We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mont Rochelle
Nearby Hotels
Leeu Estates(Franschhoek)
US$642
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$550
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$310
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$740
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$566
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$358
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$322
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Leeu House(Franschhoek)
US$522
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$447
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Residence(Franschhoek)
US$865
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (653)
Filter reviews
654 results
Traveller rating
483
111
34
19
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
483
111
34
19
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscountry kitchenrichard bransonmerlot roomwine tastingour honeymooncap classiquewelcome drinkcomplimentary mini barhotel restaurantstunning hotelhotel guestsmain restaurantstunning viewscape towncellar tourcomplimentary shuttlebreakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
517 - 522 of 654 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Mont Rochelle was everything we hoped it would be. We stayed 3 nights in the Winelands after travelling up from Cape Town. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the location is amazing.
Our room was spacious with a comfortable bed, and the underfloor heating in the bathroom is a nice touch. The restaurant is excellent, and having the vineyard wine tasting so close is a great benefit.
We could not have asked for more

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2011

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind words and the Team is happy to know that we made your stay so special! We consider ourselves a home away from home and thus our home is yours! We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Until then, safe travels...

Kind regards
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We came to Mont Rochelle as our last part of our honeymoon in SA. Upon arrival, we enjoyed a glass of their own Sauvignon Blanc in front of a homely log fire. We choose to eat at Mange Tout on our first evening and we were so impressed with the quality of the food- both in appearance and in taste. All of our dished were superb!

Our next day's hope of cycling was drowned out by the heavy rain (but we're not going to complain because we've heard it's what makes the grapes grow so well!) Breakfast was a fun experience with Peter the breakfast managed being so friendly and energetic. This really added a special touch to the service we received.

So, with raincoats and a cheery determination, we explored the town. There were lots of shops to venture into, and we were able to choose a place for our evening meal. Being British, the rain doesn't stop us! We enjoyed our meal at Reubens, however it wasn't a patch on the flavour and atmosphere of Mange Tout.

On our final morning, we were greeted with a surprise at the breakfast table. We were thrilled to plant an olive tree with our own plaque from the management team to celebrate our honeymoon. It was personal touches like this that would make us return here in the future. We thoroughly enjoyed our chocolate testing in the town, followed by a Mont Rochelle cellar tour and lunch at the Country Kitchen (where the food was equally tantalising). Wine tasting was great, and they knew so much about each variety.

For our final night, we returned and we were glad that Alfio was there again, playing the piano with such a wide and interesting repertoire. This really added to the ambiance of the evening. We were also impressed with the value for money- food of this standard would cost triple in the UK!

Our only regret was that we had to leave- this is the place that we feel we need to explore more of.... so watch this space! Thank you so much for your attention to detail. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsChappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Dear Reviewer

The Team wishes to thank you for your kind words. We pride ourselves on the little personal touches we surprisingly add to our Guest staying with us, as we believe that by simply doing as such we add value and a little something to remember the special moments by in years to come.

The Team strives to go beyond the call of duty to ensure that your are happy, having a wonderful experience, taking in every possible oppertunity and making your stay a memorable one!

Till the next time, possibly your first Anniversary..... safe travels!
KInd regards

The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Great time for the two of us. Service was excellent - the staff made it so good
from the first time we called!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mooiding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your kind words and the Team was happy to hear that your stay met your expectations! We hope that in the very near future we would be able to welcome you back again!

Till then, safe travels!

Kind regards
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We had and great meal at Mange Tout at the Mont Rochelle Hotel in Franschhoek. Flavours of the food was fantastic. Well done.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fromage D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2011

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind words and we are most happy to hear that "WE ROCK" ! The Team was very pleased to read your review and clearly we are on the right track!

We hope to welcome you back very soon! Until then, safe travels!

Thank you
Kind regards

The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Our first stay in this hotel for 10 years and its gone through a name change and a fire since then. It was really, really good in 2001 and it was marginally better in 2011. We were pretty much the only people in the hotel on a short mid-winter break, yet despite that, were treated perfectly by both the hotel and restaurant staff - no standards slipping due to it being a quite night in the quiet season which was impressive. Spotlessly clean and bang up to date, we had an outstanding suite (room 30) that spanned the new re-built section of the house with those fab Franschoek views in both directions - room was excellent with complimentary wine on arrival, with chocs, tea, coffee, free wifi and fresh fruit all excellent touches.
Despite it just being us in the hotel restuarant that one night, the meal was outstanding - so much more than 'nouvelle cuisine', it was an excellently well-balanced 3 course delight using only the freshest ingredients - we were completely full without being 'stuffed' at the end of it. Alfio the piano-player put in a sterling effort for the two of us - thankyou! Breakfast buffet was very good, all very fresh and exhaustive.
Our only quibble was the signage - a couple more signs on the streets leading off Franschoek high street would be very helpful. Apart from that, great to be back and we will come again.

Room Tip: Room 30 was a great two-directional viewpoint.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickDLuanda_Angola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2011

Dear Reviewer
The Team thanks you for your kinds words and we are truely pleased that after all these years we still surpass your expectations! This shows true testiment to the Team's goals, that with hard work and small touches, anything is possible.

We hope to welcome you back very soon and until then, safe travels!
Thank you
Kind regards

The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews