bathtub right in the middle and a beautiful chandelier over it. All rooms have beautiful views of the countryside.

The staff is super-friendly and very accomodating. The food is terrific. The staff, food and decor are all outstanding in all of Liz Biden's hotels.

We had gone into the town of Franschhoek for dinner but it was absolutely awful (The Tasting Room at Le Quartier Francais - only 6-course meal that we dreaded the next course). So when we came back, La Residence was kind enough to fix whatever we wanted! The breakfast the next day was also terrific.

We would love to return to this special hideaway and spend more time.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Southern_Gal_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.0 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.6 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence

Property: La Residence
Address: Elandskloof Private Road | Elandskloof Farm, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#2 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#3 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Residence is in a class of its own. Located in the beautiful Franschhoek valley, where the exquisite vineyards and mountains form a picture perfect backdrop, La Residence provides a haven of luxurious accommodation, fine dining and an all-round sensory indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, South African Hotels, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing