We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful, just do it.”
Review of Mont Rochelle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mont Rochelle
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2010

A hotel the was beautifully set, clean, quiet, friendly, helpful ......
The staff go out of their way to meet your every requirement, be it a restaurant booking, being droped or pickled up at a restaurant or any other little request. The pool is lovely, the athmosphere in the hotel great.
Will definaly go back and can only recommend if you are getting out to a quite break!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usersa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
There are newer reviews for Mont Rochelle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2010

Staff in Mont Rochelle were very friendly and helpful. We were met at our car and brought into a the lounge to a lovely wood burning fire. Our room was lovely and spacious but we did find a good few ants in the room. Food was lovely and manager organised an excellent tour of 3 vineyards. We would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kennyp05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Mont Rochelle is a romantic idyll set amid some of South Africa's most beautiful scenery. Having arrived from Cape Town, we were looking forward to spending a few days unwinding in peaceful surroundings: we weren't disappointed. The hotel achieves that quiet 'middle-of-nowhere' feel, but in reality it's only a five minute drive from the amenities of Franschhoek town.

We found this small hotel to be in perfect condition; our room was spacious and well-equipped, and the grounds were meticulously cared for. The staff at the hotel's Country Kitchen Restaurant provided a hearty welcome and a fantastic meal. Breakfast was first-class, not least because it was served on the terrace overlooking the vineyards and nearby mountains.

We have no hesitation in recommending Mont Rochelle.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank im01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

My husband & I went to Mont Rochelle for his birthday and spent the night there. The welcome at the hotel by all teh staff was brilliant and we were given a complimentory glass of bubbles while we check in. We were also upgraded by 2 rooms, which was a massive vineyard room overlooking the mountains and the vineyards and whole of Franscchoek.

We were shown everything around the hotel, and the hotel and rooms are beautifully located. The manager told us that our reservation at the Country Kitchen (the hotel's more informal day restaurant) is waiting for us, and that we can take our time checking in. Lunch at the Country Kitchen was wonderful with beautiful views (again). The manageress even came over and wished my husband happy birthday and asked if everything was ok. We then went on to have a wonderful conversation with her. After the languid lunch we returned to our massive room.

Before dinner even the jacuzzi was put on for us to use at our own discretion. The evening dinner in Mange Tout is wonderful with the best service and most exquisite food. Everything about this restaurant impressed us. The nightly turn-down with all the amenities was in the room when we returned and we had a good night's rest in the king size bed.

Breakfast the following morning is also wonderful with everything to choose from. We had our fill of everything and ended it with a wonderful glass of bubbly on the terrace outside.

On checking out we received 2 complimentory bottles of wine from the estate to take home with us. Truly a wonderful touch

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitxcoac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2010

Dear Reviewer. The Team would like to thank you for your kind words and we are happy to hear that the Birthday Celebrations was better than expected! We believe every stay is a celebration and made it extra special due to the birthday shared with us. We hope the memories created will last a life time and the Team hope to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

I am from the Napa Valley and Franschhoek is better. Especially if you stay at this hotel. It is strategically situated to look at the entire "corner" - a 180 degree view from the dining room. The people could not be nicer, but that is true in all of South Africa. This is not a third world country! It rivals anything in France for the US for fine hotels and dining.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2010

Dear Reviewer

The Team would like to thank you for your kind words and we are very happy to hear that your stay with us was so fantastic! We hope to be able to welcome you back very soon! Till the next time, thank you and great travels!

Kind regards
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The staff were more than happy to make fresh meals for our son who was being weaned at the time. Would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwicksLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2010

Dear Reviewer

The Team would like to thank you for your kind words and we are glad to hear that your time spent with us was fantastic. We consider all our Guests as Family, hence You & Your Family are a part of the Team. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Thank you
Kind regards
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

This is a super 5 star hotel. The welcome and service are very warm and personal and everything one could need is on hand.
Positives:- The setting and view are out of this world. Definitely the best in the Franschhoek Valley. The restaurant is well above the standard of the typical hotel restaurant. Even a 5 star one. The fine dining Mange Tout is so relaxed. Breakfast one of the best I've had in the world and to eat it overlooking such a view is a dream. Special mention also for the Bar menu- The best salad lunch I've ever had.
Areas for Improvement:- The hotel car seemed to be parked, unused outside the front door all the time. Would have been nice to offer it for lifts into town a la Cape Grace, rather than recommending the ( excessively expensive) local taxi. The pianist in the restaurant isn't too intrusive but does rather reinforce the whole senior citizen tone of the place. Lastly they could do with a full time pool boy rather than rely on bar staff passing by from time to time.

We stayed here 6 nights and could happily have stayed for ever!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medocain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2010

Dear Reviewer

Our entire Team expresses a word of thanks for the kind words. We are glad that we could ensure that your stay was a wonderful one! Certainly, your comments has come in handy, thank you.

We trust that we will be welcoming you back very soon!

Thank you
Kind regards
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.8 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
172 reviews
1.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.0 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
667 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
498 reviews
1.0 mi away
Leeu Estates
Leeu Estates
#8 of 11 in Franschhoek
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont Rochelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Rochelle

Address: Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly La Couronne Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: £355 - £809 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mont Rochelle 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mont Rochelle is Sir Richard Branson's stunning 26-bedroom hotel and vineyard just under an hour's drive from Cape Town in the town of Franschhoek in South Africa. Having undergone an extensive refurbishment, Mont Rochelle now boasts a brand new spa with a Hammam, a heated pool, 26 beautifully refurbished bedrooms and two new restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Mont Rochelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Rochelle Franschhoek
Hotel Mont Rochelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing