We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced. Uninspired location. Friendly but incompetent staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2009

During our 2-1/2 weeks in South Africa, the Franschoek was the most disappointing of all the places we stayed. The atmosphere is faux provencal, the location on the main road of the village was unappealing as well as noisy, and the staff, though friendly and well meaning, were essentially incapable of providing the most basic information. With so many wonderful places to stay in Franschoek, the Franschoek Country House is grotesquely overpriced and offers little value for your money.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (824)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

731 - 737 of 824 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2009

Although the suites are a wonderful size the decoration hasnt been kept up to either inside or out.
When you book they ask if you want to reserve a table in their award winning restaurant because its often fully booked. If it was award winning that must have been ages ago beore the "renowned " chef had left.
The staff try hard but are let down by the lack of mainteance and very average - no below average restaurant.
The redeeming feature was that they were quite happy for us to keep our room until 5pm before leaving for an overnight flight.
The shuttle into town was very good
By the way dont assume you can get a decent meal at Capetown International airport. Our flight left at 11pm and pre boarding all we could get was a cheese sandwich.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

We cannot emphasise enough how delighted we were. The hotel, facilities and restaurant were all of an excellent standard. The provision of a shuttle for use of guests is a particularly good touch. The staff were particularly welcoming, attentive, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. They helped to create a very relaxing atmosphere. The waiters were diligent, the reception staff incredibly helpful. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wallaceandgromitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2009

We checked into a beautiful suite for wedding prep was underway with hair, make-up and photos to be carried out at this exquisite location chosen for its picture perfect setting and spacious room. The photo opps were obvious and the hosts graciously allowed us to use their exquisite gardens for these. The beautifully appointed suite was super large, very comforable and the staff attentive. However, as day turned into night the level of service started to slip, and so one started to question why the 5-star rating at 5-star prices? We returned from our wedding to find that the bottled water had not been replenished nor was there any next to the bed. We resorted to tepid tap water during the night. What appeared to be a king-size bed at first glance was infact 2 single mattresses pushed together with a wide expanse of linen used to hide this fact. We won't mention the uncomfortable ridge in the middle as this was obviously an unpleasant surprise as were the tacky gaps of wooden slats showing on either side of the base. For a wedding night ... 2 single mattresses just won't do - and certainly not at the prices they charge! The toilet had stopped working during the course of the day, and no staff had noticed this, reported it or bothered to see to it before our return. This was highly inconvenient as it meant stealing out at 5am in search of a working loo! The final straw was probably the 6am wake up from clanking cuttlery just outside the window as the staff set up for breakfast. So we packed up and checked out by 8am realising that going home was a better option. We were only made to pay the 50% deposit, but I do ask how come we should have paid anything at all? they spoiled our wedding night for us ... which is rather a pity.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisylu2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2009

The setting, views, gardens, pools, villa suite; breakfast were all superb but wish we had booked the best restaurants (Reubens; Tasting Room) before our arrival. We missed out on Reubens because the staff at the hotel (we made the mistake of going to the wrong entrance) either didn't understand our request/couldn't be bothered/forgot to phone (Reubens had a free table which had to be booked by the hotel). We ate at the hotel the first night and the presentation of the food was terrible and certainly wasn't 'award winning' standard (suggest the chef goes to Buitenverwachting in Constantia or Ginga in Cape Town to see how it should be done). We asked to be booked into Reubens or The Tasting Room - or any of the other 'great' restaurants in the area for our second night and ended up at Dieu Donne which was another 'average' restaurant. All in all we were very disappointed. It is a lovely area and the main reason for visiting was the wineries and restaurants. The hotel needs to up its game on guest service and look at the attention to detail shown in the small 5* B&B's - Le Franschhoek etc.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackson48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2009

Lovely setting - the owners have used the original buildings and garden well. A very nice place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2009

and maybe just everso slightly disappointed to be in the house and not in the villas....now that may be a statement about my expectations having just left the most wonderful boutique hotel in gardens, Cape Town and/or the state of my finances!!!

We had an upgraded room (3) and it was charming.

We had a decent lunch and drinks - they were good but a bit pricey.

Dinner looked far to staid for us, so we hot tailed it to town, which was a good decision!

Breakfast though was fabulous - really, really good and overlooks the villas (where we should have stayed!) and their gardens (which are lovely).

All in all, expensive, charming and lovely, rather genteel and not realy our bag. However, we would certainly recommend this to our older well heeled friends.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LumpyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
687 reviews
1.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
181 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.3 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
545 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#1 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: £203 - £488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing