We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special vintage!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Havig stayed at the FCH we've no difficulty in understanding why 176 French Huguenots arrived in this area in 1688 !!
Seriously, this is a gem, not to be missed, a total environment of relaxation and comfort, which allows echoes of a grander style of living to refreshingly stimulate the imagination. The staff, so superbly led from the front by Ben were without exception friendly and helpful. Their manner subtly conveyed that as guests we were special..........and not just meant to feel special. In addition the quality and presentation of food along with the overall attention to detail, both in the justifiably renowned Monneaux Restaurant and at breakfast, were first class.
Although our stay included an exceptional dinner on Valentine's Day, Cupid's darts had no part in two "over sixties" falling for this Wineland haven. Definitely this is a vintage to savour!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

651 - 657 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2011

The Suites are large and spacious. The amenities are wonderful and the staff could not be more accommodating.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevefunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

We spend three night there in early March, and is still overwhelmed over our stay at Country House & Villas! It is absolutely gorgeous and even more beatyful than the picture on their website. We stayed in a villa, and it was huge! Fantastic interior and the surrounding elsewhere is perfect.

The food was also great! The SPA was fantastic! But most of all; the staff were so friendly and nice that we didn't want lo leave. This is a truly stunning place!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grethel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We have just returned from having stayed in this delightful Hotel for two weeks. Having had the first two weeks of our vacation on an adventurous trip around Namibia, we were looking for somewhere to relax . Ben and his team were fantastic and could not have made us more welcome. The dining experience was exceptional both at breakfast and for dinner, so if you want to really chill out and not go to one of the amazing restaurants in the village, you will not be short changed by eating inhouse at Le Monneau restaurant which was one of the first fine dining establishments in the area.
Few people stay for as long as two weeks, but for wonderful scenery, food and wine, we have not found a better place to vacation and are already looking forward to our next trip.
Thanks to everybody at the Hotel for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trusler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Great big suite, nice pool and all perfectly pleasant.

Average service around the pool, no free Wifi and very expensive set up if you do want it. I also spent the second night listening to leaking AC units which I did report but nothing was done.

Also our double bed was just two singles knocked together. Not a zip link.

Overall though, a perfectly pleasant stay but I feel there are better hotels in this price range.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Super accommodation, helpful friendly staff. A lovely week's holiday in delightful surroundings.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llanmaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We loved our stay at the Franschhoek Country House and Villas. The grounds are beautifully kept. The rooms are beautiful and so relaxing. We so enjoyed our stay here and did not want to leave! The breakfast is delicious! We would highly recommend staying here whilst in Franschhoek!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amguy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
670 reviews
1.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
1.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
504 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
537 reviews
1.2 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#1 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: £216 - £503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing