We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to standard of competition”
Review of Mont Rochelle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mont Rochelle
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not up to standard of competition”
Reviewed 9 December 2006

I booked 2 nights at the end of our holiday having read the reviews on TripAdvisor. The Mont Rochelle certainly has the most spectacular setting - truly beautiful. However, there are literally hundreds of beautiful B&Bs and small hotels in Franschhoek and the Mont Rochelle unfortunately does not live up to expectation.
The staff on the whole were friendly, but not proactive as we had experienced in other hotels. Service was unbelievably slow (40 mins for a beer by the pool and the waiter was quite rude when we said we didn't want it anymore), breakfast wasn't laid out when we went down at 7.30 (it starts at 7am) so we had to find our own cutlery etc, no refill of coffee...
All in all, pretty place but not 5 star standard. Didn't compare with Steenberg in Constantia.

  • Liked — Views - breathtaking
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Julia75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    89
    30
    19
    5
See reviews for
66
366
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2006

Stayed there in a suite, hotel only reopened in October following a fire last winter. Definitely not ready for prime time. In general, it seems to target a strictly geriatric set of travelers. Very expensive. No wireless internet, formal atmosphere EVERYWHERE. An ancient piano player in the VERY FORMAL restaurant where the food was bad. Sent back my dinner twice, manager did not follow up. Laundry ruined a shirt; jacuzzi in our room was dirty and cold. Outdoor pool was freezing. In fairness, the hotel manager made a large adjustment to my bill when I complained, so they handled the problems well on departure.

  • Liked — the views
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Tips/Secrets — don't bother unless you are into the colonial era
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JMCRutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2006

We stayed at the newly named Mont Rochelle Hotel (formally La Couronne, reopened officially on 1 October 2006) in Franschhoek for the last four nights of our fantastic South African honeymoon.

As soon as we arrived, our luggage was whisked off and we received a very warm welcome from the duty manager and reception staff before being invited to the bar to enjoy a welcome drink. After we were suitably relaxed we were shown to our fabulous room with amazing valley views, and a honeymoon welcome gift of locally made chocolates, Mont Rochelle Wine and fresh fruit.

The service throughout our stay was impeccable, friendly and efficient. Thierry Garcia the hotel manager personally came to introduce himself to us at breakfast on our first morning.

Thierry and his staff continued to take an interest in our stay and would recommend places to go and see (light lunch is a must at Chamonix, as is wine tasting at Mont Rochelle and Rickety Bridge by horse back all of which the hotel can organise for you.)

As 'foodies' we normally enjoy exploring the local area when it comes to eating out, however the hotel restaurant 'Mange Tout' was so good, we enjoyed two delicious evening meals there during our stay as it really was the best place to eat in Franschhoek ( there is a famous restaurant in Franschhoek that has won numerous awards that we tried but unfortunately were not impressed when we went).

Overall our stay was just wonderful - we were very sorry to leave and we would thoroughly recommend this hotel!

Helpful?
4 Thank the-wombles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 31 May 2006

What a fabulous hotel in a fabulous location. The room was lovely, well furnished and decorated. The food in the restaurant was wonderful and the wine even better! We stayed here on the night of our Silver Wedding anniversary. When we returned to our room after dinner there were rose petals strewn around and floating candles around the bath. Its little touches like that that really make a hotel. The open air bar with spectacular views over the valley was hard to beat. Staff great. My only complaint was that we were only there for the one night! Cant wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, CA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2005

The French name may sound a bit pretentious, but what it really communicates is the truth: staying at La Couronne is very much like staying in the most exquisite chateau in the south of France, complete with outstanding cuisine and service fit for the most demanding, and with the additional and welcome assets of the very sunny South African hospitality and climate. The Franschhoek area was colonized by the French Huguenots, so all of that epicurean perfection that seems genetic to French culture is amply and richly on display at La Couronne. Accommodating perhaps only around a couple of dozen guests, La Couronne pulls off the unimaginable, providing in a small resort virtually anything the most demanding guest could want. In every respect, this is a superb, magical, boutique resort that is worth every penny...I never wanted to leave. I spent four days here that rank it among the top hotel experiences of my life.

The small town of Franschhoek is utterly delightful, filled with wonderfully friendly people, superb restaurants, delightful shops and some top-notch and surprising art galleries, all gathered in an extremely compact and highly walkable area. There is wine tasting galore, with dozens of some of the best wineries in the country (and that's saying something) just a short drive from the heart of town. La Couronne is a short 5-minute drive from town center, and perched on a working hilltop vineyard overlooking the area's stunning mountains. Once on the property, there's a sinuous and scenic drive up to the historic thatched(!) chateau, stunningly preserved and filled with just the right blend of old and new.

Befitting the resort's ideal climate and stupendous views, the chateau has a sublime open-air bar that is alone worth it to stay here (we spent languorous hours here meeting other guests and savoring the views). But there is much, much more. The rooms are huge and wonderfully decorated: mine had a wraparound view of the stupendous mountains and vineyards that made me immobile for hours in front of the window. The pool is discretely tucked away, the perfect temperature, and was never remotely crowded during my stay. The chef is wonderful and all of our meals were fantastic; the outdoor dining area's views, again, are nothing short of spectacular, plus there is a gracious and formal interior dining room for evenings.

The ratio of staff to guests is mindboggling (it felt like that there was 8-10 staff for every 1 guest), although they were never intrusive and always, always smiling. There are paths galore throughout the endless and beautiful grounds, and one is never beyond eyesight of the gigantic old vines and purple-hued mountains. There is also a spa, and what seemed like a billion other activities that, frankly, I never wanted to take advantage of since I was more than content to sit at the bar, savor a superb wine, soak up the sun and bask in the view.

After just 24 hours at La Couronne and the intensely charming town of Franschhoek, I started questioning my life and what possible logical reason I could come up with for not living here. In fact, my only complaint was that I was only there for four days. Next time, I am definitely going to check in to La Couronne and not leave...ever.

  • Stayed January 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Loco2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERLIN
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2004

This is an outstanding hotel !!!! The rooms are perfect the food is Outstanding and the athmosphere give you an idea what you can do with service kindniss an friendly staff !! VERY GREAT Highly recomended !!!!!!

Helpful?
8 Thank LUFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.8 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
160 reviews
1.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.0 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
480 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
650 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont Rochelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Rochelle

Property: Mont Rochelle
Address: Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly La Couronne Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mont Rochelle 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mont Rochelle is Sir Richard Branson's stunning 22-bedroom hotel and vineyard just under an hour's drive from Cape Town in the town of Franschhoek in South Africa. Having undergone an extensive refurbishment, Mont Rochelle now boasts a brand new spa with a Hammam, a heated pool, 22 beautifully refurbished bedrooms and two new restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Mont Rochelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Rochelle Franschhoek
Hotel Mont Rochelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing