We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Place”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Excellent stay in an excellent room. Specifically the double balconies, and bathrooms.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    143
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
86
555
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed for two nights in late November 2011 as part of a two week vacation. Having arrived late evening with the restaurant closed we opted for room service and enjoyed a truly excellant meal in our beautiful room with views of the gardens and mountains beyond, quite spectacular and very romantic.
Throughout our stay the staff were both proffessional and friendly and nothing appeared to be too much trouble. Our meal in the restaurant the second evening was most enjoyable as was the wine and the breakfast choice outstanding.
Our only hiccup was the vineyard/wine tasting tour which was not as described and very disappointing. However it was dealt with to our total satisfaction and so no real complaint.
I would definately recommend this most charming boutique hotel and although a tad more expensive than some absolutely worth it.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room not looking onto car parking, a pet hate and this was duly noted resulting i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We loved our stay top scores all the way. Regreted we did not stay longer. Bed was comfotabl, room was lovely food was lovely and Franschhoek was quite delightful. Hotel quiet and beautiful Loved it

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malpass51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We stayed here over Christmas in December 2010 as part of our honeymoon. Our room was huge and lovely. The bed was really comfortable and the bathroom was amazing. From our balcony we had a great view of the surrounding mountains.

The breakfasts were great, lots of choice. We ate Christmas lunch in the restaurant, the atmosphere was lovely and the food delicious. In the evening we then ordered room service, which was equally good.

We would definitely recommend visiting the vine yard Grande Provence which is within walking distance of the hotel. The vineyard is beautiful and the wine is fantastic.

We also hired bikes from the hotel as didn't want to drive between the vineyards. Beware Franschhoek is very hilly!! Would definitely recommend La Petite Ferme for food and the vine yard DieuDonne - both on the top of a hill but totally worth the cycling effort to get there!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Croyde78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We went to the hotel to stay for one night, and we regret that because the hotel is so wonderful, that you should stay for at least three nights. It feels like you're on a french movie, the sceneries are romantic (with roses and statues all around) and the service is fantastic! we're definetly going back soon!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

The resort is extremly nice, lots of flowers etc. We had a good diner at the restaurant as well, with some good wines.
We stayed in a suite. The suite is huge and looks very nice. We started to understand why we paid "that" much. Then we actually figured out that we had been upgraded and went to see the room that we actually booked: we would not have stayed in that room (very dark, in a corner, view on a brick wall...), and this would have been very very bad value for money!
So mixed feeling about! The resort is definitely very nice! But the area is nice as well, and it may worth trying somewhere else...

Room Tip: First floor suite have squirrels noise at night, but are very nice. The ones at the south have a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephT06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franschhoek
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Currently staying at this guesthouse, a lovely place. Beautiful rooms in a relaxed country setting. Not in midtown (about half a mile out) but we prefer it as there is more space with beautiful gardens and a complimentary shuttle is available on demand. Excellent restauarant and most of all friendly efficient staff always willing to assist

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
2.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Property: Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#1 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing