We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant, restful and quality stay in Franschoek”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We have stayed at this boutique hotel on numerous occassions and can absolutely reccommend it. The spacious and beautifully decorated French style suites, give an air of luxury and total relaxation. The breakfast is out of this world and dinner equally sumptious. The service is impeccable - a must stay. It is in the heart of this wonderful wine country and in this old interesting town one always finds interesting goods to purchase. A wonderful and beautiful place to stay during a Cape visit.

Room Tip: The Villas on the top floor are quiet and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannetjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

579 - 585 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

This hotel has a lot of things going for it. It's beautifully decorated, inside and out, with lovely gardens and an intimate bungalow-type atmosphere. Its scale is small and personal rather than the impersonal style of many large hotels. Its staff is super friendly and its restaurant offers interesting fare. But there are also downsides. We rented a luxury room, which had a semi-private terrace, which was welcome. But two of the overhead lights in the room didn't work, something that should have been carefully checked out by the staff before renting the room. And even when the lights were promptly fixed, there was not enough light and we had to ask for an additional lamp, which a staff member added with little delay. The safe in the closet was at floor level, which meant that you had to go down on your knees to use it. There was a TV in the room but you couldn't see it from the bed, because the foot of the bed was too high. The couch was old and soiled. These are details that matter and they are not worthy of a five star hotel. Another downside was the hotel's location, which was about a mile from Franschhoek, meaning that we used our car, which we would rather not do. In fairness it should be noted that the hotel offers a free shuttle service to the town. On the whole the advantages of the hotel, which were substantial, were partially offset by its disadvantages.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazzole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPS101, Owner at Franschhoek Country House & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Thank you for the feedback on your stay. We value the constructive feedback on how we can improve and where possible will be taking these into consideration. We are however happy to see that you enjoyed your overall stay and that the staff, grounds and restaurant was to your liking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Two nights in Franschhoek. or the Wine Country in general, is not enough! This was my second stay at FCH, and over the last 9 years, they have added several villas,as well as TVs, etc. It was more expensive, even considering inflation, but the entire area has been flourishing and commands higher prices. We were located over the restaurant in the original country house, however the opposite end from where i was before. Surprisingly we didn't have any noise issues, perhaps since the restaurant close at 10pm, and there is no late nite "bar". There are limited electrical sockets, and we did have some issues with the power in the entire hotel going out (while i was in the shower-ugh!). I would also recommend a full size mirror with an electrical socket close enough for the ladies to stand to do their hair. The little verandas overlooking the garden are charming, if only we had more time to enjoy. The breakfasts were lovely, and plentiful, and you could order your own individual egg or pancake dish - a great start to a day of wine tasting. The shops in town are close as are the wineries, but you do need a car which we had. The hotel could use a wee bit of sprucing, a little paint here and there, but my comrades enjoyed it, the location is fabulous, and the grounds lovely. We were a bit disappointed that their 'free shuttle within town', was actually not free for our short jaunt to the restaurant at LaMotte Winery, especially when we had already eaten at Monneaux the nite before. Overall I would still recommend the FCH.

Room Tip: i suspect the "newer" villas may have different amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mzungu f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPS101, Owner at Franschhoek Country House & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

We are delighted to hear that these guests enjoyed their stay and the comments on the improvements since their last stay. We also value the constructive feedback which will be taken into account when our rooms are refurbished periodically.

A note on the shuttle service - it is complimentary to town and the immediate surroundings but we do charge a small fee for areas further afield.

We look forward to welcoming the reviewer again and thank them for their support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

can't fault this hotel. good food, wonderful service, excellent rooms, pretty spot, two pools. thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nellynelly333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed at the boutique country house on the recommendation of our travel agent, and told we would not be disappointed - how true. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel very much at home, our room was large and beautifully furnished. The grounds with two swimming polls we found a great place to relax. Breakfast on the balcony overlooking the complex was a real treat, breakfast itself, was excellent.
AJM Nottingham

Room Tip: Plenty of space to enjoy with at least two reading rooms and very close to the centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TWLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Stayed just the one night and not long enough. Great views and surroundings, brings you back in time to the 19th century and very quaint indeed. The staff were so helpful especially the lady at reception with her friendly smile and being ever so helpful. We were shown around the gardens and to our room with all the information about the hotel. The room is very nice and comfortable with all the added extras. Check in and check with ease. As to wireless Internet, there is a main pc near the library area, and as to wifi for smartphones, each device is allocated with 200mb of usage, which is more than enough for checking emails and keeping in touch with family and friends. The overall stay and experience is excellent, and the town is pleasant with enough restaurants and cages for a bite to eat. Highly recommended and would definitely stay here next time and of course, for more than one night!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

A very good two night stay at this excellent boutique hotel for a family of four in one of the very large villa suites. The staff couldn't do enough...including providing a car to take you into town (centre about 1 mile away) and surrounds...Franschhoek valley is very beautiful and we cannot wait to return and sample more wines. The only slight grumble was that the mattress for the sofa bed for the kids sank in the middle...but strategically placed pillows sorted that out!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
692 reviews
1.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
183 reviews
1.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
507 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
550 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#1 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: £199 - £494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing