We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and Atmospheric”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Spacious and Atmospheric”
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We stayed in one of the Villas, which featured an entry hall, huge living area with working fireplace and sofabed, large bedroom, large bath, and two large terraces. The country French decor was lovely and appropriate to this Huguenot-historied town, bedding of very good quality, Romantic bath, and the grounds were beautifully landscaped -- including night lighting of the restaurant terrace and water features that was magical. The welcome and service couldn't have been better, and the reception staff was very helpful in arranging rides to restaurants and the town center. The restaurant, Monneaux, was excellent in a town of contenders, and it's a lovely series of spaces with spot-on, but low-key, service. To be objective,I withheld one star of the rating because our room needed a few small tweaks (eg, knobs that came off, a broken ceramic piece of a faucet). In my heart and memory, however, the Villa was a pure 5 - elegant, delightful, comfort to the max.

Room Tip: The villas were well worth the extra $.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoyasaxa3233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    144
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
88
561
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Had a lovely time, booked entry level room which was great value. Lovely atmosphere, friendly staff, great breakfast and very good restaurant. Ticks all the boxes, will return!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed at the suite and it was incredible! nice lounge, huge bed, lots of closet space and an amazing veranda. The hotel staff was very polite and helpful, they arranged wine tasting, tours and lots of local tips. But my favourite part was the restaurant, we had new exciting dishes every day and fantastic service as well.
Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oekonomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Three of us prepaid for two villas for 3 nights here. While we were on safari, 3 nights before, our traveling companion found out that her husband suffered a major stroke and we had to send her back to the United States. He died two days later. We were staying at Leopard Hills Private Game Resort and they couldn't have been more comforting and accommodating. The Leopard Hills concierge even called the Franschhoek Country House and Villas to explain what happened but they informed us that they were not willing to release our friend from liability of the 3 nights stay at her villa.
To add insult to injury, I was overcharged $ 725 on my American Express card. I didn’t realize it until I returned home. They have admitted to their error and have agreed to credit my account but my friend is still out $ 640 because of their lack of compassion. If you chose to book a room here, take out travel insurance because even if your spouse dies, they won’t care.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stephanpyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPS101, Owner at Franschhoek Country House & Villas, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
With respect to our guests is not what transpired. As management we were not advised of the grave circumstances, only advised that one person in the party had to return for "medical reasons".

As a result we advised in advance the cancellation fees will apply due to the short notice and that travel insurance should cover their reasons for cancellation. We also invited the clients to discuss with us on arrival if their insurance did not cover it so we can assist them in the cancellation fees. The client did not and we assumed all was sorted.

We would like to point out that the client was charged cancellation penalties signed and agreed for in their confirmation, we did not charge anything more than agreed. We therefore fail to see why we should receive a negative review if we only applied that we agreed to.

In addition, had we known of the grave circumstances we most certainly would have acted with compassion and either waive or provide full credit to the clients. Upon coming to learn of the circumstances the management also contacted the client to explain the above, however our explanation was not accepted nor our offer to compensate at a later stage

The client also indicated on their comment card they enjoyed their stay with no mention of this on departure.

The overcharge on their account - this is correct, they were overcharged in error. However as management we picked it up on this before the client did, got in contact to advise him this was done and that it was already refunded!

We respect our guests choice to post this review but respectfully disagree. Once again our condolences to our guest's loss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Drove from Cape Town to Franschhoek in a rental car. Easy to find with GPS as it's on the main road into town. We received an upgrade as we were on our Honeymoon - it was awesome! Room was amazing!
Ate at the Monneaux restaurant and the food was A+++++++
Only stayed two nights but wish we stayed more. Had to leave at 3.30am to catch a flight and they organised a packed breakfast for us to eat on the road - lovely touch!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheresj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eMalahleni, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2011

A million times thank you for a wonderful and most romantic stay...
The staff was more than helpful with everything, professional in all they do and so friendly, makes you feel at home.
I would encourage everyone for anywhere to treat themselves to a stay of royalty.

Thank you so much.

Regards
Mr & Ms Lees

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zaresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We celebrated my wifes birthday while there and we were treated with really exceptional service by all the staff.We have stayed here before and were disapointed that the quality of the food at the restaurant had gone down somewhat.The food was good but not as good as before.Our suite was great and would be even better with a flat screen TV .Thanks to all the staff for treating us like royalty.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
490 reviews
1.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
2.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
165 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
539 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Property: Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#1 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing