We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
188 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Magnificent Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Our tour company booked our family of 19 here for one night. Everybody wanted to just stay here! Suites are lovely, ambience is very appealing, and the way our family was assigned rooms was especially well-done. Breakfast was yummy and buffet was a beautiful spread. Dinner in their newly decorated dining room was excellent and at approx. $20 per person including wine, tax and tip was a real value. For summer travelers, the pool looked very inviting. A very gracious and lovely place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conmassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    143
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
86
549
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay tremendously. Our villa was spacious and beautiful. We were sad to have stayed for only two days. We enjoyed dinner one evening in the wine cellar...What an unexpected treat! The food was delicious and the ambiance was like no other. We would love to go back someday soon and would definitely stay in Franschhoek Country Inn and Villas. The views from our villa and throughout the property were breathtaking.

We would recommend you stay and experience for yourself.

Mia D.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinot R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new hampshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here one night, and were upgraded to a room/suite. The rooms/suites are in individual small 'cottages'- very quaint. There was supposed to be free wifi, and we were given the password, but couldn't get it to work. The room was nice- queen size comfortable bed, good views, huge newly renovated bathroom (the shower did leak enough to flood the floor). The only odd thing was the sitting area upstairs- this would probably be great if you were staying longer, but it was a bit cold upstairs. We did sit up there with a bottle of wine. We decide to have dinner here rather than drive into town. Because of renovations, dinner was served in the cellar - we loved the ambiance of it- the food was good, nothing special, but good. Breakfast the next morning was absolutely amazing- huge fruit/cheese/bread/juice table, and the choices for the 'hot' selection were incredible. The grounds of the house are gorgeous, and in better weather would have been spectacular. The town of Franschoek itself is only about a 5-6 minute drive away, and is very quaint with many restaurants and upscale souvenir shops.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Every winter my wife a I look for a nice quiet place to spend a long weekend that is not to far from Cape Town and is close to good eateries, and must accommodate a small child. We always seem to land up in Franschhoek as it ticks all the boxes.

This time we decided to spend a little more than we would would usually spend on a weekend, knowing that this place is at the top end of the scale. We were not disappointed with the money we spent on a Villa Suite. It came with a large bedroom with ensuite bathroom, spacious lounge and private balcony. In fact it was living in a small house. As it was winter, the fireplace went down exceptionally well.

The views from all the rooms were fantastic, from vineyards to mountains. The staff were very attentive, polite and efficient, but not intrusive. Due to the severe weather and having to accommodate a little child we decided to eat on the premises. The first night in our villa and the second at the restaurant. The food was fantastic and they made a special effort to accommodate the palate of a four year old. There was no difference in the great quality of the food that was served to the room to that of the dining room. Breakfast we equally good and something to look forward to each morning.

They have a shuttle service to town which was five minutes away, which makes wine tasting a pleasure as you don't need to drive afterwards. We will definitely be back, maybe trying it in the summer.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank chriskCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I was treated to a weekend stay here for the Bastille weekend. Beautiful, luxurious hotel, we stayed in one of the villa suites which are very private and spacious. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Country House is set on the edge of town just off the main road. The courtyard has a central water fountain and great views of the surrounding mountains. The rooms are built around this central court yard. The rooms are quite elegant and tasteful. The entry way opens into a living room with a beautiful couch set in front of the fireplace. The living room is a great place to curl up in front of the fire and have a glass of wine. The beds are large, king beds and look out into the courtyard. The style feels very much like an English country house. The only downside to the rooms is that the bedrooms look out into the courtyard and don't feel very private. There is a balcony you can walk out to from the bedroom, but wearing your bathrobe in a public area may not be everybody's first choice.

The food was decent. It was well thought out for the wine pairings, but did not carry a lot of gusto on its own. Also, the wine pairing at dinner got a B- in my book. We had 4 different wines. Two were very tasty, one was okay, and one was flat out terrible. I'm definitely not picky with my wine, so for me to call a wine bad really means something. The bad wine didn't even blend well with its meal pairing. It was paired with the main course, which made the choice all the more noticeable. Overall, I give the dinner experience a 6 out of 10. Breakfast was a very tasty, healthy spread. That gets an 8/10.

The staff at the Country House are very friendly with the exception of the manager who showed us our rooms. He was in a huge rush and made the welcome procedure feel like a burden. This is really a minor critique though. The rest of the staff made us feel welcome and comfortable. Their responses to requests were on point and timely. I was impressed with them as a group.

Overall, this is a great place for a weekend get away or out-of-towners to get a feel for the South African wine country.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGO83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Villa Suites - perfect setting if you want to spend quality time, whether as a couple or family.
My Dad and Mom stayed in another Villa. Due to the separate lounge and patio in each villa we could chat away and still feel like we're on holiday.

Room Tip: Villa Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liezel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
2.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Property: Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#1 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing