We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We had a phenomenal stay in one of the villas. The accomodation is superb - very comfortable and spacious and tastefully decorated. Little touches like the sound system in every room made it even better. The food at the restaurant was phenomenal. Most importantly however, the service was impeccable. The hotel staff were polite, friendly and helpful. They helped us organise anything that we asked for and always did everything with a smile. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PGfromJozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (818)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 818 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2012

We had a very spacious double room for the four of us which was nicely decorated and very comfortable. The service was perfect and everything up to the expectations. Staff are very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcilloniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed in a really spacious villa for 3 nights between Christmas and New Year. There is a definite French feel to the whole place with fabulous views from the pool. The food was excellent and the wine list extensive.
The staff were helpful and always happy to drive us to and from town - no timetable for the shuttle bus which made things a lot more flexible.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank Moira101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

A 4 night stay was simply heavan in a beautiful town but this gusthouse was just outstanding. All the comforts needed (we stayed in a Standard room) with beautiful decor, not over the top. We had a look at the suites for our next visit and although expensive they are out of this world

What made this place so good was the service from the staff, always willing to assist and a great restaurant. They also have a very useful free transfer service into town so going out for dinner is very convenient if you dont want to drive

We would not hesitate to recommend it and will definitely be back

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jasonjfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights over Christmas. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to a Villa on our arrival, which was truly luxurious and extremely spacious. Drinks service around the pool was very efficient. The hotel also had a courtesy bus to take or pick you up from town (about a mile away). We had dinner in the award winning hotel restaurant one evening which was lovely, as were the breakfasts. Would happily have stayed longer and would definitely go back there!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 100barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Nice place near Franschhoek, extensive property with different room types. First impression very good, on second look this changed to mediocre. The floral arrangement on the premises need a touch-up, the rooms are past their time. They would be awesome once again after a renovation. Make sure to ask for a room away from the road!
The staff were nice and courteous, only during breakfast they stood at the counter nearby chatting loudly. We didn't go to the restaurant, since we got a recommendation last minute (--> Tokara!), but after having lunch there the next day it was definitely a good decision.
We waited for a club sandwich for about 35 mins; the club turned out to be a double club sandwich with fries. This wouldnt annoy me normally, but since it was categorized as 'light snack' it was bit too much. We did get an apology for the delay though.
Conclusion: When in Franschhoek, sleep at a wine farm!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room away from the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prime01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This hotel is in a stunning setting, with all of the rooms, communal areas and gardens kept in an immaculate condition. As it was our honeymoon they upgraded us to a suite which was amazing! The size of the room was ridiculously huge, with two balconies an enormous bathroom and massive living area.

A couple of small things means that we wouldn't give 5/5 - they offer wifi on a "pay as you go" basis, meaning they subcontracted it to a company. We were unable to connect to the wifi and the helpline given to us by the hotel was no use. Not the end of the world, but in this day and age, I'd pretty much expect free wifi in a 5 star hotel. Also, the speakers in the bathroom and bedroom didn't work. Again, not the end of the world but these little things means that it wasn't perfect. Oh, and they also put salt, rather than sugar, on my husband's pancake! They were terribly embarrassed about it and in the end we just laughed about it.

We ate in their restaurant which was fine, but following some exceptional meals in Cape Town, it wasn't in the same league.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Lindsay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
670 reviews
1.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
1.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
504 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
535 reviews
1.2 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#1 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: £216 - £501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing