We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but needs renovation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice place, but needs renovation!”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Nice place near Franschhoek, extensive property with different room types. First impression very good, on second look this changed to mediocre. The floral arrangement on the premises need a touch-up, the rooms are past their time. They would be awesome once again after a renovation. Make sure to ask for a room away from the road!
The staff were nice and courteous, only during breakfast they stood at the counter nearby chatting loudly. We didn't go to the restaurant, since we got a recommendation last minute (--> Tokara!), but after having lunch there the next day it was definitely a good decision.
We waited for a club sandwich for about 35 mins; the club turned out to be a double club sandwich with fries. This wouldnt annoy me normally, but since it was categorized as 'light snack' it was bit too much. We did get an apology for the delay though.
Conclusion: When in Franschhoek, sleep at a wine farm!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room away from the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prime01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    144
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
88
561
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This hotel is in a stunning setting, with all of the rooms, communal areas and gardens kept in an immaculate condition. As it was our honeymoon they upgraded us to a suite which was amazing! The size of the room was ridiculously huge, with two balconies an enormous bathroom and massive living area.

A couple of small things means that we wouldn't give 5/5 - they offer wifi on a "pay as you go" basis, meaning they subcontracted it to a company. We were unable to connect to the wifi and the helpline given to us by the hotel was no use. Not the end of the world, but in this day and age, I'd pretty much expect free wifi in a 5 star hotel. Also, the speakers in the bathroom and bedroom didn't work. Again, not the end of the world but these little things means that it wasn't perfect. Oh, and they also put salt, rather than sugar, on my husband's pancake! They were terribly embarrassed about it and in the end we just laughed about it.

We ate in their restaurant which was fine, but following some exceptional meals in Cape Town, it wasn't in the same league.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We thought Franschoek was lovely and this hotel is a great place to stay. We had a premium room which was lovely and big but just a little dated for my cup of tea. The restaurant was ace really tasty and the staff were very chatty and keen to ensure our stay was a pleasant one. The sunbeds are funny I'm a slim girl but anyone with a bit more girth would find them precarious at best but if that's the only fault then it's not bad is it? Make sure you pop onto La Motte vinyard it's very pretty!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie98blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Excellent stay in an excellent room. Specifically the double balconies, and bathrooms.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed for two nights in late November 2011 as part of a two week vacation. Having arrived late evening with the restaurant closed we opted for room service and enjoyed a truly excellant meal in our beautiful room with views of the gardens and mountains beyond, quite spectacular and very romantic.
Throughout our stay the staff were both proffessional and friendly and nothing appeared to be too much trouble. Our meal in the restaurant the second evening was most enjoyable as was the wine and the breakfast choice outstanding.
Our only hiccup was the vineyard/wine tasting tour which was not as described and very disappointing. However it was dealt with to our total satisfaction and so no real complaint.
I would definately recommend this most charming boutique hotel and although a tad more expensive than some absolutely worth it.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room not looking onto car parking, a pet hate and this was duly noted resulting i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We loved our stay top scores all the way. Regreted we did not stay longer. Bed was comfotabl, room was lovely food was lovely and Franschhoek was quite delightful. Hotel quiet and beautiful Loved it

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malpass51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We stayed here over Christmas in December 2010 as part of our honeymoon. Our room was huge and lovely. The bed was really comfortable and the bathroom was amazing. From our balcony we had a great view of the surrounding mountains.

The breakfasts were great, lots of choice. We ate Christmas lunch in the restaurant, the atmosphere was lovely and the food delicious. In the evening we then ordered room service, which was equally good.

We would definitely recommend visiting the vine yard Grande Provence which is within walking distance of the hotel. The vineyard is beautiful and the wine is fantastic.

We also hired bikes from the hotel as didn't want to drive between the vineyards. Beware Franschhoek is very hilly!! Would definitely recommend La Petite Ferme for food and the vine yard DieuDonne - both on the top of a hill but totally worth the cycling effort to get there!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Croyde78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
490 reviews
1.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
2.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
165 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
539 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Property: Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#1 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing