We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, relaxing, serene”
Review of Mont Rochelle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mont Rochelle
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing, serene”
Reviewed 14 February 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights in October, its a beautiful place with excellent service, we really felt at home here, the staff are great and it had the most amazing food, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KF10Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review, 15 February 2010
Dear Reviewer

The Team wishes to thank you for your kind words and are happy to know that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!

Thank you
Kind regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    87
    30
    19
    5
See reviews for
64
358
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

Sublime service, a magnificent view, coupled with terrific food and wine - there is little reason for us to venture far from the hotel - even with a 5 day stay. When we left, it felt like we were leaving friends. Having travelled extensively, I think the breakfast is one of the best I've experienced - not only is the presentation of the delicious buffet inspired, but the food tastes as good as it looks. My partner swears by their Double Baked Cheese Souffle for breakfast and I just adore the array of pastries, banana and carrot loaves etc., During the morning's breakfast service freshly baked goods, heavenly muffins are constantly appearing. I would also note that the coffee is top notch. In the early evening complimentary canapes appear at the bar... I love these small details.
Rooms in the newer section of the hotel are spacious, but we prefer the rooms in the older part of the hotel as they have more character. The only fault is that business centre's free internet access is a little temperamental.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trufoodie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review, 3 January 2010
Dear Reviewer

The Team at Mont Rochelle would like to thank you for your kind words and we are happy that your stay was a wonderful one! We hope to welcome you back soon to your home away from home!

Kind regards
The Mont Rochelle Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2009

we stayed in mont rochelle hotel for 2 nights during our trip around south africa. It is in a wonderful setting , about a mile from Franschhoek, overlooking the valley .

the welcome was warm & friendly , all staff extremely helpful and food first class, breakfast on the terrace looking out over the winelands was really special. Room was comfortable and the air conditioning worked well.

the wines here are of a very high standard and the tasting well organised and friendly. At the tasting centre , the hotel have a second restaraunt that serves food up to about 7pm.

drive down to town is about 5-10 mins and there are so many restaraunts , difficult to know where to start, any of the staff in the hotel will recommend or book one on your behalf.

All in all a great stop off in the winelands

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexPathfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review, 25 December 2009
Dear Reviewer

The Team at Mont Rochelle is glad that your stay was a fantastic one! We thank you for your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back to Mont Rochelle & Mountain Vineyards very soon!

Kind regards
The Mont Rochelle Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2009

I had invited 4 guests to Sunday lunch 06 December 2009. Despite the pre-drinks mess up on the terrace we sat in the Mange Tout restaurant that I had booked in the previous week. We were then informed that there was no al la carte but only a "set-lunch" or choices from the "light lunch menu". We ordered 6 starters that just scraped in as 'reasonable but very small". Then only 5 main courses arrived as the "kitchen made a mistake" with the 6th, that arrived after about 10mins. My steak went back immediately as it was genuinely impossible to cut with my knife. After about 15mins my plate was returned and I asked the waitress what it was. She replied "beef" rather aggressively and stormed away. I asked the head waiter and he said that he chose to change my meal as "this cut is softer". No vegetables other than potato wedges for me or a sliver of spinach on my wifes plate, are available on the menu. We ordered desert but a guest was told that her choice was not available as she had been given the dinner menu. Can't they get anything right? was the opinion around our table. I paid the bill (no tip obviously) and brought to the head waiters attention our series of problems but he was just intent on arguing with me. My wife and I frequent Franschhoek regularly from Cape Town but next time will take my R2404.00 and spend it elsewhere! Never again.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
Helpful?
Thank OldButNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2009

This wine estate was a very nice stop indeed. It is rather pricey compared to other places we stayed in South Africa but it was worth it. The views from the grounds are amazing and of course the wine is great! You can walk to their cellar door where there was a restauraunt to get some lunch and of course do some wine tasting whilst looking out at the view. The dinner in their hotel was also of an excellent standard, albeit a little pricey. The room was excellent as was breakfast. The location is easy to via car or road. The service was rather too formal compared to other areas of South Africa like Stellenbosch, Plettenberg Bay and Cape Town but still polite and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sneha23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We stopped here for two nights, the food was excellent, our hotel room ( Merlot) was clean, peaceful and the views amazing. The hotel is set in the beautiful area of Franschhoek with plenty to see and do. The wine tasting at the Mont Rochelle was informative with a tour of the cellar if you wanted.
All the staff are extremelly helpful and friendly, a fantastic place to stop.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whu1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

A very friendly welcome by Chantelle at Mont Rochelle. A well deserved welcome drink too. As we were travelling with the kids and had booked two rooms close by, when that wasn't the case, it was very quickly rectified and sorted within minutes. We had 2 very comfortable rooms with views of the Franschhoek Valley - super. Our first meal at Mont Rochelle was at the Country Kitchen - yum, followed by the tour of the celler. Swimming pool a little on the chilly side at this time of year as it's not heated so no swimming took place during our stay. Franschhoek town is very good for a stroll, some wonderful shops and restaurants. All in all Mont Rochelle is a super hotel, with staff to match. We had fun, wish we'd had longer. there.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.0 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.8 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
475 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
286 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont Rochelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Rochelle

Property: Mont Rochelle
Address: Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly La Couronne Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mont Rochelle 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mont Rochelle is Sir Richard Branson's stunning 22-bedroom hotel and vineyard just under an hour's drive from Cape Town in the town of Franschhoek in South Africa. Having undergone an extensive refurbishment, Mont Rochelle now boasts a brand new spa with a Hammam, a heated pool, 22 beautifully refurbished bedrooms and two new restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Mont Rochelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Rochelle Franschhoek
Hotel Mont Rochelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing