We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'll be back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“I'll be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

I only sent one night but had a most enjoyable stay. The garden and surroundings are beautiful and peacful. The accomodation was great and the service could not have been better. The spa treatment was one of the most enjoyable I have expereinced. Next time I am bringing my husband along an staying in one of the stunning villas, These are just awesome and I could easily spend a week here relaxing and exploring the lovely surrounding areas. It gets a definite "YES" from me!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elize B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    142
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
84
543
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

My husband and I had a truly fantastic weekend in one of the Villas. The villa itself was stunning with ample room and a divine bathroom! The food was heavenly, both dinner and breakfast. All the staff were extra friendly and helpful - they made us feel like VIPs! And last, but certainly not least, our session at the spa was magical - even my husband (who doesn't "do" spa treatments) admitted that he had not felt so relaxed in a long time! Thank you all for a very memorable stay!!!

Room Tip: We had a top floor, 1 bedroom villa - stunning!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EricaDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

My jaw dropped when I entered my beautiful villa. It was more spacious and beautiful than my apartment back home! There was a working gas fireplace that we enjoyed, and we were welcomed by a full fresh fruit basket! The bathroom was enormous with heated floors and lovely lavendar bath products. No detail was overlooked - even the chocolates with turn down service was outstanding.

Breakfast was absolutely incredible. While it was certainly not the largest buffet I've ever seen, it was by far the freshest and best. Quality was absolutely top notch. A hot menu item was also included with our breakfast - I highly recommend the eggs florentine. I faithfully order eggs florentine or benedict just about everywhere and this was the best version I've ever encountered! We tried the attached restaurant for dinner, and thoroughly enjoyed our meal and were blown away by the extremely reasonable prices (a comparable meal in NYC would have cost at least three times as much).

Finally, we LOVED the pair of spotted eagle owls that lived above our balcony and the one opposite ours. We learned that they'd just appeared two weeks prior, but we were absolutely delighted by them! If you will be there soon, keep an eye for these beautiful owls!

The only improvement I would recommend would be to offer free wifi in rooms (however, there was a computer terminal with internet access in a common area that was free of charge).

Room Tip: I quite enjoyed my second floor room (I believe #18) and would choose one again over a first floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crims0ngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

My husband and I are just home from 2 weeks in South Africa and Franschhoek Country house was a beautiful place. We recieved a warm welcome by the manager who personaly escorted us to our beautiful romantic old style room, with private balcony. Service and food were exellent. It was in an ideal location to explore the lovely quaint town of Franschhoek which has plenty of high quality restaurants and amazing scenery. We walked next door through a local vineyard in the morning sunshine where we did a wine tasting. Absolutley brilliant place to stay. Hope to visit again some time in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms are fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Group of ten friends , very comfortable stay .
Celebrated one birthday hotel went out of the way to make it special .
Excellent fine dining. ---ravee

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaveeRm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zhuhai, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

After 6 years of visits to the area, this was by far the loveliest place I have stayed every in the Western Cape area and possibly the nicest place I've ever stayed in my life. Amazing accommodation and staff that just couldn't do enough for you. I can't believe it possible to have a bad stay at this lovely jewel. I'm planning my next trip now, I only wish it could be sooner!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

We stayed in one of the Villas, which featured an entry hall, huge living area with working fireplace and sofabed, large bedroom, large bath, and two large terraces. The country French decor was lovely and appropriate to this Huguenot-historied town, bedding of very good quality, Romantic bath, and the grounds were beautifully landscaped -- including night lighting of the restaurant terrace and water features that was magical. The welcome and service couldn't have been better, and the reception staff was very helpful in arranging rides to restaurants and the town center. The restaurant, Monneaux, was excellent in a town of contenders, and it's a lovely series of spaces with spot-on, but low-key, service. To be objective,I withheld one star of the rating because our room needed a few small tweaks (eg, knobs that came off, a broken ceramic piece of a faucet). In my heart and memory, however, the Villa was a pure 5 - elegant, delightful, comfort to the max.

Room Tip: The villas were well worth the extra $.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoyasaxa3233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
2.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
1.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Property: Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#1 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing