We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Wine Country”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here in a Villa for three night after CapeTown. The room was very spacious and well appointed, very comfortable.
The bathroom is as large as some hotel bedrooms, very luxurious.
The Villas are set in a beautiful garden with lemons everywhere.
Could not fault the restaurant so we ate there for all meals.
The only down side was that there was no bar staff at times to make a daiquiri but if that is really nothing to complain about.
Took a private car tour of the area and wineries was we would recommend.

Room Tip: Book the Villas for a bit more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anzaceve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed four nights at the Country House and Villas in Franschhoek. We enjoyed a ground floor villa which was beyond our expectation, large and well appointed. The staff made our every wish or need a priority making the service exceptional. We found the restaurant to be of the finest caliber with a well trained wait staff, food beautifully presented and extremely delicious. The grounds and location are wonderful, we were able to walk into the village as it is quite close although they provide a shuttle to and from the village. We plan to return to this beautiful place!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had three rooms at Franschhoek Country House and Villa...all with amazing views. Excellent location out of the bustle of downtown but still a beautiful easy stroll to the stores and restaurants. All three accomodations were fantastic. One room had a balcony overlooking the pool. The best room was a two room suite which was HUGE in the villa section. All the rooms were exceptionally clean and comfy. We arrived early so the concierge set up our lunch reservation in town. However, the restaurant on site was much better. We ate there for dinner and loved it. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatLei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The Franschhoek Country House and Villas are magnificent. We were lucky enough to stay in one of the villas. It is everything and more than we expected from luxury accommodation. From the moment that you step into the hotel, you are greeted with warm friendly smiles. The property is gorgeous...every detail has been thought through, right to the fresh lemons adorning the large urns placed around the beautifully manicured gardens and pathways... there are fountains everywhere and the sound of water floats soothingly around the property. A very French country theme. The villas are beautifully decorated with an exquisite bathroom and a bath that is the ultimate in luxury. Heated floors through out ,a huge four poster bed that has absolutely the very best sheets and comfortable pillows, a separate lounge and small dining table adorned with a complimentary bowl of fruit, a coffee station with all the necessaries... I just thought that adding some biscotti or rusks would have been a nice touch for the mornings...beautiful drapes and finishings...Lovely gas fire for the cold nights... this is definitely a place to visit during the cold winter months in Cape Town..Then there is a very substantial free breakfast included in the room rate... continental and hot English.. I would definitely go back there again. The lounges in the hotel are also beautifully decorated and have roaring fires going during the winter. This is the best hotel that I have stayed in in Franschhoek so far.Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefanieCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We could not fault our stay at this well presented establishment. The venue,friendly staff, services and restaurant were all very good. The hotel is well located,not far from Franschhoek centre. The swimming pool and garden areas were well presented.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gowercoast1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed in Country House & Villas as the second stop on our honeymoon from 31st March - 3rd April. We stayed in one of the garden cottages which is close to the restaurant Monneaux. The cottage was split over two levels and had a bedroom and bathroom downstairs and a living room with two sofas and a balcony upstairs.

The cottage was the largest room we stayed in on our honeymoon and had a great view over the vineyards from the upstairs balcony where you could see the Wine Tram trundle past and wave every evening!

The cottage was a little tired in its decor, other-wise this would have been a 5 star review. The carpets in particular were shiny and had lost all of their bounce and the outside looked like the cottages themselves could do with a paint.

Other than that the staff were great, we ate in Monneaux on our first night which was tremendous and the breakfasts were first rate. They had a large buffet table laid out and you could also get cooked breakfasts from the menu.

The hotel itself is a little outside of Franschhoek and the hotel advised we didn't walk, but they do have a handy free shuttle service that will come and pick you up from wherever you are in Franschhoek. It seems well organised with most places knwoing the drill, ringing the hotel to come and collect you.

Overall, it was a good stay just a little short of 5 stars but not by much.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D81504 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Spent the last night in South Africa at this lovely boutique hotel in Franschhoek. This is a great hotel with lots of amenities - hot and cold swimming pool, spa, restaurant, etc. When we checked in, the manager upgraded us from a luxury room to a villa and the villas are spectacular - spacious living room with a fireplace, large bedroom, huge bathroom with a tub and shower and an outdoor patio. We spent a relaxing time at the pool and the service at the pool was very good. Ate breakfast and the selections of hot and cold food was great!. The staff was very attentive and quick to help with all our requests or questions. It's about a 15 minute walk from the hotel into the town, but we enjoyed the paved walkway getting there. I would highly recommend this hotel if staying in the Franschhoek area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
670 reviews
1.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
1.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
504 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
537 reviews
1.2 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#1 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: £216 - £503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing