We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the coziest hotel we have ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had such a pleasant time at our one night stay at this beautiful country house villa. The manager, Ben, was on top of everything! He was very kind and informative, offering to follow up on our dinner reservations, and organizing the shuttle to and from the restaurant we went to. In addition, I had an important fax that needed to be sent overseas that morning. Liza, the receptionist, initially could not get the fax to go through, but called me later to confirm that I the fax had indeed been set. The service here is top notch. On our departure, we only had a small window of time to visit the wineries. Ben was kind enough to point out which wineries would most interest us. Thank you very much!

Room Tip: I imagine that all of the rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (845)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 845 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

Large well appointed room with outside seating area overlooking attractive grounds with swimming pool. Attentive service and good choice for breakfast. Short walk into the village centre for shops and restaurants. Ate in the restaurant one evening - good food but rather amateurish service and no atmosphere.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ocho_Pinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This hotel clearly deserves it's high TA ranking. It was our first stop after 4 nights in Cape Town and their superbly spacious rooms were a real treat, especially for a couple such as us where I often get up an hour before my wife, and having an extra room enables me to read and have a coffee without disturbing. Everything in the room was of high quality with double sinks, large shower plus bath in a very spacious bathroom.
The hotel is at the far end of town, so the courtesy bus to take us into town or anywhere near was fantastically helpful and ran up to 11pm.
The breakfast location was first floor with a lovely far reaching view over the mountains beyond. The breakfast quality was also excellent, with the cooked part being made to order and beautifully presented.
we enjoyed the experience of two outdoor pools, one of which was heated.
My only slight gripe is that we were only given limited free WiFi access. This was the only hotel on our Garden Route trip that felt it necessary to limit usage in this way.
The staff were all great and overall, a great hotel and one to which we would return.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank robinjn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Our room was located between Monneaux restaurant (read my review) and the pool, with lovely views of the garden. It was comfortable and pleasantly decorated. Staff informed us that crickets might become unwanted guests by jumping through the windows, though this could easily be remedied by placing mesh screens over the windows! The bathroom was spacious and modern. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially the front desk, making good restaurant recommendations and all reservations for us. Visiting town was conveniently done using the hotel free shuttle. A charming place we hope to visit again soon.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Henri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We arrived tired from a long drive and were shown to our room by a really pleasant member of staff and wow we immediately cheered up. The room was fantastic well it is actually a small apartment really. The evening meal was of a standard we cannot recommend high enough and breakfast was first class too. Nothing seems to be out of place it is truly a wonderful experience. For sure you get what you pay for but the cost is well worth the experience - go enjoy

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Randancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We loved our two nights here in February. Lovely room, friendly helpful staff, wonderful gardens, with two pools one of which was heated. We did not dine in the restaurant but had excellent room service meals. The breakfast was wonderful with a huge choice of lovely food plus a cooked option. The hotel is not in the center of Franschhoek but any time we wanted to go there the hotel mini bus took us and we only had to phone up for them to collect us again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cloudlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Two nights only should of been two weeks ....from the moment we pulled into the car park we realised this was going to be special !
You would never get this service in the UK, faultless .
Staff ,room ,swimming pools ,meals , views, hotel services better then any five star hotel in the Uk.
Next time we will stay longer .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
715 reviews
1.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
193 reviews
1.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
513 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
556 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#1 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: £208 - £539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing