We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the Franschhoek Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is a well appointed, charming place with great finishes. The villas are very spacious.We spent two nights in one of the villas enroute to Robertson.There was enough room for a family of 4. The Dining room offers such a wide variety of food that most of it is grown in the areas. The dining area is huge and gives you a great view of the outdoors.The staff is very friendly and professional. The Spa has great treatments and worth a visit.

Room Tip: The Franschhoek Valley can be extremely hot in summer, so make sure you bring along lots of sunscree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwaziQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (818)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 818 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

We spent three nights here, in a Villa, with friends who also stayed in a Villa during a two week trip to Cape Town. We spent the rest of the time at the Mount Nelson Hotel, two totally different experiences! The Franschhoek Country House and Villas is a beautiful, charming small hotel with huge comfortable rooms and the most helpful, courteous staff. The views are stunning and the grounds are delightful and very peaceful. We used the courtesy transport into the town centre, which always seemed to be available and we never waited for more than ten minutes to be collected on our return. We ate twice in the restaurant, although we had only planned to eat there once but the food was so good, probably some of the best cooking in the Cape, that we had to go back a second time. This is not a large, noisy, glitzy hotel and if that's what you're looking for then it's not for you but if you want the most restful, relaxing stay in beautiful surroundings and with delightful staff then book now!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papafour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed here on honeymoon recently and we just had such a fantastic time. The hotel is extremely well appointed, the food both at breakfast and dinner in the restaurant was the best we had in any of the hotels we stayed in. The pool was well kept with great service from the waiter on duty. The quality of the spa treatments was very high. The rooms are really lovely and very comfortable. I would have no reservations about recommending this hotel. Hopefully we'll be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed two nights here .Wonderful charm and elegance in a country house type hotel with delightful flower filled fragrant gardens with fountains ,lovely relaxing pool area, and friendly and helpful staff .Pleasant lounges with roaring fires depending on the season .Large rooms and bathrooms.
Breakfasts plentiful and delicious, and potential to eat outdoors on the balcony .
We ate one evening at the restaurant and tried the tasting menu... delicious food though the ambience was slightly formal rather than romantic
The hotel is a little way out of the village but a complimentary private shuttle was available whenever we requested it which was really useful.
Free wi fi.
Really enjoyed our short stay .

Room Tip: Room 12 did not have a balcony .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elainegwasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Loved the small town of Franschhoek and the Country House and Villas. We had a delightful stay at these villas with our group. We enjoyed the fabulous breakfast every morning, the relaxing pool area and the great service we received from the staff we encountered. The rooms are wonderfully decorated and comfortable. Very clean and maintained well. The shuttle service into town was unexpected and enjoyed by all. I would definitely recommend this location to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puppies52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Ideal location in a pretty town. Traditionally decorated, and good standard of room. Beautiful gardens. 2 swimming pools, one heated, with excellent touches like ice available to sunbathers to help themselves, as well as chilled face cloths. Shuttle service provided if we didn't fancy eating at the hotel, free of charge. Very helpful staff. All in all, a super experience, and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sutties2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Fantastic place to stay, we had a suite which was lovely. All the staff were very good and nothing was to much trouble. Restaurant was good but would not rank it one of the best in SA
Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peaky186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
670 reviews
1.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
1.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
504 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
535 reviews
1.2 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#1 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: £216 - £501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing