We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Number one place to stay in the winelands!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Number one place to stay in the winelands!”
Reviewed 26 February 2011

This was our first stop for two nights on our arrival in Capetown. We stayed with two friends and it was memorable and a wonderful way to start the holiday. The hotel setting in lovely grounds well kept and designed gardens. Lovely waterfalls and running water in the gardens to create a very restful atmosphere and also very secure. The thing that really impresses are the staff. You will search long and hard to find a more enthusiastic,welcoming and motivated staff. They were just tops and really made our visit so special. the accommodation was superb and their award winning restaurant delivered every time.In other words this is the complete package if you are looking for excellence in all departments. Our advice if you are in the area don't miss it!!
Chris Carter and Breda Keane

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    143
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
86
559
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Spent 4 lovely days here with friends to celebrate my husband's big birthday. The hotel is easy to find and conveniently located (as has been said) on the main road, but the rooms are nowhere near the road and the road is not remotely busy anyway. The rooms were absolutely beautful, the grounds delightful, and the staff so friendly and helpful, we would have no hesitation recommending. Indeed we hope to return one day. Easy access to the best of the winelands, and the hotel even has a courtesy bus. Sad that we did not get to try the restaurant due to other commitment so we are saving that pleasure for the next trip.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steffrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2011

In January 2011 my wife and I booked accommodation at the Franschhoek Country House Villas via a local Travel Agent, as requested by my nephew’s partner. (a local girl called Andrea Visser)

The purpose of the trip was to celebrate my wifes 70th birthday on safari in South Africa. Living in Sydney, Australia meant we had no knowledge, other than internet and travel brochures of what to expect in service and facilities. However, because we had booked with the Villas, the logical extension was to back it up with a safari at Shumbalala Game Lodge (also owned by the same group) – The outcome – The best holiday we have experienced ever. The service – the food – the attention to detail – the hospitality – the presentation … was humbling, at both locations.

Examples: To catch an early morning flight from Cape Town, the villas sent us packing with 2 continental breakfast packages beautifully boxed in raffia tied containers to eat on the way.
At Shumbalala my wifes birthday was celebrated with a path of red and white rose petals from the door to the bubble-filled bath and a cold bucket of ice and champagne … and later, our own special dinner served on our personal terrace, overlooking a waterhole and riverbed. Fantastic experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 255060Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

The suites are very spacious and comfortable. No views but the service is very good and the hotel restaurant is excellent. Better value for money than some of the other places in town.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parrmrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2011

My partner and I arrived in the afternoon of 10th January and the first thing i fell in love with were, surprisingly, the lemons; they were everywhere. The room had this romantic furniture and it was regularly cleaned. The view of the mountains from the room did it for my partner and I, it felt like paradise on earth. Do not miss a chance to experience this when in Franschhoek.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fafa025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2011

In January 2011 my new bride and I spent 2 weeks of our honeymoon in South Africa. One of the highlights was certainly staying at the Franschhoek Country House Hotel. Our only regret was that we only stayed for 1 day.

All the facilities were superb and the restaurant was just fantastic. I had the mussels with a Thai red curry and I think it was one of the best meals that I had in South Africa.

There are lots of other amazing restaurants right next door and some beautiful wine estates.

One day we will come back and make sure we stay for longer.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianTJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

We had chosen this hotel not knowing fully what to expect and were staying 6 nights.
We had a lovely spacious villa and were very pleased with the accommodation, restaurant, friendly staff and excellent facilities. The hotel is close to the lovely town of Franshhoek and we would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanskinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
480 reviews
1.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
2.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
160 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
534 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Property: Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#1 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing