We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Came here with my 2 children.The location was good and easy to find.The welcome was lovely with Easter eggs and gifts for the children.We were upgraded to a fantasic suite which was very spacious and tastefully decorated.Good choice of DVDs to borrow for free which was handy as the weather wasn't great.The front desk arranged an enjoyable wine tour and horseriding for us.The restaurant was great..especially the gourmet tasting menu....yum.Next door restaurant also good and family friendly.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

566 - 572 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

Great location, easy to find on outskirts of town. Directly on main road but no indication of that once at the property and no road noise. Very spacious room with all the usual facilities. Breakfast superb with a great buffet. Dinner good but given the quality of restaurants in the area probably better places to eat elsewhere and hotel will organize bookings and transfers to and from location. Beautiful grounds with two pools at different temperatures. Staff all very pleasant and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz53London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Truly enjoyed our 2 night stay, treated like royalty from the moment we arrived, room had a wonderful old world feel, breakfast was very good especially the omlettes!

Very relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The Country House was a jewel set in a wonderful location of rugged peaks and slopes covered in vines which produced gorgeous wines. A half day tour was perfect for us and the Glenwood Estate a special place. The hotel facilities were excellent with spacious and well appointed rooms, lovely pools and sunbathing areas, great breakfasts. We only had one lunch and although quiet the service was slow and surly but that was the only complaint. The Italian restaurant next door was a delight. We would certainly return.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the upper villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The room was ok. We had the smallest room though, to be fair. The food was good. The spa was so great. I was very impressed and surprised. I had a massage with Anne-Marie ( I think that was her name) and she was very good. I had sunburn and she took special care. We also had a full day wine tour and enjoyed it very much! Incredibly beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

An outstanding place to stay - spacious villas, well appointed, helpful staff, beautiful gardens and a great restaurant (try the tasting menu!). One of the highlights of our trip to South Africa!

Room Tip: The villas are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

What a magnificent place! We (three couples from Southern California) all had a wonderful time. The rooms were spacious, the staff wonderful and the food outstanding. There was not one thing we would have changed. Book this place.

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
694 reviews
1.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
183 reviews
1.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
507 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
551 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#1 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: £200 - £496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing