We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still 5* and a recommended place to stay....”
Review of Mont Rochelle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mont Rochelle
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Still 5* and a recommended place to stay....”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Just returned from our third stay at Mont Rochelle and probably enjoyed this the most! Service remains excellent, staff are lovely and the views, tranquility and relaxed ambiance really make this a special place to stay. We were even sought out (as usual) by the Hotel cat (Blom) a very pretty tabby!

If you want to be a little off the beaten track (although the town centre is about 3km away) this is the place to stay. The views are wonderful, rooms very comfortable and if you are a gourmet you will probably never eat off site! (we resisted, this time, but we did go to Country Kitchen which is equally oustanding).

Overall, a wonderful hotel, wine farm and restaurant in which to relax.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spireite65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    89
    30
    19
    5
See reviews for
66
365
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We had been greeted upon arrival with a glas of excellent white wine from the own wine cellar. Our spacious suite decorated in a lairdy style offered every comfort, had been very clean and surprised by nice touches from the personal, like fresh fruits and sweets. Especially in early spring time like September the underfloor heating made the suite very convenient.
The hotel is located a few minutes outside of Franchhoek, therefore very quiet, surrounded by a beautiful garden and overlooking the valley.
Breakfast buffet offers a great variety of fresh items, like fruits and yoghurt, homemade bread - warm dishes are to be ordered from the kitchen.
One night we tried a restaurant in the town, as we had been informed upfront that the hotel restraurant was closed. Hotel transfer in a comfortable BMW had been arranged on short notice.
The other night we enjoyed a delicious dinner at the Mange Tout (own hotel restaurant).
Additionally, we recommend to take a massage from the spa menu, we had the 90 minutes aroma theraphy treatment........like heaven.
All special requests we had been asked for upfront from home had been fulfilled - like special pillows.
Really a 5 star hotel !!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weltreisender67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Reviewer

The Team wishes to thank you for your kind words and wonderful review! We pride ourselves on our offerings and the "little" things we do to make your stay so memorable, building memories to last a life time!

We hope to welcome you back soon, till then, safe travels!

Kind regards

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Mont Rochelle is in a lovely spot, overlooking the valley but close to the town. The fire in the bar makes it very appealing. The rooms were very nice - with beautiful views.
The only disappointment was that the two nights we stayed the restaurant was closed but that meant we got to see other places, which was good.
We even tried the bicycles - easy going down to Franschhoek but much harder coming back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJMglobaltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind words and wonderful review! We are happy to hear that your stay was wonderful and pity your visit was during the closure days of our main restautant. We are sure that you would dine in the restaurant upon your next visit!

Till then, safe travels!

Kind regards

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Go for lunch - always a good selection of lighter fare (salads, antipasta, etc) and more substantial entrees (risotto, spring bok, tuna)
Go with the recommended wine pairing. Weather permitting, ask for a table on the terrace to enjoy the unsurpassed views of the vineyards and Franschhoek Valley below.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind review in respect to our alternative restaurant on the Estate. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us!

Be sure to stop by again soon!

Kind regards

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Mont Rochelle was our first stay of our 3 week honeymoon and we couldn't have chosen a better place to start. We arrived early after an overnight flight from Heathrow to Cape Town and they couldn't have made us feel more welcome. We were seated in front of a roaring fire, supplied drinks while we waited for our room to be prepared... which only took 30min! The personal touches we received throughout our stay made the experience even more special, from the welcome card, the birthday card my husband came down to at breakfast the next morning, the complimentary shuttle service that runs you to which ever restaurant you want to try in town and collects you later, to planting an olive tree with a personalised plaque.

The staff were the most friendly and helpful of any people that we've met anywhere on our travels. They assisted us with everything, what to see and do, where to eat and they booked everything on our behalf, we really didn't have to lift a finger! The horse back wine tasting was brilliant fun and the views and wine were amazing, you really don't need to know how to ride, the horses are so well behaved!

We ate at Le Bon Vivant one night on the recommendation of the hotel, we went for the 5 course tasting menu with a different wine with every course and it was the best meal we have ever had and not expensive for the quailty and quantity of the food.

Both restaurants at Mont Rochelle were of an amazing standard, the wine was fantastic, the room was fabulous and the views were stunning. It's such a hidden gem and we have vowed that is one place that we will definitely return to. Anyone thinking of booking Mont Rochelle... Just do it you will not be disappointed!! We stayed 3 nights and only wish it had been more!

Room Tip: Pinotage suite was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcguinnessShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Reviewer

The Team thanks you for your kind words and wonderful review! Is is our utmost pleasure making your stay surpass your expectations! We pride ourselves on the "little" things and all our personal touches during your stay is simply the Team doing what they do best!

We trsut that we would welcome you back again soon!, Till then, safe travels.....

Kind regards
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria b.c.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed the lovely suite overlooking the valley. The service was terrific, the pianist at dinner was excellent and the food was 5 star.

Room Tip: Suite 30 overlooking the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captain-CS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review and we are happy to hear that your stay was wonderful. Thank you for commenting on our restaurant and food, we appriciate your kind words.

We hope to welcome you back very soon. Till then safe travels!
Kind regards

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed at Mont Rochelle for 2 nights and would not hesitate to recommend to anyone spending a few days in Franschhoek. Dinner at Mange Tout is a treat and breakfasts are superb! Fresh fruits, pastries, french toast, pancakes, freshly baked breads and muffins ... the list is endless and all presented beautifully. The staff are welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them. The weather was chilly and the fire in the dining area was a welcome treat. All round a relaxing, highly enjoyable experience. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha11662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review, 9 October 2011
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind words!

The Team prides itself on our offerings and experiences, thus making your stay so wonderful. Our home is your home and thus we are happy to hear that you had such a wonderful stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon, until then, safe travels...

Kind regards
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.8 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
160 reviews
1.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.0 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
480 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
650 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#4 of 11 in Franschhoek
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont Rochelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Rochelle

Property: Mont Rochelle
Address: Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly La Couronne Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mont Rochelle 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mont Rochelle is Sir Richard Branson's stunning 22-bedroom hotel and vineyard just under an hour's drive from Cape Town in the town of Franschhoek in South Africa. Having undergone an extensive refurbishment, Mont Rochelle now boasts a brand new spa with a Hammam, a heated pool, 22 beautifully refurbished bedrooms and two new restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Mont Rochelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Rochelle Franschhoek
Hotel Mont Rochelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing