We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointing wedding night ... and it wasn't because of the groom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
159 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“disappointing wedding night ... and it wasn't because of the groom”
Reviewed 25 April 2009

We checked into a beautiful suite for wedding prep was underway with hair, make-up and photos to be carried out at this exquisite location chosen for its picture perfect setting and spacious room. The photo opps were obvious and the hosts graciously allowed us to use their exquisite gardens for these. The beautifully appointed suite was super large, very comforable and the staff attentive. However, as day turned into night the level of service started to slip, and so one started to question why the 5-star rating at 5-star prices? We returned from our wedding to find that the bottled water had not been replenished nor was there any next to the bed. We resorted to tepid tap water during the night. What appeared to be a king-size bed at first glance was infact 2 single mattresses pushed together with a wide expanse of linen used to hide this fact. We won't mention the uncomfortable ridge in the middle as this was obviously an unpleasant surprise as were the tacky gaps of wooden slats showing on either side of the base. For a wedding night ... 2 single mattresses just won't do - and certainly not at the prices they charge! The toilet had stopped working during the course of the day, and no staff had noticed this, reported it or bothered to see to it before our return. This was highly inconvenient as it meant stealing out at 5am in search of a working loo! The final straw was probably the 6am wake up from clanking cuttlery just outside the window as the staff set up for breakfast. So we packed up and checked out by 8am realising that going home was a better option. We were only made to pay the 50% deposit, but I do ask how come we should have paid anything at all? they spoiled our wedding night for us ... which is rather a pity.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisylu2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    143
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
86
554
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Purley on Thames, Berkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2009

The setting, views, gardens, pools, villa suite; breakfast were all superb but wish we had booked the best restaurants (Reubens; Tasting Room) before our arrival. We missed out on Reubens because the staff at the hotel (we made the mistake of going to the wrong entrance) either didn't understand our request/couldn't be bothered/forgot to phone (Reubens had a free table which had to be booked by the hotel). We ate at the hotel the first night and the presentation of the food was terrible and certainly wasn't 'award winning' standard (suggest the chef goes to Buitenverwachting in Constantia or Ginga in Cape Town to see how it should be done). We asked to be booked into Reubens or The Tasting Room - or any of the other 'great' restaurants in the area for our second night and ended up at Dieu Donne which was another 'average' restaurant. All in all we were very disappointed. It is a lovely area and the main reason for visiting was the wineries and restaurants. The hotel needs to up its game on guest service and look at the attention to detail shown in the small 5* B&B's - Le Franschhoek etc.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackson48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
104 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2009

Lovely setting - the owners have used the original buildings and garden well. A very nice place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2009

and maybe just everso slightly disappointed to be in the house and not in the villas....now that may be a statement about my expectations having just left the most wonderful boutique hotel in gardens, Cape Town and/or the state of my finances!!!

We had an upgraded room (3) and it was charming.

We had a decent lunch and drinks - they were good but a bit pricey.

Dinner looked far to staid for us, so we hot tailed it to town, which was a good decision!

Breakfast though was fabulous - really, really good and overlooks the villas (where we should have stayed!) and their gardens (which are lovely).

All in all, expensive, charming and lovely, rather genteel and not realy our bag. However, we would certainly recommend this to our older well heeled friends.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LumpyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2009

We just returned from our two week South African honeymoon and one of the highlights was staying at the Franschhoek Country House. The hotel is incredibly charming - with a warm French Country vibe. We stayed in a graden villa, which was a great two story room - a cozy bedroom/bathroom downstairs, and a lounge upstairs with a gorgeous view of the Franschhoek valley with stunning sunsets! The service was extraordinary - and Ben the manager personally handled a snafu with our travel agents which almost caused us to miss our flight. He was a life saver. The hotel is one we'll always remember fondly and we cannot recommend it high enough. Book it now!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrcartaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2009

We stayed at the Franschhoek Country House Hotel for three nights in December.

The room was a really good size, overlooking the front of the property. The suites look fabulous, and the breakfasts were amazing.

The location is quite a walk into Franschhoek, but the concierge can arrange taxis or drivers no problem. We didn't get a chance to eat in the restaurant at the hotel, as there are so many fabulous places to eat in Franschhoek.

When we arrived it was very hot, and the air conidtioning in our room seemed to be having no effect whatsoever. But after a call to the front desk, this was sorted out for us extremely quickly.

Overall it was a really friendly place to stay, and the staff were wonderful.

  • Liked — Great Service
  • Disliked — Loved everything!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Barnchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2009

My wife and I have stayed here, twice, over the last 2 winters. It is a beautiful, quiet and restful hotel. It is a bit outside the town, but the food was excellent and we caught the shuttle bus to town for dinner on a few occasions.

Genuinely would go back.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
2.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Property: Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#1 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing