We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent top quality and soooo beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent top quality and soooo beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Excellent
An absolute YES. Beautiful rooms, lovely gardens, top service.
The pictures show only the visual part, I was astounded by the real beauty and the hospitality.
I will go here again at the first opportunity.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    142
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
84
543
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
134 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

If you ever want to feel like a French lady, an Italian film star or European royalty, you need to book at night at Franschhoek Country House and Villas. This 5-star hotel, situated at the entrance of the picturesque town of Franschhoek, offers all the romance and special moments you would expect from such a great setting.

At arrival we knew that this was going to be an exceptional stay. After being welcome we were taken on a guided tour by Ben who also showed us to our suite. The villas and rooms are spread out in the beautiful gardens filled with white roses and huge pots full of oranges. I could not decide if it reminded me more of France or Italy.

France, however, came to mind when we entered our villa! Classic paintings in huge gold ornamental frames, rich coloured carpets, plush furniture and a large veranda to read your book in the early morning sun.

It is also all the unusual extras which makes the stay here so memorable – scrumptious fruit bowl, home made chocolates, underfloor heating, surround sound (even in the bathroom) complete with a very collectible CD music collection.

Our villa had a living room area, of which the couch was converted into a bed for our son and a large master bedroom. All the rooms have huge doors opening out on the veranda. Our visit was during summer but I can just imagine how stunning it must be when it is cold and wet outside and you sip wine in front of the fireplace in the living room.

We appreciated the weather because we had the opportunity to relax in the two outdoor pools – one hot and one cold. Set on a huge lawn with stunning views over the mountains it offered the perfect spot to spend our Saturday.

The hotel is close enough from Franschhoek to walk to town but far enough to make you feel that you find yourself deep in the countryside with glorious vistas over the rows of mountains. We did venture into town. We were lucky to see the local carnival group parading through the streets. Were also pleasantly surprised by the small local farmers market, where we had some of the best market food. I can recommend the freshly made Thai food (they also sell the best brownies here) and the stall next to them who sells the best vegetarian salads! You will also find some good and very affordable local wines here.

Make sure that you have breakfast at the hotel! We loved the huge table filled with all sorts of nice goodies – bowls with decadent fresh fruit, pastries, huge collection of cheeses and plates filled with salmon and cold meat cuts. But keep some space for the hot breakfast! We ate the things real stars would choose – the Egg Benedict was creamy delicious and the pancakes with cream and sauteed banana melted in my mouth (at this stage you cannot think about the diet!!) .
We would like to thank all the staff and management for a great stay. The only negative comment I have to make was that we ended up being very sad – because we had to leave!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moniquestrydom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed in November 13 as part of a 2 week trip. The staff could not do enough for us including providing welcoming drinks. It felt like we were the only ones around even though there were more suites in the complex. The suite was very spacious and clean and the restaurant food was exquisite as was the wine which you would expect. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skeddie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

The staff were very welcoming. Drinks of our choice and champagne were delivered to our room on arrival.

We are a young professional couple who have stayed in many hotels, but this one was definitely a league above many. The rooms were absolutely amazing, spacious, well decorated and underfloor heating throughout. The balcony was lovely and quiet with great view. For Dinner we chose the tasting menu which was nice, not excellent. The breakfast however was really amazing. Location is fantastic for wine tasting.

I would 100% return to this hotel and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

What a great spot this is with great rooms, food, service etc. It is not in the middle of town, but the staff will drive you in & out of town if you want to leave the car behind. The staff are exceptionally friendly and really create a wonderful atmosphere. There is a lovely pool area, set in a delightful setting and we had a good meal in their restaurant. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d_jones25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Echo the other positive reviewers. The hotel is located in s asmall country estate about a mile outside of Franschoek. You can safely walk there in about 15-20 minutes, but the hotel also offers a reliable shuttle service. Couldn't fault the food or service, and loved the spacious grounds. Our "luxury room" was very spacious, with high quality furnishings in French style. The hotel organized a wine tasting tour for us. Our guide, Reagan, phone number 082 373 0260, was both knowledgable and charming.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tony10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We liked staying at Franschhoek Country House. The property is beautiful as are the rooms. I'm not sure why a romantic property like this would have two double beds in the room, but the hotel installed a mattress converter when we asked. The location is good. You can easily walk into town in about 15-20 minutes, though there is also a complementarity shuttle for guest use. Service is wonderful, though I never did get the adaptor I requested. What we didn't like: the restaurant was awful. The food was bad and the service was very poor. Breakfast is fine, dinner is not. We ordered different things at dinner and both of us were very disappointed. Butterfly shrimp came battered and fried on a bed of wilted greens; the gnocchi were soggy little bundles of mashed potatoes. So disappointing! Service was too slow. I don't mind relaxed service while on vacation but this was very sub-par. We did like the wine selections, however. Again, I really liked the property, room and staff but I will try someplace new next time I visit Franschhoek.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noelle75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
2.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
1.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Property: Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#1 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing