We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in franschhoek!!”
Review of Mont Rochelle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mont Rochelle
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in franschhoek!!”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed for two nights on our honeymoon. I can only say this is possibly one of the best hotels I have stayed at anywhere in the world!!

The hotel is set just outside the town on a working vineyard and offers amazing breath taking, words can not describe views of the valley and mountains.

The rooms are fantastic luxurious and amazing attention to detail with lovely molton brown cosmetics. The views from the bedrooms are also amazing.

The staff are more than fantastic they are all world class; friendly helpful and welcoming and so happy! The manager Sean is present and was very helpful in organising a schedule for us in the winelands and also very welcoming.

I can only describe this hotel as a home away from home.

Many hotels i have stayed at try and become a home away from home, but this is the only hotel in my view which actually achieves it!!

Finally make sure you eat at the mange tout restaurant we had a 3 course a la carte meal which turned into a 5 course meal and was absolutely fantastic. It is one of the best meals we had in south Africa. Also make sure you take time to hike around the vineyard we did a great hike up to the hill next to the hotel which was lovely and also visit the wine cellar at tasting at the country kitchen.

To summarise then you can't go wrong with this hotel, fantastic setting views, amazing amazing staff, luxurious rooms and an amazing restaurant. We are already working out when we can visit again and we only left a few days ago!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danjed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review, 9 October 2011
Dear Reviewer
The Team wishes to thank you for your kind words and review.

It is our utmost pleasure treating our Guests and ensuring that our home is your home aswell. The special touches we bring unannouced to our Guests lets the Team show off their pride within their workplace, thus they are more than happy to assist where possible.

We hope to welcome you back very soon and until then, safe travels...

Kind regards
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    86
    30
    19
    5
See reviews for
64
353
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at Mont Rochelle thoroughly. We took advantage of a special advertised on the Internet and were not disappointed.

The warm welcome on arrival, together with a complementary flute of Graham Beck MMC set the tone for what was to be a memorable experience. Room facilities were superb and the attention to detail in everything laid credence to their 5 star pedigree.

Dinner at Mange Tout was superb, the piano accompaniment was a nice touch too. We opted for the 3-course menu, which turned out to be a 7-course: appetiser, starter, palate cleanser, main, pre-dessert, dessert, sweets. This also included a glass of Mont Rochelle red or white wine.

As a romantic getaway, it does not get much better than this. The extra touches and friendly service make you want to return as soon as possible!

My only regret was not being able to spend another night there. You need at least one full day to experience all that Mont Rochelle, and Franschhoek, have to offer.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clydesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review, 9 October 2011
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your kind comments and wonderful words. We are happy to hear that your special occassion was that much more special because of all the smaller touches we offer. The Team strives to not only have you enjoy your stay, but also have memorable moments to last a life time.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Until then, safe travels.
Kind regards

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Mont Rochelle was everything we hoped it would be. We stayed 3 nights in the Winelands after travelling up from Cape Town. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the location is amazing.
Our room was spacious with a comfortable bed, and the underfloor heating in the bathroom is a nice touch. The restaurant is excellent, and having the vineyard wine tasting so close is a great benefit.
We could not have asked for more

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind words and the Team is happy to know that we made your stay so special! We consider ourselves a home away from home and thus our home is yours! We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Until then, safe travels...

Kind regards
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We came to Mont Rochelle as our last part of our honeymoon in SA. Upon arrival, we enjoyed a glass of their own Sauvignon Blanc in front of a homely log fire. We choose to eat at Mange Tout on our first evening and we were so impressed with the quality of the food- both in appearance and in taste. All of our dished were superb!

Our next day's hope of cycling was drowned out by the heavy rain (but we're not going to complain because we've heard it's what makes the grapes grow so well!) Breakfast was a fun experience with Peter the breakfast managed being so friendly and energetic. This really added a special touch to the service we received.

So, with raincoats and a cheery determination, we explored the town. There were lots of shops to venture into, and we were able to choose a place for our evening meal. Being British, the rain doesn't stop us! We enjoyed our meal at Reubens, however it wasn't a patch on the flavour and atmosphere of Mange Tout.

On our final morning, we were greeted with a surprise at the breakfast table. We were thrilled to plant an olive tree with our own plaque from the management team to celebrate our honeymoon. It was personal touches like this that would make us return here in the future. We thoroughly enjoyed our chocolate testing in the town, followed by a Mont Rochelle cellar tour and lunch at the Country Kitchen (where the food was equally tantalising). Wine tasting was great, and they knew so much about each variety.

For our final night, we returned and we were glad that Alfio was there again, playing the piano with such a wide and interesting repertoire. This really added to the ambiance of the evening. We were also impressed with the value for money- food of this standard would cost triple in the UK!

Our only regret was that we had to leave- this is the place that we feel we need to explore more of.... so watch this space! Thank you so much for your attention to detail. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsChappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Dear Reviewer

The Team wishes to thank you for your kind words. We pride ourselves on the little personal touches we surprisingly add to our Guest staying with us, as we believe that by simply doing as such we add value and a little something to remember the special moments by in years to come.

The Team strives to go beyond the call of duty to ensure that your are happy, having a wonderful experience, taking in every possible oppertunity and making your stay a memorable one!

Till the next time, possibly your first Anniversary..... safe travels!
KInd regards

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Great time for the two of us. Service was excellent - the staff made it so good
from the first time we called!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mooiding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your kind words and the Team was happy to hear that your stay met your expectations! We hope that in the very near future we would be able to welcome you back again!

Till then, safe travels!

Kind regards
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franschhoek
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We had and great meal at Mange Tout at the Mont Rochelle Hotel in Franschhoek. Flavours of the food was fantastic. Well done.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fromage D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind words and we are most happy to hear that "WE ROCK" ! The Team was very pleased to read your review and clearly we are on the right track!

We hope to welcome you back very soon! Until then, safe travels!

Thank you
Kind regards

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pointe Noire, Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Our first stay in this hotel for 10 years and its gone through a name change and a fire since then. It was really, really good in 2001 and it was marginally better in 2011. We were pretty much the only people in the hotel on a short mid-winter break, yet despite that, were treated perfectly by both the hotel and restaurant staff - no standards slipping due to it being a quite night in the quiet season which was impressive. Spotlessly clean and bang up to date, we had an outstanding suite (room 30) that spanned the new re-built section of the house with those fab Franschoek views in both directions - room was excellent with complimentary wine on arrival, with chocs, tea, coffee, free wifi and fresh fruit all excellent touches.
Despite it just being us in the hotel restuarant that one night, the meal was outstanding - so much more than 'nouvelle cuisine', it was an excellently well-balanced 3 course delight using only the freshest ingredients - we were completely full without being 'stuffed' at the end of it. Alfio the piano-player put in a sterling effort for the two of us - thankyou! Breakfast buffet was very good, all very fresh and exhaustive.
Our only quibble was the signage - a couple more signs on the streets leading off Franschoek high street would be very helpful. Apart from that, great to be back and we will come again.

Room Tip: Room 30 was a great two-directional viewpoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickDLuanda_Angola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Dear Reviewer
The Team thanks you for your kinds words and we are truely pleased that after all these years we still surpass your expectations! This shows true testiment to the Team's goals, that with hard work and small touches, anything is possible.

We hope to welcome you back very soon and until then, safe travels!
Thank you
Kind regards

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.0 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.8 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont Rochelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Rochelle

Property: Mont Rochelle
Address: Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly La Couronne Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mont Rochelle 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mont Rochelle is Sir Richard Branson's stunning 22-bedroom hotel and vineyard just under an hour's drive from Cape Town in the town of Franschhoek in South Africa. Having undergone an extensive refurbishment, Mont Rochelle now boasts a brand new spa with a Hammam, a heated pool, 22 beautifully refurbished bedrooms and two new restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mont Rochelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Rochelle Franschhoek
Hotel Mont Rochelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing