We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Soul Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Soul Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Perfect setting, fantastic smiling service, beautiful rooms. I don't think I could ask for any more than this hotel provides. The room was perfect - the bed very comfortable and proper thick towels. The bathroom was every persons dream. The setting of this hotel cannot be improved - with the winelands all around and beautiful gardens. Nothing is too much trouble and the setting for breakfast is real soul food.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Baroness V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    142
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
84
543
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carshalton, Surrey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this wonderful hotel for 5 nights and personally could not fault the friendly and attentive staff, who went out of their way to make our stay a most memorable time.

Our room (deluxe room number 2) had for us the wow factor with a fantastic balcony which gave us fantastic panoramic views across the countryside. The room itself was of good size with a relaxed French country look.

The services provided at this hotel include breakfast, (wonderful pancakes) and variety of fruits, cereals and pastries, complimentary shuttle to town or local restaurants (Alistair's commentary en route very helpful), customer services at reception will arrange tour companies as required all very excellent standard. Nothing is too much trouble for any staff member at this hotel.

If snacking at the hotel is your choice, can recommend, the butternut soup, washed down with an iced French vanilla mocha coffee made to perfection.

The hotel has two swimming pools, ( 1 heated, 1 cold) my wife swam in the heated pool despite a cooling breeze exhilarating.

The spa facilities albeit on site would be my only recommendation for improvement, the location and room not really conducive to full relaxation, the massage room lacked a relaxing ambience.

The hotel' s own restaurant 'Monneaux' has an award winning reputation, and although the food and wine were exceptional, the menu is limited. Complimentary shuttle from the hotel is available to other restaurants, so don't feel you need to eat every night at the same restaurant as they promote each other's. Can recommend Roca for good food and wine but also book around sunset for some amazing views. For midday snacks try The Famous Franschhoek Pancake House to get your taste buds working. Light fluffy pancakes with numerous choice of savoury and dessert fillings.

A gem of a hotel that allows you to truly relax.

Top tip: suggest visiting Cape Town first then Franschhoek.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ThePresident1067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights here on a fabulous trip. Beautiful location, very very helpful friendly staff Natalie, Alistair and Nick to name three. Lovely comfortable room. Loved the touches if a bottle of water and delicious chocolate plus a turned down bed and hot water bottle. The surroundings are beautiful, calm and relaxing, breakfast is lovely and beautifully presented. Would happily stay here again perhaps for longer next time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paters2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a great few days in this hotel. We'd booked a Luxury room and were shown to room 14, which was big with great views over the front garden and pool area from the balcony. The few spring days we stayed were a little chilly so it was great to have a fire place to keep us warm in the evenings. Breakfast was nice and the restaurant on site serves wonderful food, though the room service wasn't quite up to the same standard. The staff were all very friendly and couldn't do enough to help us. There were a couple of small niggles, like the underfloor heating not working in the room for instance, but this was not enough to detract from a thoroughly enjoyable stay, though it was enough to knock a star off the score (especially as we did mention it to staff after the first night and it was not sorted or acknowledged that there was an issue). Despite this we would consider staying here again.

Its worth noting, for those expecting luxuriant surroundings, that the hotel has a deliberate slight 'shabby chic' French style which personally I enjoyed but may not be to everyone's taste.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I cannot say enough on how great this staff is. LIZEL was amazing on customer service. She spent all day helping us track down some masks we had bought in Cape Town. She didn't need to do this for us, but she did and it made her amazing!

The staff around the hotel was also super friendly and helpful.

The resturant at the hotel was very good too!

Room Tip: I would ask when making reservations for a king/queen bed. We had two twin beds put together. I pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jodus20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed only one night but, it was lovely. The weather was cold and rainy but inside there was a fireplace in our room which we had lit and it immediately took the chill off. The staff were very welcoming and warm too. We took dinner in the on-site dining room but chose to have cocktails in the adjacent bar lounge. For some reason our waiter seemed anxious to get us out of the lounge and seated a little faster than we wanted and it really wasn't that late in the evening - maybe 7:30. In any event, the meal was tasty. Next day at breakfast, it was as if all the guests woke and arrived at the same time in the breakfast area. There was plenty of seating but, the espresso machine was acting up and, for some reason, most of the staff were huddled around watching the repairs and not watching the guests so we had to flag down someone to take our order. Apart from these two minor bumps, we had a very nice visit and would recommend it to friends and family. Oh, and the hot water bottle (in it's own cozy) that we found placed under the covers at the foot of our bed when we went to sleep was perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFO-YYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We spent three nights here while exploring the wine lands. It was a highlight of our entire trip to South Africa! The room was fantastic with the fireplace and hot water bottles!! The staff was friendly and gave outstanding service. We had dinner at the Inn all three evenings. We were so impressed with the food and atmosphere, we decided why go elsewhere?!! We would definitely recommend this property to friends!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dpwash3424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
2.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
1.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Property: Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#1 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing